We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Port Macquarie

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Port Macquarie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

841 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Port Macquarie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 828: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We booked the Rydges Port Macquarie based on a really good price and its location (never having been to Port Macquarie before, it seemed that central would be a good bet). It certainly was central, as a three minute walk put us in the shopping mall which was handy to go for breakfast. We had room 203 from memory which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cantrav7
Rydges_Port, Front Office Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hi cantrav7, Thanks so much for your positive informative review! Pleased to read you were impressed with the hotel and facilities! Hopefully we'll be seeing you if you visit Port Macquarie again. Thanks again! Rydges Port Macquarie

Cobham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

This has the feel of a Corporate Hotel and on checking-in you have to stump up $10 for basement parking which if it were London, Paris or New York you'd expect. You can park on the Street but this would be slightly disappointing and very inconvenient. The rooms are good quality and beds very comfortable. There's a mini bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan C
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2015

We stayed for 4 days earlier this month and as always with this hotel it is the place to stay when you stop over or want a place to stay in Port Macquarie. We ate in the bar area on 3 of the nights as we were enjoying the live entertainment that much the boys did not want to give...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey Stephen W, Fantastic review! Thank you! Great to read you were impressed so much with the live entertainment and the bar options. I'll pass your feedback onto the food and beverage staff! We look forward to your next stay. Cheers, Rydges Port Macquarie

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Thank you once again for catering for us. We walked in twice and they happily found a room for us. They treated us very kindly. Rooms were large. Pool area fantastic. Enjoyed the bar. Great views. The room we had the second time does need a better system re the wooden slat blind on one window (first floor) as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelV1973
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey MelV1973, Awesome review! Thank you! Great to read you were impressed with the pool and bar! Hopefully we'll be welcoming you back again soon! Cheers, Rydges Port Macquarie

Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are very soft and cozy. Staff are mostly lovely, I did unfortunately encounter a very sarcastic staff member when ordering room service. The view of the river is beautiful. Food is also amazing!!! Will be happy to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryia M
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey Maryia M, Thanks for the positive review! Great to read you were impressed with the rooms and food! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Cheers, Rydges Port Macquarie

Berry, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Stayed for one night on our way to Sydney from Brisbane. A little more expensive than some of the other hotels but well worth it with the great views from the room. We just wanted to rest so got room service for dinner which was a very nice meal while we looked out over the water. Good bottle shop around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey Nick S, Thanks for the great review! Great to read you were impressed with the water view rooms and room service! Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again soon! Thanks again, Rydges Port Macquarie

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Beautiful room, lovely views however very disrespectful. The car park is difficult to navigate with eco-friendly lighting. An elderly gentleman and their wife politely mentioned to the lady on reception that they couldn't find the lift and had to walk with their luggage out of the car park. The receptionist was so rude to these elderly people, so rude that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cate B
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hi Cate B, Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. Apologies for any dissatisfaction caused during your stay. I'm not sure what the case was with the elderly couple. We value our guests and I believe none of our front desk staff would deliberately be disrespectful or rude to any of our valued guests. However your feedback is...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 December 2015

The hotel was clean and comfortable but our room, a King room, was very large for a one night stay and quite pricey for what it was, a room with no view, however, I guess we were paying for the name. Having to pay $10 for secure parking for a hotel in the middle of town was a bit rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hi Kerry B, Thanks for your feedback. Pleased you were impressed with the room size. Sorry you weren't impressed with the rate, we do try and keep the rates competitive and affordable. Apologies for any discontent caused. We appreciate all feedback and will take this onboard. Kind Regards, Rydges Port Macquarie

Cheshire
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a one night stop between Byron bay & Sydney. The hotel looked nice, the room spacious and clean BUT we had paid extra for an ocean view suite and were given room 113 which over looked the pool (with ocean in the distance) and had a view of people sat by the pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola O
New England
Reviewed 4 December 2015

The first stop on a three week visit to Australia. Impressive that we could arrive mid-morning on a flight from USA and immediately be able to check in. Very nice room overlooking the Hastings River and extremely comfortable bed We had two really, really nice buffet breakfasts there - food nicely cooked and presented. Found the location to be nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morehem
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey morehem, Great review! Thank you! Pleased to read you were impressed with the buffet breakfasts! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your Aussie adventure! Cheers, Rydges Port Macquarie

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
785 reviews
0.7 km away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
270 reviews
0.6 km away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#18 of 42 in Port Macquarie
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
0.4 km away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port ...
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
447 reviews
1.0 km away
The Observatory
The Observatory
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Price Range: RM580 - RM1,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel
Rydges Port Macquarie Australia, South Pacific
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ROOM TIP, rooms 113-116 face directly to the pool, so don’t allow them to stick you there.”
 of 5 bubbles Italy-Escape, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid lower floors during school holidays due to pool noise. Upper level river view. Hotel in urgent need of upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles 995jannel, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room with a balcony - level 3 or 4 are great. You will get noise from the pool if sitting outside but we can live with that!”
 of 5 bubbles Dooonr, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't book room 127 as it is opposite the entrance to the pool and gym and would be very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles KathrynB15, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a river view if possible”
 of 5 bubbles RayW791, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay