We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
59 Main St, Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$80
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (2)

About

#4 of 13 hotels in Bairnsdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mitchell River Tavern has 11 clean and comfortable guestrooms in Bairnsdale, Victoria. Located centrally in Bairnsdale, like our name suggests, by the beautiful Mitchell River. With supermarkets, cafes and Bairnsdale train station a stones throw away, Mitchell River Tavern provides comfortable and convenient accommodation for guests. Modestly styled with practicality in mind, our 11 guest rooms are configured with budget, double, queen and family options. Each room is fitted with bed side tables, tea & coffee making facilities, bar fridge, air-conditioning, TV and fresh linen and towels. Guests can enjoy the convenience of complimentary WiFi and on-site parking. The Mitchell River Tavern is equipped with a TAB, gaming room, bottle-shop and bistro with outdoor seating available. With an exciting new menu, the Mitchell River Tavern Bistro proudly serves up traditional pub-style meals with alternatives from around the world. The Mitchell River Tavern offers the perfect location base to explore the breathtaking Gippsland lakes, take a camping trip or treat yourself with some artisanal food and wine. With a variety of restaurants, breweries and wineries a short drive from town, spending a day amongst the vineyards is beautifully unique and somewhat indulgent way to explore Bairnsdale surroundings. During the Summertime, orchards and berry farms allow visitors to pick their own fruit - a great way to get the kids outdoors and encourage some healthy eating! Come and see what Bairnsdale has to offer while our friendly staff make you feel at home at The Mitchell River Tavern!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
182Reviews0Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 71
  • 11
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Stewart wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
This was my first time staying at the Mitchell River Tavern and it's fair to say my expectations were exceeded. Room was clean and very comfortable. Down stairs was the bistro where I chose to eat each night. Service was friendly and efficient and the meals worth going back for. Over all this was an excellent place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joy R wrote a review May 2021
Melbourne, Australia19 contributions3 helpful votes
Great place to break up our trip and visit friends. The room is a good size with high ceilings. Very clean and comfortable. Having a restaurant downstairs, made things easy and allowed us to enjoy a wine without worrying about who will drive. Restaurant meal was also of high standard. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Meredith A wrote a review May 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Very clean and comfortable room. Lovely meal in dining room. Good location. Only concern was all accommodation was upstairs which wasn't advised until booking was confirmed. However staff very helpful and cheerfully helped with getting luggage upstairs and back down when I was leaving. WiFi good. Reasonably priced. Would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jennifer J wrote a review Apr 2021
Melbourne, Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
Travelling with 2 children the main room with a small adjoining twin room was perfect. All facilities up to date and super clean. Great in-house restaurant with lovely friendly staff was all we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bd415 wrote a review Mar 2021
Portarlington6 contributions11 helpful votes
Exceptionally clean room and amenities, excellent meal in onsite restaurant. Lovely old pub that has been refurbished both in restaurant downstairs and accommodation area upstairs. No lift access so must be able to tackle stairs to get to accommodation. Onsite undercover parking at rear, helpful staff with good local knowledge.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We had east facing room towards front of hotel - very spacious.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
greg f wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
We stayed for three nights last week, all the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed and the food in the bistro was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Helen K wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia22 contributions6 helpful votes
We needed budget comfortable accommodation in Bairnsdale after long car trips for two nights. Lovely spacious queen room, quiet, clean, comfortable , under cover parking. Would recommend. Easy access to main roads but close to beautiful countryside.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita Hodder, Owner at Mitchell River Tavern
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Hi Helen, Thank you for your review and comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
687darrenw wrote a review Jan 2020
Glen Iris14 contributions
Very comfortable, clean, great location very central and great meal for dinner. Car parking is off street in their underground parking. Have stayed here once before and it is still good value without the high price tag!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita H, Manager at Mitchell River Tavern
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Hi, Thank you for your excellent review and comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meal. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Anita Hodder
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Compass798658 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Room was comfortable and spacious, but the room was extremely noisey. Even with bathroom door shut, it sounded like I was trying too sleep with all windows open, and noise from main road and petrol station next door, meant no chance of sleeping past 6.30am. Meals and service in restaurant was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita H, Manager at Mitchell River Tavern
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Hi, Sorry to hear that about the noise. We do have rooms that don't face the service station and may be a little quieter. I am happy that you enjoyed your meal. Kind Regards, Anita Hodder
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen D wrote a review Nov 2019
Canberra, Australia60 contributions35 helpful votes
We had room 2 which was a large queen room with good size bathroom. Great room, although at night we had to keep the bathroom door closed to reduce the noise from outside. Carrying luggage up the narrow steep stairs from the rear car park can be avoided by temporarily parking on the road at the front and using the front stair well. Our dinner and the service on the ground floor was faultless.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita H, Manager at Mitchell River Tavern
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Hi, Thank you for your review and comments. Yes the best access to the rooms with luggage is via the main entrance on the Main Street. However are staff are only to happy to assist with getting luggage up to the rooms. Glad you enjoyed the meal and service. Kind Regards, Anita Hodder
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGippslandBairnsdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MITCHELL RIVER TAVERN: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 62 Photos (Bairnsdale, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mitchell River Tavern
Which popular attractions are close to Mitchell River Tavern?
Nearby attractions include East Gippsland All Abilities Playground (0.1 km), East Gippsland Art Gallery (0.3 km), and Seven Sundays (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mitchell River Tavern?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mitchell River Tavern?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mitchell River Tavern?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mitchell River Tavern?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mitchell River Tavern?
Conveniently located restaurants include Earth & Soul Pizza, Mitchell River Tavern, and Oz Mex Mexican Restaurant.