We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aotea Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Aotea Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Aotea Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Wonderful spacious room, comfortable bed and good quality linens, spa bath and also found the shower above our expectations. Well located, close to supermarkets/fast food outlets. Heat pump in room. Only complaint was we could not find the tv remote and missed out watching the All Blacks play last night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KO_NZ96
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I had one night here as part of a roadshow last month. Arrived late and the front desk man was so helpful, took me to my room, turned heater up and made me feel welcome. Showed me where to go to get a hot meal ( another hotel across the road and breakfast) and get it all charged back. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwigirlNZ
Reviewed 19 May 2015

A New 4Star Motor Lodge in the main street of Wanaganui down the west side of town. Close to Woollies, Coles, petrol, Pub across the road...easy walk into the centre of town maybe 10-15 minutes tops..close to getting in and out of the place in moving on...all round great area. The unit itself was 4plus star...as the room it self...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheAngryAnt
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 May 2015

We stayed in April on this year and had just a fantastic time. Rooms are spacious, classy and well kept. Spa, large comfortable bed, balcony views and close to the centre of town, Aotea is the perfect place to stay in Wanganu! We loved the staff, who were always friendly and happy to help at anytime. Needless to say we'll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StarshipRules
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 May 2015

My partner travels a lot for work so when I told him we were staying at a motor lodge he was skeptical but was he wrong. We absolutely loved our stay at the Aotea. Our room was warm, clean and fresh with better amenities than hotels! We even had a spa in our room which we thoroughly enjoyed! The Aotea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vaintra
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Aotea for just a little under a week during our wedding weekend along with 10 or so of our wedding guests. Everything was SPOTLESS, our bed was made daily, towels refreshed and room cleaned which is what is generally expected of a 5 star hotel. Staff were all smiles each time we met anyone on our way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharman396
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 April 2015

friendly service when checking in and out, room was great and there were 3 beds for us. Large bathroom and a nice deck to sit on outside. Hotel was on main road but was quite at night. would stay again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

I arrived on a very cold and wet night and was pleasantly surprised by the room. It was nice and warm and check in was easy and fast. The room was large and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was okay, but for some reason there was an oversized spa in the bedroom. There was also free wifi. The stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ant W
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 April 2015

on first arriving at the motor lodge my husband checked us in. Service was 5/10 not the best start. then after being in our from for only 2hours I noticed that my feet were BLACK!! the floor was so dirty. I had my 14month old daughter and wouldn't let her take her shoes off after that. I had to scrub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MILZY2014
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there I am not sure why you have decided to post these lies, however we have asked trip advisor to trace this review and we suspect You are a friend of bridezilla Alaina

Porirua, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Lets starts with the spacious double spa bath, what a treat for the grandchildren, This is what having a holiday is all about. Heat pumps were a plus due to a real bad cold snap. Asked for a room change, so down the site we went to more nice beds and sheets

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walkingholiday

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.2 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
204 reviews
1.8 km away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
1.5 km away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 27 in Whanganui
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 27 in Whanganui
38 reviews
1.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 27 in Whanganui
114 reviews
1.2 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 27 in Whanganui
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury 5 star central city Wanganui accommodation including free wifi, spa baths, LCD Sky Tv and corporate rates available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aotea Motor Lodge

Address: 390 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: RM593 - RM637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aotea Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aotea Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whanganui
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whanganui
#5 Business Hotel in Whanganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aotea Motor Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aotea Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room on the ground floor with large Spa Bath”
 of 5 bubbles ronbbell, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great view from upstairs room 18 on a nice day. Quiet as further off the road. Lovely separate bathroom and spa.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaFrancescaB_12, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a back room away from street”
 of 5 bubbles MRGuiliani, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
“we had 125 - in a corner/low level. If you like light rooms as for one on the opposite side to 125”
 of 5 bubbles 435lynw, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not get unit 17 ..18..19. Around the vback of the motel cold and dark. xo”
 of 5 bubbles LAURANIC287, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay