We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ascot Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ascot Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Decor was a bit retro but offered excellent value for money. Very clean and quiet, and the owners were very helpful and friendly - and definitely reflected the culture of the coast. Units were roomy and offered everything we wanted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bookert2017
Pete J, Manager at Ascot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review guys. Here to help. Paul & Kirsty

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great little place to spend the noght in Westport. Paul and Kirsty went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and gave us a terrific restaurant referal for Christmas Eve dinner! Not overly fancy, but everyting one needs, very comfortable, and fantastic personal service! A really great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDin2017
Pete J, Manager at Ascot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Cheers guys, happy to help

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Paul the manager could not have been more friendly or helpful. He made our stay in Westport one we will have with many good memories. Our dogs were welcomed and the experience was great. The décor is retro '70s and the facilities are clean and tidy with everything you could need including unlimited free wi-fi. Thanks very much for making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver A
Pete J, Manager at Ascot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi TC, thanks for taking the time to review our Motel and we appreciate your time and response. We hope to offer you more West Coast hospitality in the future. Kind regards, Paul and Kirsty

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 November 2016

As per other reviews this place looks tired. A freshen up would help and getting rid of the locked auto toilet paper dispenser would be a good start. Away from the main street so no road noise. Arrived wet and cold on the motorcycle so turned on the heater. It made a whinging noise so we turned it off in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happywanderersNov16
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The motel was reasonably comfortable but a bit tired. Having a good sense of humour helps. The fuse box for several units was on our wall with no cover.The heater sounded like a jet taking off and the hair dryer looked like it belonged in a Dr Who movie. We still had a good stay and found the staff very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Wellington
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The motel is away from the Main Street of Westport so is quiet but not as convenient as other accommodations. Personally I would not stay again as it is so dated it is like another reviewer said - a step back to the 60's. I guess I would rather pay a bit more (rates here are no bargain compared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camda
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night in Ascot Motor Lodge with my mom and it was very comfortable. The room was clean and had all the necessary facilities. The price was also reasonable. I would defenetly recomend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam P
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 April 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at the Ascot Motor Lodge, main reason is that it is 4 doors down from where my family live but secondly I have always had a pleasant stay. We were staying with my sister and her husband so had booked a 2 bedroom unit. The room had a separate lounge with full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank footiesnz
Vejby, Denmark
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We stayed for 4 nights over Easter 2016 in a 2 bedroom motel appartment. Everything was clean and tidy, the facilities were good, but the main thing we noticed was that the staff was very very service oriented. No waiting time or problems when we asked for something - just a quick and smiling service. That made a huge difference...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steendenmark2016
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Was very disappointed with this motel. It was very dated and really could do with a complete update. Mirrors were dirty and the bathroom was very small and pokey. There is no light in the shower. The room smelt stale and musty. Curtains had to be pulled shut to get some privacy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
Pete J, Owner at Ascot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

As unpalatable as it is we nevertheless appreciate this feedback. Judging from her feedback of NZ restaurants and motels in NZ we feel for Caroline B because her experience has been negative. Under the circumstances we offer to do everything possible to make a follow up visit a fabulous experience for her. Yes, we are an older motel and for...

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.8 km away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
53 reviews
1.1 km away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
1.2 km away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#1 of 12 in Westport
323 reviews
1.0 km away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.9 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Motel situated closest to the town centre and Solid Energy Sports Centre in a quiet area with very little traffic noise. Comfortable and clean with free wifi that works. We are happy to tell you that we are pet-friendly and within easy distance to the rivers, beaches and walking/biking tracks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Lodge

Address: 74 Romilly Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Price Range: RM317 - RM388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ascot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ascot Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask reception - they will help you out for sure.”
 of 5 bubbles steendenmark2016, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“This is more towards a budget end motel but excellent value for money. I get tired of people who complain a motel is tired or dated. You get what you pay for. If you want to pay mega bucks go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles lynnemcmorran, 22 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Not in centre of town but not long walk.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertWoolley, 11 Jan 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay