We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Boranup Forest Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Boranup Forest Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This place is a lovely retreat in Boranup Forrest so you are surrounded by the bush and the kangaroos come to pay you a visit. The slow combustion fire is great and the furniture is stunning. The breakfast and champagne in the fridge is a welcome treat. I would definitely recommend this place for a couple of days at least....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2013shak
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Sheila was very helpful and easy to contact from before we even made our booking. The breakfast provided is very basic but fine. The chalets are probably a 15 minute drive from the main town in Margaret River. We stayed here in winter and it was perfect with the fire (which they offer to provide for $15). The only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amelia199
Sheila P, Owner at Boranup Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Amelia I really appreciate you taking the time to post a comment and give us feedback, Thank you! Thanks also for your most positive comments. I am so sorry the cleanliness let us down on this occasion. How horrible to find hair in the shower, not to mention bugs. Overall, comments on our cleanliness are very positive and Marg,...

Reviewed 20 June 2016

Sheila has been most amazing in responding to my countless emails ever since i booked the lodge 8 months prior to check-in with a great price! We are a group of 8children and 9adults family group with age 4 all the way to 73. The directions and information provided were valuable. We were not lost at all and was happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blurqu33n
Sheila P, Owner at Boranup Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Hello again Helena Thank you so much for your extensive and great feedback. Sometimes, one just gets a great feeling about guests and you were one of those who seemed so lovely, it made me feel I really did want to go to special lengths to make your stay special, especially coming from Singapore with such a large group. Glad...

UK
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I booked Boranup Lodge at very short notice after our original plans fell through. We were quite disappointed when we arrived as this is definitely not luxury accommodation. It was probably intended as such, but the 5 bedrooms are stuffed full of beds, so it feels more like a bunkhouse. One room has a private shower so, if the house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isandina
Sheila P, Owner at Boranup Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Matthew I am so sorry you felt this way but they say, "Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder". Most people say Boranup Lodge is "amazing" and some guests have booked 13 times, another group who run a very successful business, have spent New Year with their extended family FIVE times so I assume that we get it...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Awesome.. Very peaceful gorgeous chalets with everything you need, and the location is perfect if you want to look around Margaret River or Augusta plus numerous winery's. Owners very caring (called to alert us about a bush fire and an alternate route)and only a phone call away if needed. Best of all in my opinion peace and tranquility of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magie H
Sheila P, Owner at Boranup Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Hello again Magie I am so sorry that I missed your lovely comments, thank you so much! Our mission is - "To create a unique, memorable experience, with exceptional personal service, that will be remembered for years to come!" It is always lovely to hear we met our goal, thank you! It was a pleasure talking to you and we...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We found the deal on Groupon for a 2 night stay in Boranup Forest Retreat and it was amazing. The place was spacious, plates and utensils clean, bed was cozy, and we loved using the fireplace. It was nice and quiet and it gave us a lot of privacy. The spa was nice, we enjoyed the spa while drinking one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin K
Sheila P, Owner at Boranup Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Erin Sorry I missed this while we were busy with the launch of our Disc Golf. Thank you for taking time to write a review and your lovely comments. I am so glad you liked our chalets and you found Terry, our caretaker helpful. We look forward to helping you have a lovely stay again. Warm regards Sheila

Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Had 3 nights in Kookaburra chalet, purchased on a deal site. Would have been disappointed to have paid full price. Luxurious, no, more like comfy slipper than glass shoe. On arrival, there is no signage indicating which chalet is which although instructions we had been sent said the first cottage. There is a wheelie bin right by the front door,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev M
Sheila P, Owner at Boranup Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Bev Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Constructive feedback is always helpful. You are right! Despite me checking kitchen cupboards quite often, somehow I missed that some of the utensils had drifted to Blue Wren cottage. I think this was also missed as we had new caretakers. An itinerary should fix this. We have...

Reviewed 3 August 2015

Have written to the owner and attach photos below of some of the issues with the Blue Wren. 1. Mouse droppings on the stove and bench (see photo) doesn't looked to have been cleaned from the last visitors there is still a film of grease on the stove 2. Spa bath not cleaned 3. Mould in the spa room(sugar soap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Sheila P, Owner at Boranup Forest Retreat, responded to this review

It is always concerning when one receives an email form guests to say that they have been unhappy with their stay. Unfortunately, every business once in a while has staff issues. Our new caretaker has proven to be quite unsatisfactory and has not performed his duties as he should and is now being replaced by someone who will be more...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We recently stayed in the Kookaburra Chalet for 2 nights a week and a half ago and absolutely loved it! The property was stunning and the surroundings made the stay extremely peaceful and relaxing. The chalet had everything we needed to make our stay special and the spa and the fire were amazing, perfect for a winter's evening! Massive thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erina E
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in the lodge for the last 2 nights of our WA trip before flying back to England . It was absolutely amazing and we couldn't fault anything . It was so lovely to get away from everything and the lodge is such a lovely place . Everything was clean and we had everything we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 372Savannah
Sheila P, Owner at Boranup Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Hello there! I assume this is Isabelle who stayed in our Kookaburra chalet last week! Thank you for taking the time when you have just arrived back in the UK to post a comment! It is always encouraging to have great feedback and I am so pleased that we were able to make your last few days in OZ special....

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
26.2 km away
Edge of the Forest
Edge of the Forest
#3 of 10 in Margaret River
371 reviews
26.3 km away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#2 of 52 in Margaret River
158 reviews
49.7 km away
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
#18 of 52 in Margaret River
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.0 km away
Forest Rise Eco Retreat
Forest Rise Eco Retreat
#7 of 52 in Margaret River
96 reviews
12.1 km away
Harmony Forest
Harmony Forest
#31 of 52 in Margaret River
60 reviews
27.4 km away
Waterfall Cottages
Waterfall Cottages
#41 of 52 in Margaret River
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Boranup Forest Retreat

Address: Sebbes Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Price Range: RM697 - RM1,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boranup Forest Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Boranup Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Boranup Forest Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No air con for the summer months”
 of 5 bubbles 2013shak, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Will not return”
  • Spa room mould
  • Spa room mould
  • Spa room mould
  • Gaps in front door..very cold air in
  • Queen bed (not king)
  • Light bulbs missing
  • Unclean spa bath
 of 5 bubbles N1702DEmelissam, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Cannot fault the chalet at all.”
 of 5 bubbles TechnoBuffs, 14 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Kookaburra was perfectly located, no other guests to be seen. Lots of birds”
 of 5 bubbles Music5120, 21 Feb 2013 | Read review
“The master bedroom will be the warmest with the fireplace downstairs on. It might however start to smell a bit smokey.”
 of 5 bubbles Gerald0215, 18 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay