We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avenue Heights Motel

PricelineUS$82*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Avenue Heights Motel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Avenue Heights Motel
 Click to rate
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The owners went out of their way to assist us. We had the two bedroom unit which was perfect for our needs. Alan got a ramp put at the door to assist our elderly mother with her walker. The unit was well equipped, clean & tidy. The information given on sights to see was helpful & good. The motel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Headjob40
UK
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

On first look this is way out of town, but it turns out it's actually very accessible by car with a 10 min walk to anything you might want through some lovely parks. Lovely and spacious with fairly up to date kit, clean and well maintained, great shower pressure, slightly smaller than normal tv and not always a seat outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aceadrian
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Paid for a larger room as motel rooms seem to be shrinking, met our expectations. Room was clean and tidy, bed comfortable. Weather was very warm and so was the room but the ceiling fan did the job. Security locks on the windows would be a good idea although we accidentally left the key in the lock overnight with no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peppy2017
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a short trip to Whangarei. The location of the motel is situated central to most shops. The rooms are spacy and have a bathroom and kitchen in each room. However the air conditioning did not work at all we had such a restless night in the heat. The wifi was also a pay to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha N
Allan F, Owner at Avenue Heights Motel, responded to this review

Hi Natasha We are sorry you were disappointed as we take our reviews very seriously. We do not however have 'air conditioning' and do not advertise as such! Our Wifi is actually free and unlimited, so you must not have connected correctly. We are always only too pleased to assist our customers with any problems.

Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed at this motel and found our room was definitely not worth the $160. It is only average and not at a standard we're used to having at a much lower price. The wi-fi didn't work in the room but would in and around the office so this is where I am making this review from. It is obvious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I travel to Whangarei every month and Avenue Heights Motel is the place I like to stay. The rooms are clean and the lazy boys are so comfy. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for accommodation in Whangarei.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
Mangonui, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Avenue Heights Motel has well planned, immaculate, attractive and tastefully furnished units which are warm and comfortable. Allan and Melva are caring and considerate hosts who take care of all your needs. For me it was being transported to the Hospital each day.to help alleviate the stress I was under. Delicious breakfasts and great advice on restaurants and places to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 687beth74
Ormeau, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Needed somewhere after long trip up north enroute to Auckland. Comfortable room. Very Central and quiet. Owen (owner) went above and beyond terrific service as he did our washing as we're on our honeymoon and had a lot. Bed was comfortable and lazy boy was a nice change to relax in. Very clean

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex Louise M
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Why would you want to stay at any other motel in Whangarei , Avenue Heights is the place to stay great service, super clean rooms and friendly owners that will accommodate your every need,I have to comment though! The shower pressure is fantastic after a long day of work and the recliner chairs with the full sky make a trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acerep001
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Best motel to stay at when your in Whangarei, very comfortable unit's and the host's are amazing,(they go the extra mile) to make your stay a great experience I'll be staying there whenever I'm in N/Land for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 717kev

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
3.7 km away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#8 of 34 in Whangarei
52 reviews
1.5 km away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 km away
ASURE Cherry Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
89 reviews
0.1 km away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
137 reviews
2.0 km away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Avenue Heights Motel

Address: 355 Western Hills Drive, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: RM374 - RM464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Heights Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Avenue Heights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avenue Heights Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you must stay, ask for a room near the office if you want wifi. Also inspect before committing.”
, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor units tend to be easier to get to and a little quieter. For privacy upstairs units are better.”
daved224, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“All car parking immediately in front of lower ground rooms”
Craftyone58, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are quiet and very comfortable”
717kev, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Although the access to the City was badly restricted by extensive road works, I found it easy enough to navigate, so don't be afraid that this motel is not City Central.”
411alm, 11 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$82* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$82
Booking.comUS$82
Agoda.comUS$82
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates