We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sage Hotel Wollongong

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sage Hotel Wollongong
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sage Hotel Wollongong
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,204: English reviews
Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Large room, and ok bathroom. Shower floor could do with a good scrub. Don't expect a sea view. Well situated to the city centre but a bit of a walk to the sea front and beaches. The first morning got to breakfast at 8.10am. Not sure if a plague of locusts had been through or if the breakfast staff had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your stay with us. We value our guests opinions and only through this honest feedback can we improve our service and property. I have passed on your concerns to our Food & Beverage Manager to investigate and rectify any issues discovered. Our location and amenities offer easy and direct access to the city's...

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days, best value for money in Woollongong, close to every thing, secured car-parking under cover is only $15 a night. The room is large, the bathroom is extra large, the service at the front desk is excellent, would definitely stay there every time in Woollongong.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedz1
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for such kind words regard the property and our team. Are location certainly puts Sage Wollongong in the thick of the action. Whether it be business, leisure or a little of both let us show you the best of the region right on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wollongong on your next visit.

Callala Beach, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed recently for a night away. check n quick and easy. Parking on site available for only $15 for the night. Room was roomy and very clean. We were on the 6th floor looking out over the pool. All linens and pillows were excellent. Shower good and steady hot water and good pressure. Very quiet stay. Only surprise was when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jettygirl22
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

It always brings a smile to my face to read about guests who have found our property not only to their liking but that they have enjoyed their stay and will be returning to us in the near future. We treat your room like your 'oasis' away from the world, a place for you to be comfortable and recharge your...

Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My room had a great view of Wollongong Golf Course and adjacent ocean. Very quiet and great location for exploring Wollongong. Room service was very efficient and in house bar was a welcome break at the end of a long day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sulskid
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

It sounds like you certainly took advantage of our in-house amenities from the room to the outlets within the property. Our location certainly offers great coastal views, easy access to event venues, restaurants & bars, shops and the city itself. Thank you for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the region and the Sage on your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I travelled to Wollongong for a function on Saturday night Room was very nice ... received a complimentary upgrade which is always nice Room very clean .. Bathroom very big.. loved the fact that the hotel is a totally no smoking hotel with no smoking on the balcony Had lunch in the restaurant food was nice and not crazy expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTrish
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for such positive comments regarding our property and service team. We always attempt to deliver on experiences rather than just serving guests. It is uplifting to read of guests who have experienced this and wish to return to the property again. I am sure the team will be ready to extend you the same level of experiences, if...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A reasonable hotel. Large room and bathroom. Typical breakfast. Burger type restaurant and bar on ground level. If it wasn't for the plastic mattresses I would have considered staying here again but now I probably won't.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrybelle1966
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our property. We are currently in the process of mattress upgrades, I am unsure what you mean by plastic mattresses as we do not stock these style, but have started to change out mattresses throughout the hotel in 2017. I hope that you enjoyed the other amenities the hotel has to offer so that...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Great service received from the reception staff , service has improved a lot in the last six months. Buffet breakfast of a high standard complimentary newspapers and magazines a bonus. Will be staying here again when next travelling to Wollongong

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TessF499
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for such glowing comments on our property and staff. It's great to hear that you have not only enjoyed your stay with us but that you will be returning to property in the future. Our team is our greatest asset, they are constantly looking to meet and beat our guest's expectations. I am sure the team will be...

Central Coast
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

First impressions were good as the staff member on the desk was very friendly and welcoming. I had a queen studio and the view was of the goldfish course. Level 7 was great, high up and didn't hear any noise at all, though the area is really quiet so wouldn't really matter. The bed was very comfortable and amenities like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Risa1980
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

It's always uplifting to read of guests that enjoyed their stay with us here at Sage Wollongong. Our location, amenities and service lends itself to welcoming all guests, both leisure and business, to the region and showcasing what an amazing part of the world this is. Thank you for you lovely comments and we look forward to your next stay...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Did not have a great experience at Sage. Rooms were dirty and cleaners did minimal cleaning. Linen not changed. We had bugs coming through the window due to lack of flyscreen and bugs coming from the bathroom drain. AC was dusty and we had to clean the room ourselves. Very understaffed and under maintained. Did not enjoy the buffet. View...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thedoc M
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you did not find our property up to the standard you were expecting. I have raised your comments regarding maintenance with our in-house team, both Housekeeping & Maintenance, to look into these issues that you have raised. We hope that you will return to the region and enjoy what Wollongong has to offer.

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We rated it average, as that is how we compared it to numerous other hotels we have stayed at eg Value/Hotel/location. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful. The rooms & very clean & tidy with comfortable beds But nothing special compared to many other hotels. House cleaning made the beds & replaced towels & toiletries in the afternoon after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. Our service team & location are certainly two of our best assets, with easy access to many of the regions attractions and events. Sage Wollongong is right in the heart of the events complex in the city. Our service team always try...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.6 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
4.6 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
0.6 km away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
183 reviews
1.4 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sage Hotel Wollongong is a modern hotel located about an hours drive from Sydney on the scenic NSW South Coast. The hotel is situated on Wollongong's foreshore, adjacent to WIN Sports and Entertainment Centre and a short walk to Wollongong City Beach, vibrant restaurants and cafes, and fabulous shopping at Wollongong Central and Crown St Mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Wollongong

Address: 60 - 62 Harbour St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range: RM526 - RM1,106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sage Hotel Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sage Hotel Wollongong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors may get an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles leeb226, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great spot, big rooms, great service!”
 of 5 bubbles monicatv, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Southern side rooms offer great views.”
 of 5 bubbles sulskid, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with an odd number & balcony close to the front of the hotel level 6 & above,”
 of 5 bubbles 525DavidT, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles margw5, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5