We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Normandie Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Normandie Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was born not far from the hotel but moved away while little. I have been staying here on and off over many many years. Yes its old and not what most expect but I love it. Its close to everything, beds are comfy, lots of nice places to eat close by...cheap and expensive, staff are always nice but best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roseannafromoz
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes she is an old lady. But at 70 years old she is still standing. I am glad that that she is a favourite. There are a lot of people that resonate with this building. It has meaning to a lot of people, and a lot of people rely their memories... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a queen-sized bed room. The room was a bit "musty", but opening the window fixed that. The bed though was very comfortable. Our stay was for only one night. We considered it good value for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you were comfortable here. Kind Regards Beydon More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

"Dated" isn't always bad. In this instance, a place built in the 1940s that is still around today is definitely going to bring a feel of history with it, especially in a shiny new city like Wollongong. Yes, there are cracks on the ceilings and the walls are very thin, pipes rattle when adjoining rooms have showers, but I still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Renovation is an ongoing issue in an old building, it is what it is and takes time. We did install an Industrial standard new WiFi system, which was guaranteed by Telstra to cover the whole building. Sometimes it drops out. If you mentioned it we hopefully could have rectified. Perhaps when... More 

Matara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Located very close to the beach and run by very friendly family. Hotel need renovation and rooms are very very small. Stayed for two nights and book through one of the famous booking site which was the cheapest option available after Google around and found out hotel is charging the commission directly from customers for using web booking from third... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thilanbuwaneka
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The rooms are being renovated an ongoing issue ,looking after a 70 year old building. The rooms are different sizes and configurations, some are larger than others. Your comments are ambiguous At one point you say "Avoid if Possible " then you recommend to book directly. I do not know if... More 

Travellers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016

about the only good thing about this joint was that it had easy parking out the front the room was small but i guess it did the job although i've paid a lot less for a lot nicer we had a beautiful view of the dumpsters out the back the bathroom was akin to a prison and there was heaps... More 

Helpful?
Thank kizza2016
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The rooms are small in comparison to the larger 4.5 star accommodation in the area. Our rooms are different sizes and configurations . You had a Double bed room, which is smaller than the Queen rooms. We do have a high standard of cleanliness, sorry if we missed something. I will... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Clean, comfortable budget accommodation with really friendly, easygoing owners/staff. We only need something simple for one night, and Normandie definitely did the job. We'd love to stay here again next time we're in Wollongong.

Helpful?
Thank E K
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, happy that we were what you needed. Always welcome next time you are in Wollongong. Kind regards Beydon More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Checking in was easy and the location was good but the rooms were like you were staying at your nanna's. Quite small and very dated. They were clean and the beds and pillows were comfortable but for the price they charged I expected more. The roads were quite noisy too but didn't impact sleeping that much

Helpful?
Thank TravelEatExplore64
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. This is a boutique motel it is small and it is dated, was built in 1946. We don't own the property we are not permitted to do a major overhaul. However, we are refurbishing the rooms, unfortunately that does not include making the rooms any bigger and no matter what you... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Room was small (this was the only one left to book for the 2 nights we needed).In the 4 months we have been on holiday from the UK the 2 nights here were the worst sleep I'd had thanks to a terrible mattress and awful pillows - I tried 3 different ones. Had to keep window closed as got smell... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcaussieuk
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. We are not the owners of the building we cant change the look of the building. We can't change the structure of the building,so unfortunately your request cannot be fulfilled any time soon. When I checked the lamp there was nothing wrong with it. I don't know why it did not... More 

Camden, nsw, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2016

My husband and I booked as it was cheaper and close to the beach but checked in only to walk out 2 minutes later. The woman at the front desk wasn't at all friendly, the room was tiny and barely big enough to fit the "double" bed, the bathroom didn't look clean, we could hear people talking through the paper... More 

Helpful?
Thank emilyw487
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The rooms are always cleaned thoroughly before the next guest arrives. You booked on line and you used all the facilities. We had to clean the whole room ready for the next guest. Regardless of how long you stay, there is a 24 hour cancellation policy, you cancelled on the same... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We booked accommodation for two which included parking for $130. Which is a great price for Wollongong. Location is close to the beach on the north side of town. Staff were extremely helpful and prompt with email replies. The room was basic in need of an update but with that the price will rise. Probably would stay again but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smrt
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. We are renovating an ongoing issue that does take time. Glad that we were a good location for you. Kind regards Beydon More 

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.3 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
1.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.7 km away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 16 in Wollongong
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 16 in Wollongong
241 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
1.6 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 16 in Wollongong
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range: RM399 - RM607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Normandie Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the rooms at the front - traffic dosnt bother me. some guests are inconsiderate, but any issues let management know.”
 of 5 bubbles Roseannafromoz, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there are any. Some will get road noise, others get smell from kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles mcaussieuk, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to look at the room before paying as you won't get your money back”
 of 5 bubbles emilyw487, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“No views available”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelW312, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“probably rooms at the end could be a litte quieter but depending on how noisy your neighbours are. The sounds does carry...”
 of 5 bubbles UniquePerth, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay