We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,028 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,005: English reviews
Start your review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
 Click to rate
Wynyard
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Bathroom a OHS issue, due to a shower head being to big for the space and a tiled step surrounding it. a old shower curtain did not keep water in . maybe a different room would of been quieter with out some sort of fan outside.room was lovely and clean

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L5189ENjanea
Hobart
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was ok. Probably wouldn't go back. Beds hard, paintwork shabby. Could see bathrooms had been recently renovated - which was great Activities around the venue did not live up to expectations very expensive for what they were.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 608yvettes
Geelong
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was a pleasant stay. The room was clean and tidy, there was a good amount of space to spread out with table and chairs. It was a bonus having a hotel with its own restaurant. The staff were friendly and approachable. It is a central location easy walking distance to cafes and shops. The only negative being it wasn't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rowenad316
Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The only negative would be, the uneven steps leading up to our room, They could be quite dangerous if you were a little unsteady on your feet and had bad balance. Other that that, we had a good experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neeny64
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Neeny64 Thank you for your review and rating of the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. It is pleasing that you have had a good experience at our hotel, and we will take your comments on board regarding the steps. We look forward to having you back with us sometime in the future. StayWell Edith Kinninmont Acting General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which was clean and comfortable. Lots of stairs so not good for a disabled or elderly person. There is no oven only a hot plate. Close to Cataract Gorge! On the downside there was a lot of road noise. The Kings Bridge hotel near the reception had great food and service!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nijo01
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear jljo01 Thank you for your review of the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. We are pleased to hear you found our 2 bedroom Apartment clean and comfortable. We do have a couple of the apartments with full stove/oven, so please when you return to us, place a request with Reception. We do advertise our stairs, no lift and do our...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Out side of our room was an air-condition unit or something which was making a lot of noise this did not bother us to much, however it did distract from the overall. Even more so considering the coat of the room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigels332
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Nigels332 Thank you for your review of the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I have taken your comments on board and will be passing these onto our Maintenance department for inspection. We are pleased to hear that overall you did enjoy our hotel. We look forward to having you back with us in the future. Staywell Edith Kinninmont Acting General...

Valentine
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We always wanted to stay here just to check it out. Whilst our room was small it was big enough for the two of us for 2 nights and we were not disappointed. Great location for town and walks to Cateract Gorge and around the waterfront

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewcA1089IX
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear AndrewcA1089IX Thank you for your review and rating of the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. We are very pleased to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you were not disappointed with our Hotel. We hope to have you back with us in the future. StayWell Edith Kinninmont Acting General Manager

Sydney
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was disappointed from checkin ....not overly friendly ...youngish dark haired woman...other young woman serving another person seemed fine! Room issues....I told cleaners re issues and they jus were quick to pass the buck and say oh they are maintenance issues etc etc....nothing was done or passed on! They left dirty tissues on the bedroom floor after making bed! 🙄....bathroom floor...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sam D Thank you very much for your review of the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I would like it if you could contact me with further details, so I can investigate your comments with the relevant departments. I am very disappointed that you have not had a pleasant experience with us and would like to discuss this with you....

Avoca Beach, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location and friendly /helpful staff. The 1 bedroom apartment had good facilities, bathroom was in need of repair. The main problem is soundproofing. The flooring is not concrete, just floorboards. So you can hear people walk, talk and flush toilets. Maybe if we were on the first floor with no one above us it would have been better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly20
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Shelly20 Thank you for your review of the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. It is pleasing to hear that the apartments have good facilities but the noise is a problem. I will be passing on your comments to our Maintenance Department for investigation as to what can be done. We trust this will not deter you from visiting us in...

Randwick, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel has a wonderful heritage character that is well appointed. We were a party of four and we had a three bedroom apartment in the annex just a small distance away from the main hotel reception and restaurant. Plenty of off street parking. We did find it a little difficult to carry our bags up to the second story...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janis1246
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Janis1246 Thank you very much for your review and rating of the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please if staying with us in the future you require assistance with you luggage, let the Reception know and we will do our best to assist. We look forward to...

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.3 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
531 reviews
1.3 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,285 reviews
1.1 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: RM282 - RM528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are in the "older" age bracket make sure you are located on the ground floor.”
janis1246, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If elderly ask for a ground floor, all the stairs are a killer.”
, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from noise of street and Restaurant beside”
XyBarbara, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 234 under any circumstances.”
MadamJosephine, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This place is great for location to the gorge!”
Pata4, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5