We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avenue Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Avenue Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Christchurch
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were a family of 6 - all adults. We had a 2 bedroom unit and a studio. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Clean is important to me and this motel excelled in that department. Wi-fi was free and better still, it worked. Inconveniences: you can't use the full length mirror because it is on the inside of... More 

Helpful?
Thank DebHnz
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that things were not suitable for you in your room. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are a family with two young children. The Avenue Motel was very easy to find. Just a 3 minute walk to supermarket. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and had everything we needed. We had a separate bedroom and there was a single bed and nice leather fold out couch in the lounge room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
Management response:

Hello Cindy Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly welcome. Motel is set back from the road so units are very quiet. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Only a 10 min walk from Intercity bus stop and 5 min walk to supermarket and shops. Our thanks to Graham & Joanne for storing our luggage and calling a taxi to catch the train. They could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenys H
Management response:

Hello Glenys Thank you for your review. It was great meeting you and have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you when you come back to New Zealand. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Really comfortable motel unit. It was quiet and perfectly clean and the attached spa house was a real treat. Its a little dated but has everything you could need and the hosts were lovely. We will be back!!

Helpful?
Thank MelKay4126
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Comfortable stay, good parking close to room, units off the road so quiet and no traffic noise. Room was comfortable and clean. Lady at reception was lovely. Shower was great - lovely and hot (on a cold wintry day). Have stayed in other motels in Palmerston North and found this one to be one we would stay at again. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank lyndyloo15
Management response:

Hi Lynda. Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure having you stay with us over the weekend, We look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks Graham & Jo More 

1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I used to stay in this motel alot with work, but I haven't stayed for a few years. Stayed there last night, 27/07/2016 but never again, The spa pool was lovely when you first get in, but goes cold within 15 minutes and you can't adjust the temperature to your like, as it is set to 40. On different sites... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
Management response:

Hi Julie Thank you for your review, We are sorry you did not find our motel, up to your standard With your concern about the temperature of our spa pools, After checking with our local Spa Pool dealer, No spa pool should be set at more then 40 degrees, the recommended bathing temperature for spa pool is 37 degrees. anything... More 

Travellers are raving about these Palmerston North hotels

The Windy City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016

My daughter was going to Palmerston North for work, so I thought why not tag along. We checked in about mid day and was greeted by the grumpiest, rudest man I have ever encountered. He turned out to be the owner. My daughter rushed to check in as she had to go back in to work; I went out and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeaGrove
Management response:

Thank you for your review We understand that you and your daughter were upset by our call on the Sunday evening inquiring as to her arrival time, This call was made as a courtesy call as her firm had booked her in to arrive Sunday afternoon and she had not arrived by our closing time. The intention of the call... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed at the Avenue Motel In Palmerston North for one night in July. We arrived at 1.00pm - 1 hour early and approached reception staff to ask if we could leave our car on the premises until our check in time. They were very friendly and actually allowed us to check in early and showed us to our room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
Management response:

Hi Jessica Thank you for your review I'm not too sure on your concerns about the decor in our motel. Our motel was decorated inside in February, along with new bedding, Curtains & cupboard doors and draws, along with new LED lighting. More 

Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Found the host to be very helpful and polite so not sure of other review. Very quite as set well off the road. Extremely tidy and clean rooms. Stayed two nights instead of the one we originally booked for and was welcomed a day early with no hassles. Comfy bed and good sized room. Will stay again when in town.... More 

Helpful?
Thank johndee1
Management response:

Hi John Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

DO NOT EVEN BOTHER BOOKING INTO THIS PLACE! I got a very rude phone call the day before my arrival from the owner asking me where I was and when I plan to turn up? In a tone like your dad would give you if didn't come home at the time you were supposed to. The next day I arrive... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mae W
Management response:

Hi Mae Thank you for your review. In regard to our phone call. It is our policy to contact any guests with a courtesy call if they have not arrived within normal check in times, unless prior arrangement has been made. Your firm had booked you in for a 3 day stay arriving on the Sunday afternoon. When you hadn't... More 

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.8 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
303 reviews
0.0 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
301 reviews
1.7 km away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
197 reviews
0.2 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
144 reviews
0.1 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Avenue Motel Palmerston North is located on a quiet back section. All of our motels - 13 ground floor units, Just a ONE MINUTE stroll to the Palmerston North CBD. The Plaza shopping centre, Palmerston North Convention Centre, Arena Manawatu and Victoria Esplanade all within easy walking distance. One of the quietest motels in Palmerston North.- Relax in your own private spa pool (2 bedroom units only) 32" LCD TV with Freeview HD and 3 Sky channels in all units - Free Ultra fast Wireless Broadband - Have dinner delivered hot to your door from one of our affiliated Restaurants - Cooked or Continental breakfast - - Car parking right Close to your front door - One Minute walk to The Square & The Plaza shopping centre. Off to Massey University? A bus runs regularly from outside the Motel entrance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avenue Motel

Address: 116 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: RM357 - RM438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avenue Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Motel Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avenue Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all good but best to choose one away from smokers if you value clean air”
 of 5 bubbles DebHnz, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“studio room was nice and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles lyndyloo15, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“never stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles SeaGrove, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet location and ample off street parking”
 of 5 bubbles nwi7756, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else until new owners arrive”
 of 5 bubbles Bellajami, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay