We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hillview House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hillview House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of Hillview House
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was somewhat concerned about this booking given the reviews. However for the price and location it was all ok. Was met by a friendly young girl and she wasned o around also at breakfast. I only stayone night. The hall carpet appeared to be newish and the carpet in my room was also new/clean. On my departure day the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was an average stay. Not the best B&B experience. Positives Nice size room for the three of us staying in one room. Good location close to city centre and Cataract Gorge (if you are driving) Parking free on the nearby streets. Clean sheets and linen. Good continental breakfast. Negatives The bedhead was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
Invermay, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the accommodation in early January and must say that the property is very run down and in need of many safety issues, would not recommend anyone to stay here In the future as there are a lot more adequate places to stay in the Launceston area. Please stay well clear of this accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tastrav
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Due to a long drive we arrived at 8.15pm, the key was in the letterbox. When we got up in the morning and went to the dining room, the breakfast was all laid out. Still no one to greet us, breakfast was very basic. Our front room was very stuffy and the window had not been open for a while....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob B
Yrrawonga
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This is a very poor example of Tasmanian B&B's, lovely old property very poorly maintained. Although is a great location it offers little else. Their promotions states car parking is available, however there are only 3 very tight spaces for the 10 rooms. All in all a very disappointing experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion/Barry P
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Hillview House is a beautiful old building. I was able to book in early for convenience which was appreciated. Close to university and very pretty neighbourhood. A bit basic - would have appreciated a teabag to make a cuppa. TV in bad position.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Hillview House is billed as a bed and breakfast. My wife and l stayed for 3 nights. The location was great for walking around and taking in the sights of this beautiful city. As far as the room went, it was of adequate size for two adults. The bed was comfortable and room temperature was good. The size of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
Wynyard, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2016

For the price I expected a lot better really. Young lady booking us in very sweet and pleasant, but any further service was quite absent - we stayed three nights, room not made up, no new towels offered, no top up of tea/coffee sachets. Room was tired and need of a good clean - same went for bathroom -small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Sydney
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Hillview House ten years ago, have fond memories and we're hoping for a repeat experience. Unfortunately, since the change of ownership approximately twelve months ago, Hillview appears to have evolved into a type of Back Packers accommodation. The building looks the same from the outside, however inside tells a different story. A lovely girl checked us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stav V
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this review

Dear Stav First of all, thanks for your time to write this review. I appreciate your comment and feel sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. However, please allow us to explain. First of all, there seems to be a misunderstanding. We never sell any shampoo or body wash. On the contrary, we provide very good quality of...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We were very surprised by our marvellous stay here,Our room had the most comfortable king size bed,the room was very clean and well maintained,the owners made us feel very welcome.we only stayed 4 nights but wished we stayed 7 days,we recommend Hillview House to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank possumtan981

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 km away
Hi George
Hi George
#6 of 31 in Launceston
96 reviews
0.8 km away
The Mews Motel
The Mews Motel
#9 of 31 in Launceston
49 reviews
0.5 km away
Windmill Hill Lodge
Windmill Hill Lodge
#8 of 31 in Launceston
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
TRC Hotel
TRC Hotel
#21 of 31 in Launceston
24 reviews
1.0 km away
The Turret House
The Turret House
#15 of 31 in Launceston
7 reviews
1.0 km away
Kilmarnock House
Kilmarnock House
#14 of 31 in Launceston
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hillview House was originally built around the 1840's and extensively enlarged by Rev. W Law in the 1860's. It has now been sympathetically restored to provide a charming stay for your Tasmanian holiday. Hillview House offers supurb home cooked or continental breakfasts, served in our colonial dining room with sweeping views of Launceston and the Tamar Estuary.You will find a visit to Hillview House will leave you with fond memories of personal care and attention. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillview House

Address: 193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: RM353 - RM504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillview House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hillview House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a ground floor room. Steep steps up to the second level.”
 of 5 bubbles MelissaW41, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not use this property”
 of 5 bubbles marionbarryp, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the second floor. The room walls are thin, so any noise made, is shared throughout the floor.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffmY148NL, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor for best views”
 of 5 bubbles possumtan981, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed a ground floor room with a view, if you have a problem with stairs I would ask as the stairs were quite steep.”
  • View from the deck outside our room.
 of 5 bubbles W7857HSlindad, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5