We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 491: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent with a big variety of food served. Walking distance in this quaint little town allowed us to explore the place at a leisure pace. We rented a bicycle too to cover a wider area of the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Stayed a night at the hotel before going to Milford Sound. The receptionist is friendly. Good location and easy access to restaurants and shops. During my stay, there were big tour groups staying at the hotel. It may get busy at the reception. I enjoyed the stay and will recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gonzales28
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conductive to your needs and our staff made a positive impression. Trust you enjoyed your time in beautiful Fiordland. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Yorkshire, England
Reviewed 6 December 2015

This hotel was included in an itinerary put together by our travel agent. On checking TA before we left we were very concerned when we read the negative comments about the Luxmore. Looking at the outside of the hotel we thought our worst fears had been realised and on entering into a somewhat large but gloomy reception area our trepidation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RGYorkshire
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read we made a positive impression and you experienced our warm southern hospitality. We are very fortunate indeed to have a central location, close to all facilities and the lake. Trust you enjoyed your time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming...

TWells
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Stayed a night, clean, comfortable and good bed. Like the area. Be aware coach trips use this spot, so can be crowded in reception and if your room faces the car park, coaches were loading up quite early in am!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBM007_13
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad to read you found your room comfortable and our central location conductive to your needs. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in beautiful Fiordland. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Te Anau is a nice little town. Hotel is well located and easily within walking distance of all shops and attractions the town has to offer. On a good day, the views are just a short stroll away. Accommodation was very good and comfy. Free wifi, sat TV etc. No complaints here. Staff were helpful when required and service was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cordell D
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Reviewed 3 December 2015

The hotel is a little outdated but has very good location for exploring your surroundings. There is more than enough parking space, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are spacious. What we enjoyed the most was the Spa Bath in our room after a long day of hiking!!! Even my very tall husband fit in there. ;-) A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doris - Johanne... S
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conductive to your needs and your room spacious. Trust you enjoyed your time in beautiful Fiordland. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Reviewed 1 December 2015

Central hotel with large rooms and lots of facilities available inside and nearby. Only had bed and breakfast but great value with helpful staff. Walking distance from the local boat and seaplane jetty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maurice S
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

This hotel needs some refurbishment, but it's location is great for exploring Te Anau and the trips to Milford and Doubtful Sounds. The rooms are spacious and there is plenty of parking. The restaurant was closed when we we there but there are plenty of places to eat in Te Anau including the wonderful pie shop near ireal office.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay and found our central location conductive to your needs. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Narrawallee, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

Big hotel but in no way impersonal. Big rooms, big comfy beds with all the little things covered. It's central location makes shopping for essentials easy. The restaurant was excellent and the staff friendly. If in Te Anau seek this place out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay and found your room spacious and comfortable. Our central locations is definitely a BIG plus. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The...

Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Our boat trip was cancelled due to bad weather we got a full refund from I-site but because we booked our accomodation through I-site an not direct with Distinction Luxmore Te Anau nothing was offered to help us...... Spent a very wet day in Te Anau when could have been on the next leg of our journey

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionae360
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. We do understand your frustration not being able to go to Milford Sound due to road closure and bad weather having traveled a long way. With regard to your booking, we did inform you that since the booking was pre-paid and booked through i-Site, the cancellation would need...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
482 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.4 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: RM357 - RM775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I elderly get a room with a shower, not a shower over bath.”
  • Shower over bath NO GOOD !!
  • Very clean and modern
4x4wheelers, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Third floor facing away from the main street have views of the distant mountains.”
thereichinger, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not book 102-112 due to loud music from neighbouring bar”
nzrev, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the family room were very spacious”
Budgie0769, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a side room and 3rd floor could see out car parked from window very quiet”
S6975VJelizabeths, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5