We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Barkly Motorlodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Barkly Motorlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights...room basic but had everything we needed, beds very comfortable and layout perfect for family with single beds and double bed separated by bathroom. Only complaint was our room was next to the fire exit up stairs which guests used to come and go at all hours of the night.... and the door made a very loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived at the motel and received our keys. Walked into the room and found it too look quite nice for what we paid. Had a look around the room and then saw how filthy it actually was. Hairs and dust everywhere in the spa bath, sheets with stains with I don't know what. Half eaten mouldy donut and half eaten...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The rooms We had was small, dark and had a lot of road noise as it was on a corner. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Wifi was free and had good connection. Close to town and Sovereign Hill. Had dinner in the restaurant. It is not value for money at all but the staff are friendly. Would we stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee2856
Colac
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Chose this venue for a reunion get-together. The standard room is just that, standard but clean and serviceable. Was not impressed at being woken up at 7am Sunday morning by a very noisy shower next door. On the plus side staff were very friendly and dinner in the restaurant was very enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FledgeColac
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2016

So we are a family heading to Ballarat and we need a simple place to sleep and shower which is well located, clean and offers secure parking. That's what we needed and that is what we got and more. Fair to say we enjoyed our brief stay. This property represents true value for money and we couldn't be happier with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveAussie
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Met us with good friends who took us to this establishment. The venue is 1st class - nice and quiet. The menu was extensive. The staff were pleasant and efficient Our meals were good without reaching a high standard. Over a pleasant experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
Seymour, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Very clean room , but just make sure you check bottles of Wine , one in our room was opened and had a glass or two drank from it , Rang down and told them , thank goodness for wanting a cuppa or wouldn't have noticed , Could happen at Any place you stay . Thanks Barkley Bed Comfy as

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ouchiexxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Room service was great, same price as if you ate downstairs and was quick service. Room was clean and out of the 5 different places I have stayed over my holiday this was the only place to have a clean exhaust fan in the bathroom. The heating worked great and was lovely warm considering how cold and wet it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shellby21
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 May 2016

A good, central location on the Melbourne side of the Ballarat CBD. Friendly staff, quiet surroundings. large room with comfortable bed. But, very poor TV reception - every channel proved difficult to watch even after we re-programmed the channels. Overall, a pleasant experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
BarklyML, Owner at Barkly Motorlodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. Our tech found the faulty piece of equipment that was effecting the TV signal and replacement part is on the way. It didn't handle the wild weather we had earlier in the week very well.

London
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised by this motel. We were located in the main building in a triple room, with a double and two singles. The singles were partitioned off from the main room which was great for us. Rooms were clean with a good shower and located close to the twin centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walkingape

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Bakery Hill Motel
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Comfort Inn Main Lead
#27 of 32 in Ballarat
81 reviews
0.2 km away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
6.5 km away
Bell Tower Inn
Bell Tower Inn
#19 of 32 in Ballarat
124 reviews
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Barkly Motorlodge

Address: 43 Main Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Ballarat)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range: RM408 - RM559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barkly Motorlodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Barkly Motorlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barkly Motorlodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Standard rooms are basic. Probably try a spa room.”
 of 5 bubbles FledgeColac, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“if little kids request ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles donnak535, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Fairly confusing room layout. Some accessible from a separate external entry and some were in a separate building. As it was cool and rainy we got damp trying to find the door indicated at reception until we went back and found our room up the stairs near reception.”
 of 5 bubbles 454angelaa, 26 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the western side are quieter. Have a good gps because the road sign posts are a little on the poor side.”
 of 5 bubbles Sincloyd1, 14 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Get a room away from the intersection”
 of 5 bubbles Kris931, 31 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay