We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Barkly

View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Barkly
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 45: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Barkly
 Click to rate
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Cane here for comedy festival shows, so thought we'd grab a meal snd boy are we glad we did. $15 parma and pot can't be beaten (could swap the pot for a wine ) . Hubby and friend had the burger and they were impressed. A good Aussie burger with beetroot. Parma was proper chicken and decent size covered in...

Thank Karen B
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, was walking distance to everything we needed! We booked the studio room and we were surprised with how spacious the room was, we will definitely be back and recommending to friends 👍🏻

Thank TayTay2294
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Restaurant,great food at reasonable prices.The steak at $15 exceptional value.My partner had the smoked hamburger served on a black roll,really different taste and will be going back again to have this burger all to myself.Friendly staff and a nice atmospheri. Unusual couch made out of footballs stitched together .Photo atttatched of Steak meal ,Black roll smoked hamberger

2Thank Yackie
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Spent most of my hostel time in Melbourne in this hostel. Very friendly and helpful staff, good value for money. The bathrooms are nice too. The mattresses are horrible - they've got a sort of plastic covering which squeaks every time you move, but aside from that, no issues at all! When I stayed last week, the pub underneath was...

Thank emmawerthers
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I didn't stay here I mainly attended the downstairs entertainment room known as the Bar and Restaurant. Upon entering I naturally grabbed my wallet as the place looked like the hotels the underworld criminals of Melbourne would hang out in doing their shady business. As the night wore on and the flowed I relaxed my death grip on my wallet...

Thank TonyL576
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Bar sitting under a backpackers but don't let that fool you. Go in and look at the specials above the bar if you want a good feed. Good selection of beers, pool tables and live sport. Try the $10 burgers you will not be disappointed.

Thank John K
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This was just by chance as accommodation was very tight that weekend but we were pleasantly surprised our room was huge very clean lge bathroom we had booked other accomm for the next few nights but wish we had just stayed there everybody so friendly nothing too much trouble also the bar happy hr from 4.00 you won,t believe the...

Thank Sharryn M
St Kilda B, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - we're so glad you enjoyed our public bar menu and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 9 March 2016

The room was just like the picture. Big, clean and silent. The bathroom was also big and clean. People were friendly. I didn´t take breakfast so can´t say nothing about it. So bad it was not alowed to go to the balcony. Such a beautiful view!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thaisa f
St Kilda B, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for reviewing us! Yes it's a shame we can't use the balconies but unfortunately it is due to council regulation. Thanks again, Happy travels.

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Pleasant enough , but lack of areas to hang up clothing , there's was also besides the bed no sitting area and no desk and soap In bathroom was an ordinary scent , hallways were very seedy looking , the area was very ghetto and not to appealing , I find It funny that the price was higher on a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shannon B
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi Shannon, Apologies for your disappointing stay - it does state on all of our booking sites and our confirmations that we are an entertainment venue with elevated noise levels over the weekends. Unfortunately our standard double rooms do not come with a desk or dining area, however our Studio and Twin rooms do. Thanks for taking the time to...

Reviewed 20 November 2015

We were VERY ANNOYED that we couldn't access our balcony! There was a sign on the sliding doors saying we could not access the balcony!!!! So imagine our surprise and frustration when we saw the people next to us on their balcony! They told us there was no sign forbidding them to access! Very very annoyed at BARKLY hotel!!! One...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heideey
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi there, I apologise for your disappointment, however it does state on our website, all booking sites and on your hotel confirmation that hotel balconies are unable to be accessed due to council regulation. As we have many residential neighbours, we are prohibited to open balcony doors at council request. We do apologise for the inconvenience.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (6)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (12)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Bathroom (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
241 reviews
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
269 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Barkly offers an eclectic mix of function spaces and rooftop events with neighbouring modern accommodation for your lively night in St Kilda. All of our private rooms contain their own television, tea and coffee making facilities and refrigerator as well as an ensuite complete with walk in shower or bath. With our locals bar located on ground floor, we offer classic pub meals, sports on screen and live music throughout the week. Weekly events including stand-up comedy and poker night are open to the public with classic pizzas, tasty snacks and main meals available until late to keep you satisfied. Our 'Next Level' Rooftop and deck is open for functions and events and is located just above our hotel level. It's a perfect place to catch up with friends, enjoy a popular house cocktail on our sun soaked deck and dance till late with our resident DJ's. Please note that we are a busy licensed entertainment venue and guests will experience elevated noise levels during weekends and public holiday eves. Please note: We are a busy licensed entertainment venue and our Rooftop Bar and function space will be open throughout weekends and public holidays - elevated noise levels are to be expected. Balconies cannot be accessed due to council regulation. Photo Identification and credit card information is required for bookings. Availability enquiries are essential. Prices are subject to change during peak periods. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Barkly

Address: 109 Barkly St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: RM67 - RM410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barkly 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Barkly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Barkly St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Barkly staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Launceston, Australia
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Barkly staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good counter meals”
johnkM1307YV, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“studio for one ”
856thaisaf, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“somewhere to at least hang your clothes , somewhere to at least sit besides the bed .”
U6490RIshannonb, 30 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Nice bathroom”
Heideey, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Spend a bit extra and get a room that isn't shared. It will give you peace of mind.”
KittyBean, 22 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
US$27* /night
View Deal
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates