We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Expedia.comUS$113*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

746 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 695: English reviews
Start your review of Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
 Click to rate
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

May 24, 2017 I so wanted to give this hotel an excellent rating but poor communication has let it down. We arrived mid afternoon and was met with a nice smiley receptionists, our room was ready and we were assisted with our Luggage our room. The room has a great view of the lake, and was clean tidy and modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJTM45
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is very pleasant and both the main building and villas are well provided with facilities and comfortable. The villas are located behind the main building and are very quiet so a good night's is assured. The staff are friendly and mainly helpful but are possibly not as proficient as expected. Meals were good but not exceptional. Overall I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1945Alan
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear 1945Alan, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I am delighted to hear you found the hotel very pleasant, comfortable with well provided facilities and our staff friendly and helpful. We have taken your comments on board to ensure we improve ourselves. We sincerely hope to see you back again. Regards, Dharama Sena

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the moment we checked in the staff were all friendly and attentive. At dinner we had an amazing 3 course delight. The Venison was coked to perfection and melted in my mouth. All 4 of us enjoyed the service and food and could not have asked for more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joeaM9945OV
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear JoeaM9945OV, Thanks for your reviews and I am delighted to hear all 4 of you enjoyed your meals, the venison was cooked to perfection, and found our staff friendly and attentive. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Dharama Sena

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived in Te anau late afternoon with no place to stay. Drove past many places and found an amazing deal at Distinction which included private use of sauna, spa, 3 course a la carte dinner in restaurant, full buffet breakfast, and lakeside room. The meal was beautiful and so was the breakfast. I would definitely recommend. We made full use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Karen R, Thank you very much for your recommendation and sharing the experience during your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and I am pleased to hear you found the hotel good value for money and made full use of our facilities with the special bargain at NZ$259. We...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Out of the hotels we stayed in during our honeymoon trip, Distinction hotel was the least liked. In short, there is nothing very distinctive about it. It does the job of providing a room to sleep. I'm not sure if they lack heating devices, but the whole place was freezing at all times from entrance to hallways and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelHabre
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I am disappointed to hear some of your comments. We have taken these on board and will use as a tool to benchmark ourselves and be more consistent in our service delivery. I apologise you found the hotel cold during your stay and we have addressed...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set with stunning view overlooking Lake Te Anau we wondered if the hotel could live up to our first impressions. Absolutely, the rooms were very well appointed and spotless. The service by check in staff was friendly and prompt and especially loved the information provided on local attractions and stops along the way, what a great touch and made travelling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorraine W
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Lorrraine Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found staff helpful. We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Fiordland and had a safe trip home. Regards Brent Stander

San Jose
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

With a large front row seat of the shores of Lake Te Anau, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is in a prime location. It was relaxing to enjoy a late afternoon beer on at the hotel bar while gazing over the lake. A couple of minutes walk and you are at the small downtown strip of Te Anau to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freeamac
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear freeamac Thanks for taking the time to review us and provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I apologise you felt our staff were not remarkable and we will refocus to try and achieve our goal of everyone leaving the hotel recommending us, I apologise this was not the case for your stay. Regards Brent Stander

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a suitable hotel room for our stay in Te Anau. The beds were fine, okay toiletries, etc. Plenty quiet to get a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, the wifi was unreliable. Even in the hotel lobby I couldn't access the wifi consistently. We enjoyed the lake view in the mornings, but since the room was on the ground floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nachty
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear nachty Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and we sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Fiordland and had a safe trip home. We have followed up the comments regarding wi-fi and it is working correctly as it should be, apologise for any convenience caused. Regards

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only spent one night here but we were allocated one of the villas and it was sooo peaceful after our long coach trip. This is obviously a much busier place during the summer months, it covers a large area, has a swimming pool and excellent staff. I was particularly struck by the personal care given to our group when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerandGrace
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Roger and Grace Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback re: your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and am humbled by your kind words of encouragement. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander

Reviewed 20 April 2017

We had a one night stay on our tour. We had enjoyed a great day on the Milford Sound. We had a lovely taste of fiordland dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The bedroom was nicely arranged with a comfortable bed, nice linens. As our group finished a very nice buffet breakfast and we were entering the bus to leave for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbakker
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear JBakker Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and time taken to leave a review. We sincerely enjoyed hosting you and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Brent Stander

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
364 reviews
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
489 reviews
0.2 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: RM441 - RM967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the L&P package. Great Deal.”
joeaM9945OV, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake Front rooms offer amazing views”
  • View from our Lakefront room
lorrainew331, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the lake are most scenic”
  • Bathroom
  • Room towards back of property
  • Basic tub
  • Room view towards front door
freeamac, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“If I came again, I probably wouldn't bother paying for the lakeview room unless I was going to just sit in my room all day.”
nachty, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“One of the villas as they are well spaced out and very quiet.”
RogerandGrace, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$113* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$113
getaroom.comUS$130
Hotels.comUS$113
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates