We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fitzroy Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Fitzroy Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 154: English reviews
Moruya, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the photos and reviews we thought that we were staying at a Federation property. Did not realise until we arrived that Fitzroy House was a small separate building and only a very small part of the Fitzroy Motor Inn. Rest of the motel- at least the room we stayed in was quite ordinary and had nothing to distinguish it... More 

Helpful?
Thank FloraDora2057
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry to hear your disappointment regarding your stay. I do believe our advertising and photos show we are a 3.5 star Motel with an adjoining Federation House which is also on the property. This house maybe booked as a whole House for 13 people or split into two two bedroom apartments. We then have 22 motel rooms in our... More 

Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The host and hostess including the staff members were very helpful and considerate for giving us essential info for the Jacaranda Festival, and for storing our luggage after our checkout as our train would not depart until that evening to Sydney. The facilities were/are well provided and maintained. And the room was spacious enough for a family with a 5-year... More 

Helpful?
Thank iloveeshopping
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Yes we remember you well and were very pleased to be able to help you with the late train travel. Thank you for your lovely review, we do pride ourselves in being helpful and ensuring our guests leave happy and relaxed. We hope to see you back one day. Kind regards, John and Czesia Huxley. More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Fitzroy Motor Inn is our halfway stop from our Gold Coast home to our family on the Central Coast NSW. we have been staying here for years, it is very clean, a very comfortable bed, good electrical amenities too. The owners of the motel, John and Cezia are very friendly, welcoming and so keen to help....and you should order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valeriefaye
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time out to write a lovely review , we do appreciate it. Always a pleasure to welcome you back each time and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, John and Czesia. More 

Bellawongarah, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a good distance from Sydney- 600km - so needed to rest here overnight. Found the Motel clean comfortable and hosts welcoming. Best of all the lighting in the room was BRIGHT and not the usual 20w bedside light found so often in motels. Because we ordered a cooked breakfast and put our order in the wrong place it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Max W
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review and for your comments, we do appreciate it. I remember you well and apologise for that breakfast mishap but happy to see you enjoyed your stay nevertheless. See you again soon Kind regards, John and Czesia Huxley. More 

Claresholm, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not only was the room clean and comfortable, the ladies who checked us in were friendly, helpful and kind. How nice to be greeted like a friend, especially after a long days' drive. I would highly recommend this motel to stay a night or more. The town is unspoiled by tourism and has some lovely old buildings.

Helpful?
Thank Bev R
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, So lovely to read your review and so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are appreciated and we hope to welcome you back one day soon. Kind regards, John and Czesia Huxley More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We had a one night stay on our way up the coast. Friendly and informative service. Close walk to shops. Room was very clean and comfortable. Can I just say, great showers and water pressure. Will definitely stop here again.

Helpful?
Thank Maria B
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on the Fitzroy Motor Inn and we agree aren't those showers fantastic! We hope to welcome you back one day soon. Kind regards, John and Czesia Huxley. More 

Penrith, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Motel rated 3.5 stars but lucky to be 3 star. Room was very basic with tiny bathroom and light on all night outside the room. Although the cost was reasonable it should be sold as budget accommodation. To add to the disappointing room we had to park on the street. In need of a renovation. Not good enough.

Helpful?
Thank cassie3232
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, So sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay, we very rarely get negative reviews such as this. Sadly the car parking is such as in every establishment unless its paid for parking that you cannot control the number of cars per room parked nor guarantee parking when returning late at night. The lights outside the rooms along... More 

Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Stayed for one night on business in a Queen bed room. The room was clean and had everything I needed. Large pool, however I didn't get a chance to try it out. Hotel is in a good position. Short walk to the centre of town and to the river. Room service breakfast was basic, and very nice,

Helpful?
Thank Phill D
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for your lovely review of our Motel. We are very proud of the condition it is maintained in and thank you for your comments, we hope to welcome you back one day. Kind regards, John and Czesia. More 

South West Rocks, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Only stayed one night but would have loved more. We were in a cottage which was half of a stand alone house. Full kitchen, lounge, 2 bedrooms (2 singles and 1 king size) En suite off main bedroom as well as additional shower and toilet plus laundry with big washing machine. Lovely dining area with 6 seater table overlooking palms... More 

Helpful?
Thank prattically
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for your lovely review. Our Federation House is very popular and very comfortable and am very happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back one day. Kind regards, John and Czesia More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Fitzroy motor inn. Stopped after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. At$130 for a room with double and single bed thought it a bit expensive. Clean and tidy, fluffy towels, small but powerful shower. Free shower gel, shampoo, conditioner hand soap etc. TV with DVD's player. Fridge with cold water and milk with tea and coffee supplied. Beds were comfy and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank sprinty187
Indianajones16, Owner at Fitzroy Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for a lovely review. It seems you were very happy with everything but the tariff. We actually gave you a $10 discount as our twin rooms are $140 per night. The reason they are that is because of all we offer and the standard that we offer. Our competitors are some dearer and some cheaper than ours... More 

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grafton hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Grafton
Quality Inn Grafton
#5 of 10 in Grafton
151 reviews
1.1 km away
Heritage River Motor Inn
0.3 km away
The Abbey Motor Inn
The Abbey Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Grafton
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Espana Motel
Espana Motel
#4 of 10 in Grafton
73 reviews
1.1 km away
Bent Street Motor Inn
Bent Street Motor Inn
#6 of 10 in Grafton
49 reviews
1.5 km away
Jacaranda Motor Lodge
Jacaranda Motor Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grafton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fitzroy Motor Inn is situated in a great location in Grafton. It is within walking distance to a major shopping centre, restaurants, churches and the beautiful Clarence River. We have 22 rooms in the Motel including two family rooms and also our beautiful Federation House built in the 1930's sits alongside the Motor Inn. The House can be leased as a whole house sleeping up to 12 people or divided into two 2 bedroom apartments. We have a lovely large pool and spa and beautiful gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fitzroy Motor Inn

Address: 27 Fitzroy St, Grafton, New South Wales 2460, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Grafton
Price Range: RM388 - RM491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fitzroy Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Fitzroy Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fitzroy Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request Fitzroy Hous eif you are looking for atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles FloraDora2057, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our room was quite quiet (Room #2) on the ground floor, though next to the motel's entry.”
 of 5 bubbles iloveeshopping, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“upstairs front”
 of 5 bubbles maxw284, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lower level”
 of 5 bubbles 732bevr, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I have only stayed in one room which was on the second floor, and it was good.”
 of 5 bubbles 764philld, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay