We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 418: English reviews
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We are glad we chose Bella Vista. The room is spacious and clean. Queen studio came with microwave, toaster and kettle. Though we can't do any cooking, the supermarket has plenty of pre-pack food that we could heat up in the microwave. 10-15 min walk to the town centre. Be sure to check out RedCliff restaurant, they only serve dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank stardeenaw
Warwick H, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review :-) More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2015

We spent two nights here as we were traveling all over the south island with our 20-year-old son. Lovely song bird music greeted us as we got out of that car when we arrived. We'd wanted to stay in Te Anau rather than Queenstown to shorten the day trip to Milford Sound (which was amazing, by the way). The owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Warwick H, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review - we are pleased to have contributed in making your holiday awesome! We think Te Anau is such a lovely place and enjoy helping our customers see and do the best options with a little local knowledge :-) More 

malaysia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

the room we had upstairs is a little small but everything u require is there. very cozy n very clean room which is very important. it's near the lake n about 4 mins walk and you can enjoy a lovely walk by the lake. the town centre is also about 5 mins away. quiet and quaint

Helpful?
Thank misspiggy1969
Warwick H, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your review - and for staying with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, but sad to hear you found our room small. We offer a large selection of room sizes starting with a Compact Queen Studio room which is the smallest and cheapest, ranging up to a 1 bedroom unit which is... More 

Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
851 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 959 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2015

The key to this hotel is the excellent service. We first booked a queen room for one night and then realized we wanted a second night but there were no queen rooms left, so we booked a studio. We asked via email if we could possibly have the same room for two nights, and when we arrived, we found we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Torte_Sue
Warwick H, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi there, We are really pleased that we could help in making your stay enjoyable and hassle free :-) Sarah More 

Allora, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Pre booked this motel which appeared to the average price for the town. Had a ground floor room and considered it be small. The room was very clean with a good bed. Bathroom was also small. We spent two nights there which was long enough in this type of room. Staff were very friendly and helpful for our day tour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kel2153
Warwick H, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your review - and for staying with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, but sad to hear you found our room small. We offer a large selection of room sizes starting with a Compact Queen Studio room which is the smallest and cheapest, ranging up to a 1 bedroom unit which is... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2015

The staff at Bella Vista, especially Sarah, went out of their way to help us reorganize our itinerary to make our trip a bit easier and more logical. They were so friendly and helpful to us and knew so much about local attractions. The hotel was located an easy walk to downtown. It was a very nice accommodation and I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marty901
Warwick H, General Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi Martha, Sorry I missed you after your walk, am really pleased I could help reorganise your trip and accommodate you both to make your trip hassle-free :-) Sarah. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

We have stayed here two nights, the room was clean & tidy with everything you need in it. Our room was a studio which was small but it was all we needed because for us it was just somewhere to sleep as we were out for most of the days. It has a microwave, fridge & a kettle so you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela C
Warwick H, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your review - and for staying with us. Kind regards Sarah. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We stayed one night in a one bedroom unit. This was our first stay at Bella Vista Motel and we were pleasantly surprised. Nice property, comfortable and spotless clean modern unit with all amenities required, including fast speed free WiFi. The lady at the reception was very friendly and gave us some discount vouchers and recommendations. It was a rainy... More 

Helpful?
Thank milipet
Warwick H, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for staying with us - we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were helpful towards improving your holiday! :-) We hope you return again in the future. Kind regards Sarah. More 

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I stayed here for four nights and would have happily stayed for more😊 My unit had everything I needed, was very clean and beautifully decorated. The toiletries are high quality as is the equipment supplied for use during your stay - hairdryer, iron and board, kettle, microwave and crockery. My bed was vey comfy with lovely soft sheets and as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for your lovely review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again! Kind regards Trisha More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here based on tripadvisor recommendations. We were not disappointed. We choice this accommodation as we had elderly mother stay in disabled room due to the bathroom facilities, and we had an adjoining room which was very handy. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Perhaps some instructions on the heater may be helpful as the buttons had lost their printing.

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Warwick H, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we could provide helpful service. You will be pleased to hear we have taken your advice on board and are in the process of making some simple Heater instructions to improve the ease of their use. We hope to see you again in... More 

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
328 reviews
0.2 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.5 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
243 reviews
0.1 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: RM455 - RM786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms are quieter. A couple of the ground floor rooms are very handy for the guest laundry.”
 of 5 bubbles gf760, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs, if available; no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles bradh554, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No lake views but close to town which was a better bonus as we were out all day”
 of 5 bubbles RETaylor2014, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and very comfortable rooms. A lovely park opposite with a walking teach to the centre of town, about 3 minutes”
 of 5 bubbles THEATREMAN188, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed just as good as each other”
 of 5 bubbles Kimplusthree, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay