We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,173: English reviews
North Perth
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Cosmo is the best place to stay in Melbourne. Close to transport and fantastic restaurants. The FREE parking is an excellent bonus. The hotel is very comfortable and for the most part, quiet. We would highly recommend it to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmr747
CosmopolitanMgt, Reservations Coordinator at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Hi gmr747, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our complementary parking is a firm favourite with our guest when staying with us here in the hotel. Located in the heart of St Kilda means that our guests are close to both St Kilda and all it has to offer and only a short tram ride...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy check in and check out, great location could walk to everything we wanted to do. Perfect for a couple of night and a great price. Hotel room was simple, large and very clean. There is a great cafe just across the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeRW1
CosmopolitanMgt, Reservations Coordinator at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Hi HeRW1, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Thank you for highlighting the ease of the check in and check out process here at the hotel. We do our best to ensure that this process runs as smoothly and easily as possible. I will ensure that housekeeping hear your praise of our lovely clean rooms....

Seaford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay had terrace room very quiet and clean staff were wonderful and service great free car park and free wifi we will be staying again and already recommended your hotel can walk to events and restaurants thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G6593MXdenises
CosmopolitanMgt, Reservations Co-ordinator at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Hi Denise, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our location in the heart of St Kilda lets our guests experience all that St Kilda has to offer. Thank you for highlighting our friendly team and clean, quiet rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel on your next visit to St Kilda....

Leichharot
Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing about this hotel is that Acland st st Kilda is just around the corner. The worst thing is that some off the pricey rooms are actually like motel rooms with entrance off the carpark...The breakfast cafe is great value but not open on weekends!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelacO9130YR
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear angelacO9130YR, Thank you for writing us a review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast in our Chalk Cafe. We have many different room types to cater for all of our guests different needs and budgets. May I suggest one of our Deluxe rooms for your next stay with us. Our...

Echuca
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was perfect, the venue was within 100 mtrs from the hotel, the staff were very friendly and the accomodation was great also having peace of mind the car parking was closed of from the street after hours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Alastair M, Thanks for writing us a review. I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our amazing location in the heart of St Kidla, coupled with our on-site secure car parking makes us the perfect base to explore from. Thank you for highlighting our friendly team. We are lucky to have such a...

Melbourne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a an ok place to stay very close to Luna Park and the Palais Theatre, we had an deluxe balcony room .. not sure what they meant by deluxe it was really pretty basic but a good room for a smoker as access to the balacony

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterlB8878BL
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear peterlB8878BL, Thank you for writing us a review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Deluxe Terrace rooms. These rooms are perfect for the traveller looking for comfort with the addition of a terrace to enjoy. May I suggest one of our Terrace Apartments for your next stay with us. They...

Mornington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room good but noisy early in morning. Quote for room was wrong charged extra for gst and credit card not advised before when asked told that is price having to wait 45 min after check in time poor why not another room that was ready that is poor service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rayjW9015TX
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear rayjW9015TX, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our check in time is from 3pm as you have an extra sleep-in in the morning with an 11am check out time. I am sorry that your room was not ready when you arrived earlier. Your comment of being charged extra for GST has confused me as...

St Helena
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice little hotel in a great location. The breakfast in the cafe had everything with eggs cooked to order. We stayed there because we were going to an event at the Palais -about a 5 minute walk to the venue and the Acland St strip for cafes, restaurants and shopping. The free onsite parking was an added...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnem232
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear lynnem232, Thank you for writing us a review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved your breakfast in our Chalk cafe! Our amazing location paired with our complimentary on-site car parking, makes us the perfect base to explore all that St Kilda is famous for! We look forward to welcoming you back to...

Perth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at The Cosmopolitan. The room was spacious and comfortable.The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was close to everything and the on site parking was a plus. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendygE2197AP
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear wendygE2197AP, Thanks for writing us a review. It's great to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be spacious and comfortable. Our fantastic location paired with our on-site secure car parking makes us the perfect base to explore all that this great place has to offer. I look forward to welcoming you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay at the Cosmo every time we visit Melbourne. Great value, service & rooms. The beds are really comfortable and the off street car parking makes the stay much easier. We've even booked the apartments when we've been back with the teenage kids - they loved it too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adammU233FX
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear adammU233FX, Thank you for writing us a review. It's great to see that you enjoy staying with us and have made us your home away from home when travelling to Melbourne! Our complimentary on-site secure car parking, paired with our incredible location makes us the perfect place to stay! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cosmopolitan...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Deluxe Terrace Room (22)
Viewed
One Bedroom Studio (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Studio (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.5 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
367 reviews
0.9 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.5 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
201 reviews
0.8 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Kilda
220 reviews
0.7 km away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of trendy St Kilda on the doorstep of Luna Park, The Esplanade, St Kilda Arts Markets, St Kilda Beach and Melbourne's finest restaurants and shops, the Cosmopolitan Hotel stands out with its boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. This landmark icon immaculately redesigned with the latest luxury amenities and variety of accommodations to suit all needs, will assure an unforgettable and truly authentic Melbourne experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: RM350 - RM824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8Hotels St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Remember to ask for a room on the quieter side of building!”
 of 5 bubbles 631bron, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Would try and stay in a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles petemE6449QO, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms not facing the road.”
 of 5 bubbles ermasyafiqah, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask room to be away from tram line road”
 of 5 bubbles suzwes67, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go the deluxe for the king size bed and bigger room. Also ask for a room not facing tge street.”
 of 5 bubbles 30bruced, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay