We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Margaret River Backpackers YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Pommelsbrunn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

+Close to the city +Staff is always friendly and helpful +Big and we'll equipped kitchen +Clean hostel - dorm beds standing very close to each other so it's lil bit tricky to go on the top due to the ladder is between them :)

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
Olten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
398 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located right in the centre this hostel offers clean rooms, spacious dorms, a kitchen, a lounge and a big veranda. Staff is friendly and helpful. As almost in all hostels in western Australia, most guests seem to be long-term residents. Downsides: no lockers, wifi slow, shaky beds that squeak. Ok for one or two nights.

Helpful?
Thank Dryanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Basic hostel with not much to do, luckily I spent most of my time away from the hostel. The area is gorgeous with beautiful sandy beaches great for surfing or body boarding. Wildlife is abundant and there are some spectacular walks around the area. The hostel itself was very dull and a lot of people seemed to have been there... More 

Helpful?
Thank DancesWithFoods
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The area is without a doubt stunning, from the forests to the beaches Margaret River truly is beautiful. Which is a lot more than I can say about the staff and a few locals there. The manager at the time called Owen was a very biased person if he didn't like anything about you, you would certainly be singled out.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeoAresAthena
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The gentleman who greeted us was very welcoming! The hostel was very rural and had great indoor and outdoor community spaces – most guests seemed to be long term working holiday visa farm workers but were all very nice and made us feel welcome for our one night stay – the girl cleaning was also very friendly and super clean!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mattsowary
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

If you've stayed at one YHA you've pretty much stayed at them all. The Margaret River is no exception. Like most hostels in Australia it is full of travellers on working holiday visas looking to fulfil there farm work requirement. Its ideally situated in the downtown area, and everyone there was accommodating and made you feel welcome event if you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephane D
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

This hostel has a great caretaker who is willing to create a chill environment. However he doesn't have any control on the crowd. There were a lot of partypeople which kept going in the night / morning.

Helpful?
Thank Wim R
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Location is great, right behind the main st. Linen was clean, and people were very friendly from the little I saw of them- unfortunately I was absolutely exhausted and fell asleep from right after dinner through til 8. I only stayed one night passing through, but it was great for me. Other guests were very considerate and I didn't hear... More 

Helpful?
Thank rkirbs
Paris, Île-de-France, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay! The location is perfect, literally just behind the main street. The amenities are modern and clean, and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Remi, the manager, gave us some good tips about where to go, things to see, where to eat etc. You are 10mins drive away from the beach (a bus can pick you... More 

Helpful?
Thank manonnb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

place is nice, but very expensive and dont be surprised if you are forced to leave for a bizarre or no reason after paying for a room. when i visited 5 separate people were evicted without reason, on the one day!!! and not refunded for the room. the owner Remi is angry, stubborn, snappy and aggressive towards all guests and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony M
Jules A, Manager at Margaret River Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Mr Anthony I am going to take few minutes to give my version of what really happened that night, you were probably too drunk or "high" as every nights/days you stayed with us, to remember. During your 6 nights stay I received several complains regarding your behavior from our guest and neighbor. You didn't respect our night manager, you smashed... More 

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.1 km away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
208 reviews
0.1 km away
Constellation Apartments
Constellation Apartments
#30 of 52 in Margaret River
9 reviews
1.1 km away
Margaret River Lodge
Margaret River Lodge
#46 of 52 in Margaret River
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Margaret River Holiday Suites
Margaret River Holiday Suites
#35 of 52 in Margaret River
46 reviews
0.3 km away
Margaret River Antiques - Studio Guest Suite
Margaret River Antiques - Studio...
#14 of 20 in Margaret River
9 reviews
0.2 km away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a modern and comfortable travelers hostel, with shared accommodation consisting of dorms of 10,8,6 and 4 bunk bed configurations. We have one female only 8 bed dorm. Other facilities include a large fully equipped communal kitchen, shared bathrooms, laundry and a large outdoor decking area with BBQ. We provide free internet/WIFI for our guests and a secure car park for cars. Our location is right in the centre of Margaret River, close to all shops and amenities, and just a 5 minute walk from the bus stop. Margaret River is a world class travel destination with beautiful beaches, surf breaks, hiking, excellent wineries, caves and activities for all ages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Address: 66 Town View Tce, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Price Range: RM99 - RM238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Margaret River Backpackers YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Margaret River Backpackers YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dorms 5/6/7 share a single bathroom with 1xshower/1x toilet/1x basin which only accommodates 1x person at a time !”
 of 5 bubbles denisec434, 25 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on south side are guieter”
 of 5 bubbles 372ashleighb, 30 May 2014 | Read review
“Dont stay here!!”
 of 5 bubbles 196LauraF, 5 Mar 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay