We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2016

What a great site - lots of amenities and a really helpful team. whnganui is a great place to visit and lots to do. You'll need a week to take it all in. We cannot wait to come back. Most power sites have a good review of he river and their is a heated swimming pool

Helpful?
Thank johnC4806NT
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Had an excellent time at the park - was greeted by big smiles of the staff. It was contagious smile, as our little one and our faces had smiles up until we had to leave. Great park lots of room, lots of activities - i'll definitly be heading back there again!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We stayed at the Wanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park for one night in a 4 berth Motor-home. As with most campsites in New Zealand there is not much space to park a motor-home and care is need to ensure there are no mishaps. There is plenty of room in the park and enough room for young kids to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank scottmG6960NS
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed all our facilities and found them to be in excellent condition as we pride ourselves on this. Sorry to hear that you felt there was not much space for you to park your motor home - I'm quite surprised... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2016

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night on a powered pitch in a camper van close to the river. On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a pitch with a river view which was on gravel but there was grass all around us. Lots of ducks on the grass as well as a goat.... More 

Helpful?
Thank electrickev
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking the time to post a review of our park. We're very glad to hear that you found our staff here helpful and friendly, it's certainly something we pride ourselves on. We all enjoy helping people and making their time here as relaxing and fun as possible. It's great that you enjoyed one of our concreted... More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2016

The park although large and with a number of good amenities, with the exception of the kitchen. Gas Stoves unclean and many burners wouldn't light. BUT the most annoying aspect was the 'Ducks Droppings' that were everywhere. Not the place for young children, who are yet to master the art of walking. Overall I think camp lacked feeling, possible due... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor M B
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review our holiday park. I'm sorry that you appear not to have enjoyed your stay here as much as we would have hoped. It seems you had some difficulty with the stove, which I wish you had mentioned to us at the time as we would have gladly helped you. All our... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Loved our stay in a deluxe motel here. I felt the standards very high and the staff we met were all friendly and helpful . The site is fabulous , so near the river and so well cared for . Couldn't fault it . Lovely to find such peace and quiet . Thanks Ben and staff . We had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny W
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for this kind review. We are so glad to here from guests who have enjoyed their time with us. It was lovely to chat with you, we enjoy spending some time with our guests. Hopefully we will see you back here again sometime. Many thanks, Ben & Jeannie More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We arrived in a storm. Extremely high winds (90km/hr) and driving rain. We had called ahead so knew that there were powered sites available. We were greeted so nicely and the staff member on duty thoughtfully gave us a site close to the facilities rather than down by the river. With the wind making our campervan sway from side to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gemma F
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for this kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your short time with us - and sorry about the weather! We've been really lucky for the majority of the summer, so it was an unlucky day weather wise for you. But so glad we could offer you the shelter and tranquility you were looking for. Hopefully you'll get... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2016

The moment we turned into the grounds we were aware of the beautifully manicured grounds and the peace that welcomed us. Check in was very easy with staff attentive to all our needs. Our cabin by the river was such a luxury after a day of driving and the bird aviary drew our attention straight away. The cabin was cleaned... More 

Helpful?
Thank artman2016
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this kind review. It was so great to meet you and have you stay with us. It's always nice to meet such happy friendly people. We're so glad that you enjoyed your riverside self-contained unit. These units have been recently refurbished. All our staff, including our housekeepers, take great pride in what we do so... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Staff were friendly, but the campground awful. Not helped by entire rowing team training camp more or less taking over facilities. Kitchen was full of their equipment and supplies - workspace blocked a lot of the time. Pool was disgusting - thick greasy mark around waterline - obviously not having been cleaned for a while. Tables outside needing TLC.

Helpful?
Thank JulieR_8426
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a Standard Cabin. It had a little refrigerator and sink in the room. The communal kitchen, showers and toilet facilities were very clean. The grounds were wonderful and the staff was very nice. It's a very quiet, peaceful location right on the Whanganui River. We've stayed in 8 different Top 10 Holiday Parks so far on our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pappytrails
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so very much for this kind review. It's always great to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay. We are lucky to have such a great riverside location and we're glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet. We hope to see you again sometime. Many thanks, Jeannie & Ben More 

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
3.6 km away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
5.4 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
202 reviews
5.5 km away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#23 of 27 in Whanganui
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#22 of 27 in Whanganui
44 reviews
10.6 km away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
4.6 km away
Tamara Riverside Lodge
Tamara Riverside Lodge
#3 of 9 in Whanganui
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are looking for a holiday park in the lower north island of New Zealand, look no further. Rated 4*plus by Qualmark and situated on the banks of the Whanganaui River, this park has everything you need for a perfect holiday. Free Wifi for all guests. Accommodation options to suit every budget: Deluxe motels, serviced self-contained units, cabins & large tent and van sites, some right on the riverbank. Superb facilities include an outdoor heated pool with slide, jumping pillow, 2 adventure playgrounds, bouncy castle in the summer, petanque, volleyball, slack line, hammocks, covered or outdoor BBQ areas, Sky TV, and much more. You can hire trikes for the kids to ride around on, you can hire kayaks to explore the river for yourself, or you can relax in the private spa pool looking out over the river. With a friendly team always willing to help you get the most out of your stay in the Wanganui area, this is more than just a stop over, this is a destination! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 460 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: RM245 - RM290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Taihape, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“riverside units and camping spots have got a fabulous view!!”
 of 5 bubbles doeni36, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any hotel is amazing, you won't regret your stay! you'll want to live here! :)”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose sites closer to the river and get more sunshine. Playground and a range of hired bikes.”
 of 5 bubbles Tramper18, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Self contained unit was very spacious and comfortable, some accommodation has direct riverside views.”
 of 5 bubbles nauticals_13, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“all are well positioned for sun and views”
 of 5 bubbles murraym103, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay