We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Thames

Sunkist Guesthouse

90 reviews
Save
Traveller (11)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good20%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible28%
Travellers talk about
Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Breakfast included
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (90)Write a Review
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
26
18
8
8
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
26
18
8
8
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitcheninteresting historylovely gardennorth islandhostelloungesherylhammocksinternetcommunalsupermarketlawn
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an awesome stay thanks Cheryl and pippy (the dog) for your awesome hospitality x I had a lovely afternoon in the back garden reading my book in the hammocks 😍 the old heritage charm is really cool too!!! Close to town and what a...More

Thank Emma F
Response from Cheryl C, Owner at Sunkist GuesthouseResponded 6 days ago

Thank you Emma, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime. Happy travels

Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Unbelievably rude owner, strict check-in procedure and horrendously overpriced. This is not a good representation of kiwi hospitality. Save yourself a lot of hassle and just don’t bother! This place is a complete joke.More

1  Thank team_lead
Response from Cheryl C, Owner at Sunkist GuesthouseResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for your review, I am at a loss as to why you did not enjoy your stay. My only recollection is annoyance from yourselves when asked for ID which is standard procedure every where in the world. I apologize if you found us...More

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Very cheap and old, but offcourse in a good way. Don't get surprised if you getting a feeling of been on an overnight visit at your old grandparets house. The building have been used as hotel for 150 years, and have a special charm. The...More

Thank Chrizz S
Reviewed 29 May 2017

This is the worst place I have ever stayed in my year in New Zealand. There is a strict check in procedure that closes at 8pm and it is not possible to check in after this time. I was stuck in Auckland traffic on my...More

Thank RebeccaM001
Response from Cheryl C, Owner at Sunkist GuesthouseResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you had such an unpleasant experience with check-in. We close at 8.00 pm & ask that check-ins are completed by 7.30 pm & only make exceptions for late flights ,accidents & illness, because of staffing problems &...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Arrived and enquired about accommodation with no prior booking (bed and breakfast). Not a problem! Had a queen room, shared amenities. Lovely old building with interesting history, room spotless as were toilets and showers. Had to wash our own breakfast dishes which is a first...More

1  Thank catefs
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345617
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (11)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sunkist Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"In another hostel."
Read review
"Quiet area of town, easy to find, supermarket and town within walking distance of Sunkist."
Read review
"The top bunk is very high."
Read review
"Choose room 1 its the one we had for a double and apart from the lock on the window was great. This is one of..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite