We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Coachman

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Coachman
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Coachman
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This was a birthday gift for George and we had a great weekend. It included a bottle of bubbly on arrival, a standard room which was more than adequate, a 3 course meal from the menu and a full breakfast and late checkout should be wish it. We were impressed with the whole package and would love to do it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
Samuel-FOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Dear Joan M, Thank you for your review of our hotel from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to have celebrated George's birthday with you and are happy to hear that you both were well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Samuel Biddle Front Office Manager

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Was there back in 2014 for a corporate event and the hotel was very accomodating and the rooms were clean and large. The hotel staff were courteous, and I hope to visit this charming hotel again, next time with family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sj P
Samuel-FOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Dear Sj P, Thank you for your valued feedback from your stay with us back in 2014. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to Palmerston North. Warm Regards, Samuel Biddle Front Office Manager

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

The rooms functional. The spa and pool were great. The decor was interesting and nice. The rates seemed average for the area. Parking is on site. The restaurants food was wonderful. We still go for a very reasonable priced night out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
Samuel-FOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Dear David J, Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed both our rooms and facilities. For your next stay please do visit our website which offers our best rates or of course feel free to contact our friendly team directly. Kind Regards, Samuel Biddle Front Office Manager

Waikanae, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Options for lunch were great with tasty favourites cooked well. Nice seating options for small group or up to ten, still providing a quality experience and atmosphere. Service was very good, and all left refreshed to take on the rest of the day.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jadedog
Samuel-FOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Dear Jadedog, Thank you for your recent review of La Patio Café & Bar. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed both our food and service. You will be pleased to hear that our new menu is now out for both Lunch and Dinner and look forward to welcoming you back to try some of our new options. Kind...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We booked a motel room for a night as got too late to drive back to Hamilton. Had to lead early so booked a room with b&b for 135$. Sounds reasonable and alas why not when they don't change the bed sheets or the pillow cases (ours had lipstick smears from bouts of passion from who knows who and how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leysingi
Debbie J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your concerns that you encountered during your stay with us. I would like to apologise for the issues that you experienced. I can assure you that a compliant of this nature is taken very seriously as we take our level of service with upmost importance. Could you please email me...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 June 2016

I have stayed here many times since the 70's , has the returning home feel to it, well appointed rooms , good bed , perc coffee, and a well laid out fridge, getting on a bit but for me it adds to the comfort. Great staff , very efficient , Restaurant is great value but on the last two trips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OliverWellington
Debbie J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback. It is always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay at Hotel Coachman. You will be pleased to know that we now have updated our beverage list to include some craft beers including Tuatara Pilsner. We hope to see you back in the near future

Wellington
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Check in/out was quick and efficient. The room was spacious, clean and nicely fitted out. Great shower (although it didn't seal off that well from the rest of the bathroom, water everywhere, and it's not well ventilated so leaves it quite steamy). Comfy bed, maybe a bit on the soft side for my linking. Not very soundproof, if you're unlucky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floydbloke
Debbie J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to advise us on your stay. We would like to apologize for the slow service you experienced with the WiFi, I have personally addressed this with our IT person. We have located a fault in our system which we have now rectified. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your the...

Napier
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

We thought the Garden Villa sounded great so we booked. Reception on arrival was welcoming and we were shown upstairs. It's on the corner of a 2 very busy roads. It's large with 2 bedrooms a big lounge with kitchen and a separate laundry. The view from the lounge is a lawn and we were disappointed. The small intimate deck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripsta00
Debbie J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your concerns that you encountered with us during your stay. We would like to apologise for the delayed response and your disappointment with your room. We have spoken to staff members concerned and have discussed the issues you have raised. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 April 2016

We stayed at the motel part which was nice, clean and practical. Staying at multiple motels during our trip it was nice benefiting from the hotel service like restaurant and bar. Short walking distance from downtown and a cozy place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Hotel needs a refurbishment, understatement. Older lady check me in who seemed flustered to say the least. Dint tell me about the free wifi, meal times etc. Intervened by Sid, who was quite good really. Even made a recommendation for a main meal and insisted that we came down for happy hour

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland D

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.2 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
301 reviews
1.0 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
306 reviews
0.2 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
39 reviews
0.3 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
145 reviews
1.2 km away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: RM395 - RM541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coachman Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Coachman staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jonoashton, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Even numbers in the main building look on the garden.”
  • Window seat room 112
 of 5 bubbles drncc1701, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best to be on the southern side - away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles VillaInTheVines, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“One by the castle stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles L8331DOdeborahc, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check linens b4 u jump in especially the extra pillow.”
 of 5 bubbles leysingi, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay