We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Launceston Backpackers

1.2 km from Launceston centre
  • Free Parking
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Launceston Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We weren't informed when reserving our dorm bed about paying extra 3,5$ for linnen, wi-fi, luggage storage and we were put into an 8 instead of 6 bed dorm, a 10$ key deposit (still ok) and an extra fee for credit/debit card payments. Even contacting the manager after hours is charged for... Better management (know when to prioritise customers instead...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elien V
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Elien V. thank you for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. We agree with you that the credit card charges imposed by the banks are annoying. The credit card companies take anywhere from 1.9% to 2.6% of each credit card transaction which Launceston Backpackers processes. For ten years Launceston Backpackers did not charge extra for credit card transactions. Our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

This really big, barn style backpackers is clean and cosy. One of the cleanest and well kept hostels I have stayed in. The triple room was big with lots of space and the mattresses are comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle L
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Elle L we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Launceston Backpackers. Thanks for mentioning the cleanliness of the Backpackers, we do put a lot of work into keeping the place as clean and tidy as we can. Happy traveling.

vienna
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Very simple but nice rooms. We stayed in a double and for a hostel that was super spacious including 2 closets. Bathrooms were clean but wet (put your stuff in a plastic bag and hang it!). Towel AUD1 extra but defo worth it, WiFi AUD1 per hour but cheaper the longer you ask for (I paid AUD for 2hrs), worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psymaggs
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Psymaggs, we are glad you enjoyed the facilities at Launceston Backpackers. Thank you for taking time to post your review. Enjoy your Tasmanian tour.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Our primary requirement was low price, and this backpackers certainly delivered. We stayed in a room with two beds, and it was almost the same price as a larger, shared room. There was absolutely nothing to complain about the location or facilities. The beds and shower were fine. There was a large shared kitchen which we didn't use, instead finding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Peter, thanks for your review. We are glad you liked our low prices. Peter you were in a twin room. There is actually two power points just at the end of each bed. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. All the best.

HKG
Reviewed 6 November 2015

I just stayed in Launceston Backpackers for one night, but I was impressed. The reception staff was indeed very nice to offer me 2 blankets due to afraid of cold during the night. I was staying in a female dorm for 4, but I found that the room was quite spacious and clean, furthermore, the kitchen, washroom and sitting area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendy M
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Kendy, thank you for taking time to post your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have kept bringing down the cost of WiFi as Telstra offer us better packages. Recently Telstra gave us an additional monthly access to the internet so we were again able to bring the price down to $1 per hour.

Tasmania
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This is the second time that we have hired out the entire Launceston Backpackers for the overnight accommodation for our youth conference attendees. Both times we have been really pleased with the service provided. The location is great, room layout is good (separating ages/gender etc) and the kitchen and other communal spaces are really good. We have also been able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannaclare1001
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello joannaclare, we really appreciate your review. Thank you for posting your kind words about the way we work to help our group bookings have an enjoyable stay.

George Town, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Launceston backpackers is in a great location with good price rooms for where it is located....... The staff are really friendly and the amenities are in good condition........ Also is only a few blocks from Launceston CBD..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spinksy7
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Spinksy7, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I took a friend from Hongkong to stay here yesterday 25/8.15 and was pleasantly surprised at the interior. Derek the front office Manager was very nice when called in to check her in and I had a good look around. All was exceptionally clean and tidy. My friend booked a single room for $55 for two nights prior to moving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pademelonsammie
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Pademelonsammie, thank you for your review. We apologize that your friend's food was taken, we have a lot of people staying at the Backpackers and the fridges are communal. The person you mentioned with the motor bike helmet was a fantastic young 19 year old just starting out on his first trip around Australia. You mentioned the heating in...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

My husband and I had a private room which was very large. Plenty of rooms, single beds, cupboard space and a good sized window for natural light. There was an issue with the hot water during our stay, and like other reviews we too found the room cold along with the venue itself. (the heater in our room did come...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CestLeVie
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello CestLeVie, thank you for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. We apologize for the slightly late reopening time. The staff member came in early then went off to pick up their child from school. You mentioned the hot water in your room, this is caused by people adjusting the pressure on the taps. We are still looking into getting...

Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

Clean kitchen with plenty of utensils/appliances, spacious basic rooms and a warm living room area. Owner was very friendly and offered a variety of deals for a longer term stay! I had a private two bed room to myself for the duration of the stay, which was spacious in size and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were communal and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShannonMcNamara
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Shannon, thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Good luck with the rest of your studies.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#15 of 30 in Launceston
511 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#5 of 30 in Launceston
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.0 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
461 reviews
0.4 km away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: RM86 - RM202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“En-suite room”
 of 5 bubbles Steph618, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms are cooler in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffAH, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Make sure they put you in a room you paid for :)”
 of 5 bubbles 652elienv, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“For privacey and a peaceful nights sleep, reserve a private room which comes with a queen size bed. Some of the private rooms even have en-suites. These rooms are a bit more expensive, but worth the price. They book up fast, so reseve early.”
 of 5 bubbles nmleo, 24 May 2015 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere for a double.”
 of 5 bubbles 542bretta, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5