We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Longhouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Longhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Very relaxing, had a two night stay. Most of all its very calm and has lot of space for kids to play and walk around. We did miss the microwave cooking or warming food was not possible. But overall it was a great experience. Especially enjoying the morning sunrise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Pros-The Longhouse is set in a stunning location and is close to everything that you need. The property is spacious and opens out to a beautiful view across the vineyards. Beds were comfy and shower was great with the best toiletries! I liked the fuss free check in and check out system. Loved the design and aesthetics of the house....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TrudiJJ
Joanne B, Manager at The Longhouse, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Longhouse. I am sorry that you stay was somewhat spoilt by the behaviour of someone else's children. With relation to the wifi we did have optus wifi - unfortunately optus allowed guests to subscribe our account to PAID 12 month porn subscriptions (this happened on multiple occasions)...

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Was explained to us as very private. Totaly not the case. The border who left his belongings in the fridge, strolled straight back in to colect them after our arrival. The place was filthy with hair and matter build up in bathroom floor drains. And filthy furniture. This was aproxamatly 5 years ago and we still cringe at the thought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shane W
Joanne B, Manager at The Longhouse, responded to this review

The longhouse had not been built 5 years ago and looking through our records you never stayed with us. I believe you have written this review about the wrong property. At that time there was another property called the longhouse in lovedale which has since closed. Perhaps you stayed there

Sydney
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Its beautiful and cold. The managers dont make you feel welcome at all. Its designed by an architect for a photo but its not welcoming. Go somewhere the managers actually want you there. No wifi at all because someone used too much? Seriously.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank liam.walsh
Dora Creek, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We were a group of 12 so we had all three units exclusively. The location is perfectly central to all the cellar doors and attractions but it feels like you are totally secluded. The units are absolutely perfect for two couples (each unit), with very spacious,clean and modern facilities. The feature of both the front and rear of the living...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fizndarb
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Wow wow wow! This place is stunning! We ate our cheese platter on the deck- surrounded by grey kangaroos who were eating the grapes in the vineyard. The longhouse itself is beautiful- both the front and back open up into the kitchen and dining. Our only regret is only staying one night.... We recommend the longhouse to both couples, families,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lausie26
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Longhouse for our anniversary. It was a surprise for me and it was absolutely spectacular. It was so lovely to just sit on the balcony with the view and a glass of wine and relax away from Sydney. The building is different to anything else I've stayed at. Yes there are Windows absolutely everywhere and light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Em D
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

The second I saw this place on the net I fell in love but was wondering if the reality was as great as the pics. Well I was overjoyed for a change, from the moment you see the Longhouse as you drive up... Just gorgeous. Architecturally designed and built. Modern sleek sexy!!! I just love it. I've enjoyed this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilette F
Joanne B, Manager at The Longhouse, responded to this review

Hi Lisette I am so glad that you enjoyed another stay with us, we LOVE the longhouse and are always thrilled when guests feel the same way too! We look forward to welcoming back again in the future :)

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

Cool architecture which is so trendy as well as practical. Great location where you see roos at your door step and vineyards all around. Excellent facilities onsite and conveniently located with easy access to all other major wineries and attractions. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YesBos
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

Recently spent an amazing weekend at the longhouse. WOW is all I can say from the view to the beautifully presented clean unit!! On booking my accommodation I explained to the lovely manager that it was our anniversary Jo went above and beyond to make our stay special,I have stayed in the hunter on numerous occasions but this is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mslucy_syd

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
7.4 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
776 reviews
2.1 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.0 km away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
#6 of 41 in Pokolbin
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
311 reviews
4.7 km away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
631 reviews
1.5 km away
H Boutique Hotel
H Boutique Hotel
#7 of 41 in Pokolbin
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Longhouse

Address: 385 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales NSW 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: RM1,524 - RM2,884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Longhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Longhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longhouse Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Longhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 1 was good. Corner room especially if you have kids its a nice room”
 of 5 bubbles alexjI7956KO, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no rooms are better than others”
 of 5 bubbles liam.walsh, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“There are only three apartments, so I would request either of the 'end' apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles phantomfisho, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“It doesn't matter which one you choose, they are all equal.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisg276rec, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
“No wifi as another guest had abused the service. Dirt acess road so do not clean you car before you go. Do take your coffee machine with you so you enjoy a coffee on the full length balcony in the mornings. Often the hot air balloons pass by in the ealry mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles 372stephenw, 3 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay