We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Geelong

Hotwire.comUS$91*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$102*
US$91*
Great Deal
US$101*
US$101*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Geelong
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,237: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Geelong
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Compared to many other Rydges hotels I've stayed at, this would have to be one of the oldest and in the worst condition.I know it was previously a Mecure hotel, but they need to update it! The hotel lifts and decor are all extremely out of date and worn. Which I didn't expect for the price I paid for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelAxP
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here because of its location, the staff are friendly and very helpful, but for a branded hotel it was disappointing, not everything worked in the room and our reservation was lost, so not a great start to the weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stevepomontour
Rosswyn_Menezes, Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review

Hi stevepomontour, Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review! I am happy to hear your stay was good, but marred by starting your welcome and stay to the hotel with first a lost reservation then items not working in the room is disappointing. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Confusion at booking in, as I was attending a conference the next day, about which the staff member was ignorant. Plug for bathroom basin did not work, bedside table lamp did not work. Lunches served for conference almost inedible, sandwiches were stale. Exiting the carpark when booking out early in the morning was problematic, three separate cards did not work,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kym K
Rosswyn_Menezes, Front Office Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review

Hi Kym K, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Rydges Geelong. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We strive to provide a superior service experience; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Well located and reasonably priced hotel. Not the most modern however rooms are comfortable. Friendly staff. A short walk to local restaurants. Breakfast buffet is not extensive and lacked sufficient utensils for service imo. That said, what they had was fresh and tasty. If your rate does not include breakfast. I'd suggest you find a local cafe and keep your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Rosswyn_Menezes, Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are all happy that you had a wonderful stay! I will pass on your kind words to the staff. Kind Regards, Robyn O'Brien Night Manager

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Rydges (Mercure when I booked) a couple of weeks ago. On my last night there was a power cut. We were told power would be off for 3 hours but it was off all night. Next morning still no power, we found all fire doors had been wedged open with towels. I have given my concerns to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hfw2017
Rosswyn_Menezes, Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review

Dear hfw2017, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve and have already implemented additional procedures for just this incident. Unfortunately the power was not able to be turned back on as it did more damage then...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly staff, great views from top floor. Not busy when we were there, had a problem which was sorted professionally. Great location as walking distance to shopping and restaurants. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BettyM16
Rosswyn_Menezes, Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review

Hello BettyM16 Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Rydges Geelong! We are always so happy to receive feedback! It's great to hear that the hotel meet all of your needs throughout your stay. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the front office team in regards to your smooth...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great room! Not the best view outside but the bathroom was so great! Could of spent all day in that very clean bathroom! Tried to check in early but sadly not available, room was very large and the bed was very comfy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
Garry M, Hotel Duty Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Thank you kindly for your 5 star review of your recent stay with our hotel. I will make a note on your profile to ensure on your next visit we do our very best to have a room on high level with a view ready early for you as I am pleased to hear that you liked the...

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a family room for one night. Check in was smooth and staff very helpful. Parking can not be pre booked and seems a bit dear for what it is. Room was big with a queen and two single beds. Still plenty of room left so would be nice to have had a table and chairs to sit at and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
Rosswyn_Menezes, Garry Manchanda, Duty Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review

Dear Steven M, Thank you for the review, feedback such as this allows us to have a more thorough understanding of our guests needs. I would like to highlight after the recent re-branding of the hotel that we have already started re- doing our rooms, in saying this, we do appreciate that there is more work to be done on...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed overnight and were greeted well by a friendly reception staff member. The hotel is quite old and perhaps in need of an upgrade however, it served our purpose and this was reflected in the price that we paid. It is centrally located and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherylandgarry
Hayley_Carson, Duty Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review sherylandgarry! We are all so thrilled that you had a wonderful stay! Rydges Geelong is in the process of making some changes to the hotel so we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see how far we've come! I will pass on your...

Nuriootpa, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are large, the bed was comfortable. The TV kept cutting in and out. I got up during the night and stepped on a huge cockroach in the bathroom. Was a bit surprised to have to pay for a latte for breakfast was told after i complained that there was percolated coffee which was free, they did credit the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
Rosswyn_Menezes, Front Office Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review

Hi Denise M, Greetings!! Thank you for your review and apologies about the insect in the room. We do a thorough check of the rooms when we clean but we seem to have missed it. My sincere apologies about it. I spoke to you at the desk about the coffees and removed it from your account. We offer percolated coffee...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
712 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
2.2 km away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
0.4 km away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
1.5 km away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#4 of 17 in Geelong
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 138 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Geelong

Address: Gheringhap St & Myers St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Mercure Geelong)
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Price Range: RM403 - RM709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Geelong staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
Perth, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Geelong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for high floors for privacy and ask not to be near the elevators.”
StevenM445, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request higher floors with a view over the city”
JackB66, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We got a room no worries. Good lifts to rooms. Quite everywhere. Aircon ok. Showers hot and very clean. Excellent.”
716madi, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room had a view out of the front of the hotel so not bad.”
953PatriciaA, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front have views of the bay”
suzy2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$101
Hotels.comUS$101
PricelineUS$102
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates