We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

James Street Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
James Street Motor Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for James Street Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

We travel with 2 small dogs, they were allowed in the unit. One of two dog friendly rooms on site. Not allowed on beds or furniture, but allowed in room. Unit was clean and comfortable. We had trouble finding Motel - James st is the main highway from Goondiwindi to Brisbane . Plug in 2 Jennings st Toowoomba ( into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jennifer c
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We have stayed at James Street many times and we love it. The restaurant is sensational, anyone who leaves hungry is a skite. Quality meals, just like being at home. The rooms are very comfortable and roomy. Both my wife and I commented that it was like a home away from home. We also noted that there was a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard M
Troy C, Owner at James Street Motor Inn, responded to this review

thank you Bernard for taking the time to review our motel and the great comments are appreciated we hope to see you again when your next in Toowoomba

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Could not acess the fox sports channels as advertised I did ask at reception but could not be fixed. The restaurant on site is closed sat nite. The room was spacious but pillows lumpy. T he table was very wobbly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trisa R
Troy C, Owner at James Street Motor Inn, responded to this review

We did every thing possible to get that foxtel box working , including calling foxtel for business but they dont have that service on weekend which is when you were here . When the service was Austar we could have swapped boxes , the football you wanted to watch was on free to air as well .These channel boxes fail...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed over night as we needed some where to stay while we visited his parents in Toowoomba .We arrived at 9 that evening due to work commitments which was not a problem . On arrival there was a note from Troy the owner to ring if we needed anything , which we did - a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1shazz1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We booked James Street Motor Inn simply because it is within easy walking distance of my son's house. On this single criterion it excelled. I booked in advance by phone with a woman who said she would allocate us (me and my daughter) a room "down the side where it is quiet". Our room was large and clean, no problems....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyItinerant
Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Our Queen size room was very spacious and well set up. It had a queen bed and single bed plus 4 seater dining table, couch and 2 lounge chairs, TV and air conditioning. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was very quiet, even though it was on a major road and excellently located in the heart of Toowoomba,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 233joye
Chinchilla, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Rooms were spacious and comfortable and very reasonably priced We booked thus motel as it had a restaurant but Unfortunately restaurant was closed the night we were there but receptionist wad very helpful regarding takeaway food places goat delivered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annette581
tkkc, Owner at James Street Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Annette for your review of our motel , we are glad you enjoyed your stay .

Moranbah, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

The rooms were ok but there was a loud creaking noise in the room that would not stop. We had placed our breakfast order in the box prior to the time specified yet had to chase our order up the next morning. We then got given frozen bread with frozen margarine. We were on a tight time schedule so breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-Dave97
tkkc, Owner at James Street Motor Inn, responded to this review

Not sure about the creaking you mentioned , no other customer has heard this and we inspected the room after you left , you said it was mentioned as you were leaving and we would not do nothing about it , you were leaving i wonder what you expected us to do there and then . we dont freeze margarine...

Chinchilla, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The most important thing for me is friendly staff and clean rooms; this motel ticks both boxes. The rooms facing the road are quiet; not an expert but the windows must be double glazed and anyway soundproof.,, will be going back for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David V
Roma
Reviewed 12 January 2016

I was impressed with the room, and especially the fantastic customer service, they were very polite and they helpful in every way. The room was very clean and also very affordable. I would definitely recommend this to all my friends and family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninacW213AT

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#8 of 44 in Toowoomba
159 reviews
3.3 km away
Quality Hotel Platinum International
1.4 km away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#5 of 44 in Toowoomba
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Country Gardens Motor Inn
Country Gardens Motor Inn
#12 of 44 in Toowoomba
39 reviews
2.2 km away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Toowoomba
191 reviews
1.2 km away
Great Divide Motor Inn
Great Divide Motor Inn
#11 of 44 in Toowoomba
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located on the corners on James and Kitchener streets , opposite the Tourist information centre .Our motels has 30 large motel units , and all road facing units are double glazed .There is an onsite restaurant that opens Monday to Friday , with room service available for dinner and breakfast .There is a central pool area , the pool is heated by solar panels and lovely to swim in spring to end of summer .All rooms have queen beds , free wireless internet , 12 channel Austar , reverse cycle air-conditioning . ... more   less 

Additional Information about James Street Motor Inn

Address: 88 James St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Price Range: RM340 - RM505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — James Street Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your James Street Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Toowoomba
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toowoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from James Street Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles DATbh, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We usually request a larger room.”
 of 5 bubbles rosso281, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor unit but large gutter across the front of the rooms painted grey”
 of 5 bubbles trisar2016, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Just call them and book, great motel, great service and great people....”
 of 5 bubbles 263less, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
“I was in room 16 - it was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyB62, 21 Aug 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay