We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

The room was lovely, can't fault the in room facilities Well except the unlockable interconnecting door to some random guests room and the lack of free WiFi, only get 30mins of that in the lobby. Why charge extra for wifi? Seems cheap We felt uncomfortable with the interconnected door, like someone could enter from the other room....made for a restless... More 

Helpful?
Thank James T
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
395 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The Tower rooms have been renovated over the past couple of years- and it shows. The bedding was very comfortable and the décor of the room looked more modern and stylish. The bathroom was both well-stocked with amenities and well-furnished with towels. The Reception staff were pleasant and helpful upon both Check-In and Check-Out!

Helpful?
Thank Perry B
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the review More 

Waikato
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Thanks to other reviewers, we had a very good stay. We got a room in the tower and were very pleased by the space, condition, and value of the room. Quiet, clean, spacious, friendly staff, good wifi, parking included. No aircon but the heater was fine at keeping the room warm whilst there was frost outside. Tower rooms are recomednded.

Helpful?
Thank R_and_D_NZ
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We were in an outside unit, which was very nice. We even had bath robes and toweling slippers provided to us. Good stuff! Toiletries were good and the shower and bathroom were spacious. Breakfast was good value. I will stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank David G
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback More 

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Very comfortable, quiet, handy to the shops, good parking, rooms very spacious, good TV channels. Adjoining conference suite was perfect for our needs and so handy. Dinner choice included some diferent meals, and our group tried some new options, excellent presentation. breakfast had 2 options , continental or cooked (extra). again could not fault and liked the buffet slyle. Super... More 

Helpful?
Thank CelticConnexionsTour
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the review More 

Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed here on business, 3 nights, room was good bed very comfortable, didn't eat at resturant, prices seemed a bit high, coffe we had was terrible. Overall getting a bit tired. Peacefull, no road or noise from other guests

Helpful?
Thank Hart1598
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Good general hotel, close to centre of town (10min walk). Contains all essential facilities. Very clean and quiet - very comfortable beds. Staff were helpful and cheerful. Breakfast was basic but adequate.

Helpful?
Thank Bevan H
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Business trip with family and because of that we were given a 'Family' unit/room which is not part of the main hotel, but down the back by the conference room. Although the unit was clean and comfortable, ours was the only unit in that row that had a glass panel door. The problem was there was no curtain to pull... More 

Helpful?
Thank luvggs
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. The door to this unit was replaced several weeks ago and Wifi installation completed in May More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I stayed at the Copthorne Palmerston North for 2 nights, over a weekend. I didn't have my expectations set high, as I figured there would be a lot of noise and wouldn't sleep well. I arrived later than planned, however I was greeted at reception by the duty manager, who was very friendly and didn't stick to a script and... More 

Helpful?
Thank liam404
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We were booked into the Copthorne for a conference and ended up in the old units at the back of the hotel. The units are very tired, suffering from a lack of maintenance with parts of the bathroom needing a really good clean. The bed was OK, lighting terrible with an out of the ark TV. I understand the rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sher f
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are working on solutions for the dated economy room rooms. In the interim I suggest standard or superior room types may be more to your liking More 

Travellers are raving about these Palmerston North hotels

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.8 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
304 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
197 reviews
1.8 km away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
127 reviews
0.2 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
39 reviews
0.1 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: RM269 - RM474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“for a breakfast add on ask for the older rooms out the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Eggy62, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the ants!”
 of 5 bubbles 240carols, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for the rooms that look down to burger king.”
 of 5 bubbles pool999, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I was on Level 4 - the Corporate wing is definitely the more modern of other rooms in the Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Tomokinos, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room in the new Tower wing. These are newer and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles JCF73, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay