We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radfords on the Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radfords on the Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radfords on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 562: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

Very nice, modern clean. Excellent attention to detail. Lovely extras that you dont get at most hotels any more. Will definitely stay again. Only one complaint that you can hear the people upstairs running about but thats just inconsiderate travellers and not the establishments fault. Kids loved the big fat cat that came and visited us and the movies that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara R
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Kara R, Thank you for your valued feedback it is most appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed the little extra's that we provide to ensure our guests feel welcome and a home away from home feeling. We apologise that there was noise from some other guests and if we had heard this we would have asked them to respect...

Reviewed 11 July 2015

OK, so when I first arrived I was a bit taken aback that it was a motel and there were no onsite amenities. You need to walk down to town for cooked breakfast .. well all meals really. The two bed apartment only had the one bathroom which was a bit of an issue for two adults and two 20...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irangel
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Irangel, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Radford's on the Lake, although we do not have a restaurant on site, we have many wonderful places to experience great food on and near the main street about 3 minutes walk from here. We do offer as you pointed out our Exclusive Radford's Continental Breakfast to...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon. Our room was a 1-bedroom suite on the 2nd floor. The room was nice and clean and had updated decor. Te Anau is a very small town so fancier accommodations are hard to come by. The bathroom could use a little updating, but all in all, it suited our needs for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenny433
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear jenny433, Thank you for placing feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and found our relieving manager to be friendly and helpful in our absence. You are right we are very close to the town centre being just a short 5 minute walk. We do hope you enjoyed the remainder of your honeymoon and wish you all...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Stayed at the radfords for one night with my family (2 adults 2 children ) the room was extremely comfortable and large. They helped book the glow worms and recommend a couple of great places to eat. Even got to meet precious with the girls loved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharnie M
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Sharnie M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Radfords, you were all a pleasure to meet and host. Precious the cat enjoyed all the extra attention!! We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in NZ. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Great location, very central, immaculately kept and very comfortable. Kerri is very welcoming and helpful. All the dining locations Kerri recommended were great! If lucky enough to come back, will stay here again. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryFrances2012
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Mary Frances2012 Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your experience while staying with us. We are delighted that you found our recommendations meet your needs, and that your enjoyed the central location and the comforts and cleanliness of your apartment. Should you come this way again we would welcome the chance to host you again. Best Wishes Kerri...

Reviewed 15 June 2015

We are currently staying at Radfords and just had to write a review to express my happiness with the hotel. We are staying for a total of 4 nights in a spa room on the ground floor. On arrival, the first thing I noticed was all the small touches which made it so welcoming. The fresh flowers in a vase,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pookiemurray
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear pookiemurray, Wow I don't think we have ever had anyone write a review whilst still staying with us! We are always so appreciative of receiving feedback and to read this glowing review has made my day! We are delighted you are enjoying your stay and I will pass on your review to our excellent team of staff as they...

Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

I am not the one the write reviews..this is the first time im writing one as I feel compelled to after our stay at Radfords ..we stayed only for a night at Radfords but it was an experience and a really lovely one ..the decor and layout of the room was beautiful ..the bathroom very clean and shiny .. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nidhi S
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Nidhi S Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us. We are delighted that we met your expectations and I hope you have many fond memories of your time in Fiordland. We hope that we may be able to assist with your accommodation needs the next time you come this way. Best Wishes Kerri and...

Indialantic, Florida
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Lovely property, comfortable room and very friendly B&W cat, Precious! The daughter of the owners, Shelley, was so helpful with local information, especially about seeing the Milford Sound movie and suggestions for restaurants. Excellent location for a quick walk into the central part of town along the lake. A wonderful modern motel with convenient parking; the owners live on site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara K
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Tamara K, Thank you for placing your valued feedback. I am delighted that you found my recommendations to be helpful and that you got to sample some of our wonderful restaurants on offer. You were both an absolute pleasure to host and I trust you take away many fond memories of your time in NZ. Kind regards, Shelley Walsh

Lochinvar, Australia
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Terrific views, fabulous service, lovely spacious modern room with comfortable beds. Breakfast was supplied in our room & we had food left over ! You are only a short walk to the town centre & restaurants, cafes etc. This is a really lovely motel who also offers great value. I used the wifi each day with easy connection & good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Cathy C, Thank you Cathy for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Radfords on the Lake. You were both a pleasure to host and we hope the large amount of rain we had whilst you were staying hasn't dampened your wonderful memories of Te Anau. We trust the remainder of your holiday went well and...

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 April 2015

I'm not one to write reviews but feel compelled to after our stay at Radfords. This was not just a night in a motel - it was an experience - and a really lovely one at that. We were blown away by the exceptional service. Greeted by Shelley we were immediately made to feel welcome. She enquired as to our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen L
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Karen Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience of your recent stay with us. To know that you were well looked after in our absence by our wonderful team is heart warming to say the least and that your time here was made memorable because of the small details ie the heaters on in your room...

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
352 reviews
0.8 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
478 reviews
0.3 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: RM691 - RM1,679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radfords on the Lake staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Radfords on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs has most privacy and best views.”
 of 5 bubbles Spdmoore01, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms had best views.”
 of 5 bubbles MoyraF, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles michaelhA6897NQ, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We loved being on the ground floor and being able to open the big sliding glass doors right to the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles O4685OIalexandrag, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles tinas225, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5