We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Batman Fawkner Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Batman Fawkner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 475: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I stayed in the backpackers section of this hostel and found it reasonably good. The room was small but clean and came with an ensuite bathroom. The reception staff were helpful and free (albeit slow) internet was provided. I was warned that there would be noise from the nightclub next door as it was Saturday night, however I didn't find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Matt G, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave this review, acknowledging our helpful team of reception staff. Having been built in 1822, with extensive renovations (that we know of!) in the 1900s, 1930s, early 2000s and again in 2014 our historic establishment has definitely undergone several changes which make for an interesting layout....

hong kong
Reviewed 26 July 2016

It is difficult to find good budget accommodation these days and the Batman Fawkner fits into this category. There are dormitory beds, or rooms that have ensuites for couple or families. We chose the later, and these rooms were clean, well equiped for the price and all were able to access the large kitchen area with cooking facilities and utensils....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank eirrab
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eirrab, Thank you for choosing to stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn and for taking the time to acknowledge our friendly and helpful reception team. We are pleased we can provide great value budget accommodation within central Launceston. For those who wish to book one of our shared or private dormitories, we are fortunate that we can offer en...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The night club is just down below to the hotel and open EVERY wed. Fri. Sat. We didn't even know that or been told until we can't REALLY ignore that noise and the shaking wall & floor and found out there's a club right below to us... Otherwise the building was so beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojol688
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jojol688, All guests are made aware of the music venue operating within the premises most Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights (with the exception of other nights) by the information provided to them prior to making a reservation and again after. It is your responsibility to read all information provided to you, before deciding to make a reservation with our...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I admit I am a bit of a snob and usually wouldn't stay at a place like this but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent especially as we needed to stay an additional two nights. The receptionist moved our rooms around and upgraded us (we had booked two rooms) and placed us on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happydays36516
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear HappyDays, Thank you for choosing to stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn. We are thrilled we could exceed your expectations for central budget accommodation, as we aim to do. We are pleased we could ensure you received a comfortable, clean and warm room. We hope to welcome you all in the future.

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived late and left early so didn't get to interact with the staff in person but they were lovely and helpful on the phone and late check in was an easy process. My room was very clean and well equipped, and the lovely old building has tonnes of character. The shower was especially delightful, nice big shower head with plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin_bree
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jasmin Bree, Thank you for your stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn. It is a shame we were unable to welcome you in person, however it was lovely to correspond with you on the phone. We are happy we could ensure you checked in fuss free, despite being after hours. We look forward to welcoming you again in the...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

nice clean comfortable room, close to the city centre, good price for an overnight stay. Parking can be problematic, only limited parking on site, street parking available out front, but is paid council parking. We we're there on a Sunday so it was free, but overall very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobCentralCoast
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you for your stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn. We're happy we could provide you with clean and comfortable accommodation within central Launceston. It's great that you could make the most of free Sunday parking on Cameron Street. Whilst we do only have limited free guest parking, other options include the two pay and display car parks...

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

On our arrival the staff where trying to get another guest to leave the premises and threatening to call the police. The room was freezing and uninviting. We turn the heater on and went to have dinner. On our return it was a lot better. Although we did get asked by the staff if we had read the website in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marianne D
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marianne D, Thank you for your stay. In regards to the incident that happened on the 5th of July, this was isolated and does not truly reflect the experience one should expect of the Batman Fawkner Inn. The person involved is not a guest of ours and was removed quickly, and appropriate action has been taken to ensure this...

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in a family suite. The shower taps and wash basin taps were leaking the whole night causing constant dripping noises! Toilets/shower was dirty. Room got damp smell and dusty. Positive points is the location and very helpful and polite British receptionist. Parking is an issue due to limited free parking on hotel site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony2k12
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tony2k12, Thank you for your stay, and for taking the time to compliment our helpful and polite receptionist. We're disappointed that you found your room to be of poor quality. We regularly employ professional plumbers and carpet cleaners to ensure that the issues listed do not arise for our guests. We also employ a professional team of housekeepers whose...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We were welcomed and allowed to check in early after arriving from the ferry. Top city location and good value for money. Building has plenty of character and history displayed on the walls. Nothing fancy but I would definitely recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duncanreid101
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Duncan, Thank you for your recent stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn and for taking the time to provide a recommendation of our hotel. We are pleased we could provide you with an early check in as we always strive to do so. When not possible, guests may leave their vehicle and our car park and their luggage in...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This hotel is situated right beside a club and well into the night, the music and noise just went ON & ON! We had to wake early the next day and was kept up by the noise. On top of that, when we were outside of the hotel at night, you can see all the clubbers heading to and fro...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank widdershint
BatmanFawknerInn, Front Office at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this review

Dear Widdershint, In regards to the Nightclub within the premises, all of our booking websites advise that this operates of a Wednesday, Friday and Saturday night with the exception of other nights. During hours of operation security guards patrol this car park. Nightclub patrons are not permitted to use the guest car park, as this is for Batman Fawkner Inn...

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Corporate King Room (27)
Viewed
Corporate Queen Room (26)
Viewed
Four Person Family Room (20)
Viewed
Queen Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Three Person Dorm (9)
Viewed
Three Person Family Room (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)
Viewed
Two Person Dorm (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 km away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#15 of 30 in Launceston
416 reviews
0.3 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.9 km away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#14 of 30 in Launceston
189 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Batman Fawkner Inn is a place full of history. This lovely historical building was built back in 1824 and was where a meeting was held which resulted in the settlement of Melbourne. The Batman Fawkner Inn boasts a range of 40 rooms including Family, King, Queen, Double, Twin, and Backpacker all with private in-room bathrooms. All rooms (excluding backpacker) have in-room Reverse cycle Air Conditioners, Digital TV, Tea/Coffee Making Facilities & Fridges. Backpacker rooms have in-room heating, ensuites bathrooms and are bunk style accommodation. Situated in the centre of Launceston's CBD, we are only 5 minutes from City Park, 10 minutes to Cataract Gorge/Tamar River and close to shopping centre's and malls. We are also only 10 minutes walk from Aurora Stadium, Tasmania's home of AFL Football. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations in 2014 with some major upgrades and we are proud to announce that we are under new management as of November 2014. We offer free Wi-Fi internet (limits apply and additional can be purchase) in all areas of the hotel which includes in all rooms. On-Site Laundry Facilities are also available. We have a large Common Room/Lounge which has a kitchen (Oven, Stove, Microwave, Fridge & Preparation Area), lounge & wide-screen TV, 8-Ball table, large dining table and vending machines. Management and Staff look forward to having you stay next time you visit Launceston. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Batman Fawkner Inn

Address: 35-39 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: RM147 - RM347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Batman Fawkner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Batman Fawkner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batman Fawkner Inn Launceston, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Batman Fawkner Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Whyalla, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Batman Fawkner Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two storeys - no rooms (as far as I'm aware) on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 519judyh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room near us where they were having a party with loud music. Not much you can do.”
  • View from window.
  • the shared 4 bed bunk room
  • 4 bed Bunkroom with separate bathroom ensuite
 of 5 bubbles SarinaT_12, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles northalaskachris, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Street rooms on a Friday and Saturday night are away from the nightclub so a bit quieter”
 of 5 bubbles happydays36516, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“'b' suite windows are closer to the nightclub. Probably the backpacker rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles abeiting, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay