We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Port Macquarie

Expedia.comUS$128*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Port Macquarie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

885 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Port Macquarie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 871: English reviews
Inverell, Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We have stayed before and find the location appealing. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable, with a balcony view over the river. We stayed during a weekend night and whilst there was a large crowd at a nearby hotel, the room was blisfully quiet. Our room was starting to age and a refurbishment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gamain
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in relation to your recent stay. As you note the property is well located to the main CBD whilst overlooking Hastings River so you have convenience and the outlook. We are in the planning stages of updating the room furniture after updating bedding recently. Thanks again for your patronage and...

Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stayed here in Room 309 on Saturday 25th. It had a river view, balcony and king bed. It's pricey, but location is great, view is great and the room was a good size. Couldn't fault the staff either. It was probably $40 more than you'd pay in a capital city but they can get it due to the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. Saturday nights in Port Macquarie are a high demand night and tend to have the higher rates but if you can book in advance or the two night stays there are some good packages....

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed for 1 night on 13/02/17 whilst on our way driving to Bryon Bay, Brisbane and Gold Coast. Our room was clean and very comfortable and spacious. Great location and easy access to places to eat. We had a drink in the bar facing the water which was very relaxing after a long day of driving. Would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pkourt
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. The view from Zebu Bar over the Hastings River is lovely and if you are lucky in the morning you can see the dolphins at play. Port Macquarie is well located to break up...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Fantastic view overlooking The Hastings River. My room had a balcony which allowed me to watch the people walking alongside the waterfront. The room was large and well appointed although the shower is over the bath which can be both difficult and dangerous. The thing which disappoints me about Rydges is that they charge top price for a room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth B
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel and I am glad that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. Breakfast and Car parking are individual charges as some guests choose to utilise these facilities whilst others don't. The most competitive breakfast pricing is built into the Bed and Breakfast packages. Thanks again...

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The location was amazing. Walking distance to Port Central. Staff were always friendly. The money on a hotel room I don't think was worth it though. Was nice having my bed made every day and clean towels.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Binna82
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. You have stayed over the Junior Touch tournament when supply is very tight. We do offer some good off peak and minimum length of stay rates at other times if you have the opportunity to plan in advance. Thanks again for your...

Tea Gardens, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Let's just say, I have stayed with Rydges from Kalgoorlie WA , to Sails resort Port Macquarie over 60 times! , we have stayed at The Hilton on numerous occasions, I have never been treated with such poor Service, I hold the priority guest rewards black card which is the highest level in PGR, when we arrived in restaurant we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mechanic01
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback into your recent stay and I apologize that we haven't met your expectations on this occasion and I will follow up with my team and come back to you direct to discuss. My apologies that our service delivery wasn't up to expectations on this stay.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Arrived for a one night stay on a wet Sunday which wasn't a great start. Free parking outside hotel was a bonus and the room was ready for us early. Lovely room, well appointed. Walking distance of everything, beach on your doorstep and plenty eateries surrounding the hotel. Bar in hotel was great, entertainment made for a busy night. Swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neepzy
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback in regard to your recent stay and I am glad that you have enjoyed our facilities. The hotel is very central in Port Macquarie with Port Central, Restaurants, Town Beach and activities at the wharf all easy walks from the hotel. Thanks again for choosing the Rydges Port Macquarie and I trust that we will have...

Lake Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

What has happened to this once iconic venue? We're has the evening entertainment gone, what has happened to the service and where is my meal? This was a place that I recommended that everyone should go to go to when visiting Port Macquarie but after my recent experience I wont bother going back again myself. When ordering my meal at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter J
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us last night. We are in the process of making some changes to our menu and service order in the kitchen all of which was launched last night. We did experience some unexpected delays in meal delivery which we hope will be ironed out...

Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on business, the location is great lovely walks around the bay and the beaches either way when you walk out of hotel plus within walk of central port Macquarie. My room was large, comfy bed but quite plain and unfortunately I was on the cheap side with a view of the bottle shop. The room could have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia W
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review of your recent stay and I am glad that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay. The views over the Hastings river and break wall are lovely but as you have noted we have both a sea and town view aspects from our rooms. We do sell the Sea view rooms with a upgrade...

Nelson Bay, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of plenty of cafes and restaurants, plus a lovely view of the river. Our room was large and very clean, although the whole place was just a tiny bit tired. I love the fact that the bathroom actually had space to put our wash bags, which is so often not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sue O
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for the review of your recent stay and I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities. The hotel is very convenient located and central to the CBD and lots of options within a block walk. Thanks again for the patronage.

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
829 reviews
0.7 km away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
316 reviews
0.9 km away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
0.4 km away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
0.2 km away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Price Range: RM483 - RM1,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel
Rydges Port Macquarie Australia, South Pacific
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for river view, but don't get your hopes up”
Olofino1962, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Clean Refurbished room”
  • View Balcony - Suite 412 (King Suite Balcony)
  • View Balcony - Suite 412 (King Suite Balcony)
  • Inside suite - front door. Water damage & dirt on bottom of door
  • Inside suite - bathroom door hinges. Rust & Hair
  • Opposite opening doors is just ridiculous - can be easily resolved.
  • TV cabinet with bits of cardboard protecting the carpet.
  • Inside suite - bathroom door. Water damage & dirt on bottom of door
JnM4045, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“2 Bedroom water view apartment- 5th Floor- Room 501- was great -has a huge balcony and right next to elevator”
donnak181, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms Small and Furniture Old.”
hinnaaslam, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a balcony room with a view to the esplanade/water.”
NEC001, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$128* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$158
Orbitz.comUS$128
Hotwire.comUS$128
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates