We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 74: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There's a small dog on the property that'll climb all over you! Location wise its out on the edge of the town, away from all the things you need. Clean & tidy but a very interesting host, not in a good way. I found this lady very suspicious with security measures all over the place. I didnt have a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl M
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We spent a night at this quiet heritage B&B. Cheryl, the owner is really friendly and she has the most adorable little dog on the North Island. The off-peak season price for the room is $85. The place is immaculately clean, the showers/toilets are shared. The breakfast is served between 8 and 9am and it has a good selection. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdrifromSydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016

A nice quiet place in the northern part of Thames. Clean and well maintained. When we left, they were doing a refresh and repaint of the place. They have a lovely self-service kitchen and drawing room (complete with pool table and tv). Due to the history of the building, you do have communal bathrooms. And the internet is pay-for. But... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Sunkist. The host was very kind to us and the room was very clean. It is a short walk into town where we had a great dinner. It was a bit eerie at night because it was incredibly quiet, but that's hardly a complaint! Very unique place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tali C
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We arrived at 7.50pm, which the owner had told us by phone was ok, for one night passing through towards Auckland. The owner was incredibly rude to us during the process of checking in, with little snide remarks throughout. Having traveled in NZ several times (and lived there), I have never experienced hospitality like this before. In general the owner... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lars L
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

Sorry I didn't meet your expectations, I can't personally remember you or a problem as I assume you arrived just as I was closing after a 14 hr day and left by 10 the next morning so contact must have been extremely minimal, I apologise if paying for internet was the reason or asking for ID? This seems to ring... More 

Travellers are raving about these Thames hotels

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I made the mistake of staying at this place twice. The hostess is entirely in the wrong profession - unhelpful, rude, everything seemed to be too much trouble. The first occasion I stayed I booked a 4 bed bunk room and the bed was possibly the most uncomfortable sleep I have ever had. This last weekend I decided to give... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank webberd
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

Booked for 3 nights, arrived at closing time, left by 7.00 am to attend seminars missing complimentary breakfast, back late & went straight to your room both days. I asked when I saw you briefly coming & going if any problems etc, always said no everything was fine? Tea/coffee, queen bed & quality linen plus towels, flannels, extremely clean &... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights with a group of friends so we could walk to the Pinnacles. The accommodation was great value for money, bedding and breakfast included in the price. it was very clean and well kept. Cheryl was very informative about the local history of the district and the hostel building. I would recommend this accommodation.

Helpful?
1 Thank spike123609
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and our lovely Guesthouse. Look forward to maybe seeing you all again 1 day. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016

After staying for five months in different accomodations this is the place with the unfriendliest host ever. It looks that she never heard about hospitality and service with a smile. Little questions were anwsered really rude. We had no other options to stay somewhere else in town because all the other accomodations were full. The house looks really nice but... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Leasylvia
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am so sad having to answer these petty reviews, & all I can say is niceness & respect go both ways, the sofa in question is an expensive antique chaise lounge & is not designed for putting filthy backpacker bags on. Because of my age I appear to be subject to all sorts of abuse from the new age... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Had a great time staying here. Rooms were very spacious and catered to everyone. Massive kitchen and dining area and a great outdoor area to lap up some sun. Loved the animals! They are so friendly and LOVE the attention.

Helpful?
Thank 202rochelleb
kiwiscorpio1971, Manager at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay & we hope to see some of you back again soon. You were a fun group More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

In general the hostel and its facilities are nice and clean, but when we arrived there we got a very terrible welcome. The lady at the reception asked us out of the blue if we were hitchhikers and accused us of not supporting the NZ economy and putting us and others to danger. We were really tired at that moment... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Isabell M
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am very sorry you found me rude as I thought we were having a general discussion about the good & bad of h/h and the reason I asked if you were H/H's were for our stats which we record for every traveller to help with our advertising. Our only rules are common sense about smoking, drinking, noise & cleaning... More 

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
1.9 km away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
86 reviews
2.2 km away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
91 reviews
1.0 km away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 14 in Thames
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
2.6 km away
Dickson Holiday Park
Dickson Holiday Park
#5 of 11 in Thames
80 reviews
1.9 km away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#2 of 11 in Thames
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay, Bike n Hike. Our 1860's Heritage Bed n Breakfast offers a clean and relaxing environment in our own part of the Thames Goldrush History. Catering for the established traveller looking for a relaxing place to stay. Clean and Quiet makes for a great nights sleep between your adventures. A great base for Couples or groups wanting to explore the Coromandel Peninsula and starting point for the Hauraki Rail Trail and the Kauaeranga Valley for those wanting to hike the Pinnacles. The building is an 1860s heritage kauri hotel, now restored and modernized to provide quality accommodation with many home comforts. We do not offer camping or freedom camping facilities of any kind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike

Address: 506 Brown Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand (Formerly Sunkist International Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Price Range: RM240 - RM307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In another hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles christN6938JF, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Quiet area of town, easy to find, supermarket and town within walking distance of Sunkist.”
 of 5 bubbles 227maureen545, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The top bunk is very high.”
 of 5 bubbles bach57, 23 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Choose room 1 its the one we had for a double and apart from the lock on the window was great. This is one of the best Backpackers in New Zealand I have stayed in, the first for my wife too she loved the place. We are in our fifties and there was agood crowd mix young to old. And its reasonably quiet most of the day. The neighbours you hardly hear anything.”
 of 5 bubbles WayneMoore1060, 10 Jan 2013 | Read review
“All good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles amiejsd, 27 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay