We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Novotel Newcastle Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

752 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Newcastle Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 745: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice location and pleasant room but big city prices for a regional location and not the quality of room that one normally gets for these prices. Car parking can be avoided in the weekend by parking in the streets. Close to beach front walks and pretty good cafes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vic151
Thomas K, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Vic151, Thank you for investing your time to tell us about your recent stay with us. It is great to see that you did like our friendly hospitality during your stay in our hotel. As demand is climbing in Newcastle so do usually the rates and that is across the board of all accommodation providers in the inner city....

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Looking for accommodation for one night late afternoon, we went to this hotel, but it was far more expensive than we wished to pay. We were advised that they only had two rooms left and that we would have trouble finding anywhere else. We reluctantly agreed to pay an exorbitant price only to find out from hotel staff the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
Thomas K, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear MaryL, We very much appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your short trip to Newcastle. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all parts of your stay and the services we offer. I'll review the communication with our front desk team in regards to the offers in house and how it is bought...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mharris909
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

I was comfortable, enjoyed the breakfast, and the room was quiet and clean but the $400+ charge for that particular night was ridiculous. I had no other option and feel as a woman travelling alone this once, that I wanted to be central and feel safe- which I did. The reception staff were extremely helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwofromtheNorth
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2015

A really nice hotel in a great location but thats about where it ends. The rooms were spacious clean new and overall very good. The reception area and "cafe/restaurant" were underwhelming, but to be fair i didn't check out any other facilities. There little cafe across the mall area is very good and compliments the lack of spark perfectly. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bruttiboy
Wahroonga, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Great location, very comfortable room, fine dining and wonderful staff. We spent 5 days "chilling out" and that's exactly what we did thanks to the staff and facilities offered by this hotel. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pritchardlyn
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Very generous room...excellent for families with young children. Front desk staff welcoming and helpful. Call to reception on first night saw housekeeping at our door within seconds. Poor Lighting in room, television located in front of 2 single beds with no swivel facility for QB to also view. Unpleasant odour emanating from bathroom from arrival to departure. On subsequent nights...toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mham
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Stayed one night for business trip. Hotel appears new with modern quality aspects. Room - good size, king size bed well appointed, all amenities modern finish. Bathroom - large with walk in shower, modern, touches and quality toiletries. Restaurant - is real close to lobby and small sitting area. Is not large but hotel isn't large either. Food was fine,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stayed as a family of four (2 children aged 9 and 11) on two consecutive Saturday nights in September 2015 as part of a holiday road trip. The rooms were clean and really comfortable, all the staff were super helpful and friendly and the location is ideal for exploring Newcastle. Weddings were being held in the conference room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Staff were very helpful, location is terrific ,walking distance to beach, ocean baths, shops, coffee shops ,restaurants, we had dinner one nite at the restaurant on site, very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. Would recommend a stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debrathezebra56

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (75)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
890 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
2.5 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
313 reviews
2.0 km away
Travelodge Newcastle
Travelodge Newcastle
#8 of 22 in Newcastle
1,163 reviews
1.8 km away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: RM581 - RM1,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
#4 Business Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Newcastle Beach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Penrith, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Newcastle Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper levels facing north have harbour/coast views”
 of 5 bubbles DTG59, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the eastern side”
 of 5 bubbles 897granth, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles 320cristinap, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid south facing rooms - you won't see much other than a new tower being built.”
 of 5 bubbles lynden_d, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up is always better”
 of 5 bubbles Z3330PTstevenc, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay