We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tallarook Motor Inn

Show Prices
#8 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Tallarook Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tallarook Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 229: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Friendly helpful staff, great location - just 5 minutes to Western Plains Zoo. Room was comfortable, very clean and air conditioned. The beds were comfy and the kitchenette well equipped with full sized fridge, microwave and stove. The small swimming pool was very welcoming after a hot day at the zoo.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katet720
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Katet720, Thanks for your great review of Tallarook. The best thing as an owner you can hope to hear for is comfy clean rooms. Chuck in a bit of service and it all comes together. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us, and yes, the pool is not a bad spot this time of... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Tallarook Motor Inn is a great place to stay in Dubbo! It is always spotlessly clean and has one of the best Hosts (Richard) in the hotel industry! He is always helpful and cheerful. The rooms are large, have cooking facilities and are great for families who wish to self-cater. There is a playground opposite that is great for kids... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Gidday Sandra, It was lovely to see you again. I always get excited taking your calls because it was you who alerted me to the fact that we had won the 2014 travellers choice award. But its equally great to hear from you knowing that you are coming to visit us again. I am glad you enjoyed the Tallarook's facilities... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We came to Dubbo from Sydney as a family and stayed here as it was close to the zoo. Comfy beds, good shower not much more to ask for. Was clean except for a dead roach sitting on the kitchen counter. We paid $135. Book through trip advisor though as they charged me $15 more to book directly with them.

Helpful?
Thank James S
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi James S, thanks for reviewing the Tallarook. I am glad you found it comfy and clean. Sorry about the cocky. The room you had was not occupied for about 1 week prior to you and should have been checked prior to you occupying the room, so my apologies about that. And with your booking, the $15 additional was for... More 

Greater Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Clean and great for the couple of nights we stayed. Close to food outlets. Friendly helpful staff. Good bbq facilities anc self catering. It has a big park opposite for kids to play on the equipment or kick a footy around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jmunro2016
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi jmunro2016, Thanks for spreading the word about the Tallarook. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. The park is a rippa. Kind regards, Richard and the Tallarook team. More 

Narrabeen, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2016

close to city and restaurants, nice and clean, value for money. will stay again. full kitchen. in nice and peaceful location. pleasant manager. no trouble whatsoever. room cleaning service in every second day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank natasha s
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Natasha S, Thanks for sharing your views on the Tallarook. I might put you on as our chief reviewer. You mentioned exactly what I preach, our location to shops etc and the park and river, cleanliness (most important) and value. I am proud that we can tick all three boxes. We are still the only Dubbo Hotel to win... More 

Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Its not the little country town of Tallarook Its very nice family sized motel rooms Well equipped kitchen Nice beds Lovely looking gardens Very friendly helpful staff Only issue would be the small bathroom otherwise a very nice spot to stay when traveling thr6or staying in Dubbo

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Michelle B, Very funny. That saying "things are crook in Tallarook" comes from the time of the great depression and Melbournians were heading north to get work on the railway at a place called Tallarook. They arrived to no work and hence the saying. But I am really happy you have now told the world that things ARN'T crook... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Travelled there a couple years ago (Dec 2013), and were treated with pleasant service, Richard was very nice and accommodating to the constant changes in our booking :) Between the hotel pool and the park across the road, the kids (and we) were very happy!

Helpful?
Thank Jay1992HC
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jay1992HC, Its lovely to hear from you. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Tallarook. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards from Richard and the Tallarook team More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Friendly greeting on arrival. Overall an ok stay however: - the decor needs a massive update. Looks like the rooms are stuck in the 1980s! (But decor is not important too everyone) - the sliding bathroom door was broken - kept falling off the rails & getting stuck. - bathroom is tiny. Not enough room to even get changed in.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyRabbits1907
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Leanne, Thanks for your feed back. All I can say is that we are constantly working hard to improve our property. Like most motels, they get a caning from time to time. If I told you that the sliding doors and shower screens were being replaced this week, you probably wouldn't believe me, but they are. I had hoped... More 

West Wyalong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Tallarook. This is a very comfortable motel. The rooms are huge, clean and every room has a full stocked kitchen in it. I stayed for 3 nights and was able to prepare my night time meals which saved me a lot of money. The motel is located in a quiet street with parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank M0i1975
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi M0i1975, We love hearing from our return guests. It requires a bit of effort to do a review and it is really appreciated. I agree with your comments. I think we offer great value, and are one of the only motels to offer the type of family accommodation that we do. And on the service, I am very fortunate... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Fantastic service, we were greeted with a friendly and happy gentleman. The beds were comfy. Rooms were clean. Tallarook Motor Inn was easy to get to and there was a park across the road for the kids.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sarahricho78
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hey there sarahricho78, Thanks for your kind words. I hope the move to the gold coast went well. We look forward to seeing you again. Wow, a happy gentleman! You made my day. Kind regards, Richard and the Tallarook team. More 

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#11 of 30 in Dubbo
409 reviews
0.7 km away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
363 reviews
1.4 km away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#7 of 30 in Dubbo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Bluegum Motel
0.2 km away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
1.0 km away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#2 of 30 in Dubbo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tallarook is one of Dubbo's Premier Motor Inns. We cater for families, single travellers and business people alike. All of our spacious units are self contained with quality air conditioning and inclusions. Complimentary wi fi and Foxtel are also included.We have 10 ground floor units and all but one of our 13 upstairs units have a balcony.Our location is arguably the best in Dubbo. We are the only Inn on the Macquarie River, and a short stroll to a great range of conveniences like restaurants, fast food outlets, super markets and fuel stations. Across the quiet Stonehaven Avenue is the Biddybungie Reserve which features a great kids playground and plenty of picnic spots over looking the beautiful Macquarie River.So when your next in Dubbo, call in and say hi at the Tallarook, your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tallarook Motor Inn

Address: 17 Stonehaven Ave, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Price Range: RM396 - RM469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tallarook Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tallarook Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallarook Hotel Dubbo
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubbo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubbo
#3 Family Hotel in Dubbo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tallarook Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If sensitive to noise, rooms facing park are better”
 of 5 bubbles culturalsafaris, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get the 2nd floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ana12341980, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A front room would be further away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles ard28, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe try upstairs so you don't have noisy people above you.”
 of 5 bubbles BansemerGetaways, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Sleep, rest, recharge and go again!”
 of 5 bubbles 450nataliep, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay