We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Start your review of Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For a weekend away we booked a room with a view and it was lovely waking up in the morning overlooking the marina. Sitting on the balcony as the sun set was a real treat and we plan to return. They told us the hotel does more business conferences and the weekends tend to be quieter. The pool area was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hardworkingteacher
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely, friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Security cards for entry to building and rooms. Great view from our front rooms overlooking marina. Excellent value breakfast buffet. Everything you need for a weekend break . Close to other restaurants and cafes. Scenic area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mich602016
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Comments regarding staff are always appreciated and from your comments it appears they were able to make your overall experience all the more enjoyable. Thank you for the feedback and nice that you were able to stay in one of our superior rooms overlooking the marina, as these have been heavily booked over the weekends. Kind regards Murray Cook

Oakland, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Former Hyatt Kingsgate and perhaps this shows in some of the older rooms which have a distinct 1970s feel - the bedside switches for the lights and the COLOR TV are a but of a giveaway. Nice gazebo and outside area, lots of space, fair to very good rooms and all clean and well serviced and managed. Top staff however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Des W
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, a well written and constructive comments being made are always appreciated. The comment regarding the staff is especially welcome and I am sure they will be grateful for the feedback. We have put some effort into breakfast and generally feedback has been positive. Your comments are taken on board and we will look at ways...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last minute wedding arrangements, I called the week before and booked a table for 12 and as well booked accommodation. The night of the wedding was great, bar was mostly just us and bar staff quick and responsive. Dinner was fine, good service, staff happy to help with cake cutting. Accommodation was good, no worries, okay place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todcom
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Congratulations on the wedding. Your group was a plewasure to host and I am glad we were able to assist on this special day. Thank you for the feedback and great that the staff were able to look after you. kind regards Murray Cook

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Distinction Hotel is a well-located and well-equipped hotel in Whangarei. It is easy to get to town and has adequate parking (except when there's a seminar). There is a restaurant which I didn't go to mainly because the vegetarian options looked a bit plain. Check in was really easy. My room was good, however there is hardly any sound-proofing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yingyuez
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you a well written review. Your comments are appreciated and taken on board. It is hoped refurbishment work will start on the Hotel once our new Christchurch Hotel is up and running. Your comments on the staff are most appreciated and I am sure will be gratefully received by them. once again thank you for taking the time to...

Kaitaia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stay here often for work. It is in a good location and the staff are friendly. All sky channels are available. Free WiFi. Comfortable room. Excellent spa and indoor pool. However, this time the overall experience was let down by the restaurant. Colleagues told they had to wait 40 minutes before they could be served dinner despite a near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine G
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and the Friday night you dined will be looked into. We did do 35 guests for dinner and I apologise if it took 40 minutes to get their meals. I am unsure at what time you had breakfast but the breakfast staff have been informed if it is getting towards the end of service to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Service was good. Internet is fast which is a nice change but the whole place is very tired. It's not horrible but it's not good value for money. As a plus it is clean at least and the service good. There's little stupid things like the doors in the staircases are one way so you have to put something down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willowdog9
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. It is appreciated that you have taken time to make comment and I regret these points you have brought up made you stay not the experience we would have wished. Kind regards Murray Cook

Landsborough, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

After a long drive we needed a couple of days to see the sights of Whangarie. The position was handy within walking distance. The room was big and roomy. Comfy bed. As we had a ground floor room there was constant noise from above rooms even at 3-4 in the morning. We could hear next door too. The reception was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Funfoodfavourites
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your feedback is appreciated. If we had been made aware of the problem with the noise from above we may have been able to move you to an upper level room. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Whangarei and are enjoying your trip to New Zealand. Safe travels. Kind Regards Murray Cook

Reviewed 8 March 2017

Has a gym,pool,bar,restaurant etc but overall the place is in need of some much needed TLC. Wallpaper peeling off,unable to move tv to a better angle as it was obstructed by fixed air con unit,could hear next doors conversations/ tv/ snoring ! Extremely noisy hotel overall....seems popular enough with several tour buses during my 3 night stay, but won't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme D
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was a particular busy time during your stay with the Volunteer Fire Brigade's holding their annual event and the tail end of the Field Days. I apologise for these guests if they were noisy during your stay but is very difficult to control such large numbers all travelling and having a annual get-together at...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We had a 50th wedding anniversary party in the Hatea room it was perfect setting a small party, we were able to decorate it as well. The staff were very friendly, everyone enjoyed their meals and we came back for breakfast the next day which was lovely. The room was very clean and comfortable bed, altogether a fantastic stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Congratulations on your 50th Wedding Anniversary. It was a pleasure having you, your family and close friends at the hotel for the evening. It is really appreciated that you have made comment and it is nice to know that we were able to assist you on such a special occasion. All the best for your future anniversary's Kind regards Murray...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.8 km away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
5.0 km away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
137 reviews
1.9 km away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
88 reviews
8.7 km away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre is perfectly suited to both business and leisure travellers. All 115 comfortable guest rooms & suites are air-conditioned and offer free unlimited WiFi & 50+ SKY TV channels. Conveniently located opposite the stunning Whangarei Town Basin and a few minutes walk from the city centre and Whangarei's most tranquil bush walks. The majestic Bay of Islands is less than one hour's drive from our 4 star hotel. Savour delicious cuisine at the on-site Portobello Restaurant and Anchor Down Lounge Bar. Work out in the fitness centre, swim in the indoor heated pool or relax in the spa. The hotel also caters for conferences and functions of up to 130 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 9 Riverside Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: RM396 - RM536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street view has river views but noisy”
DesW108, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Maybe the upper floor would not be as noisy.”
Funfoodfavourites, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get one set back from the main road.”
NeilMarshall2267, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the rear away from the main road if available.”
vzrider, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Away from the indoor pool. There are more expensive rooms which look over the boats in the basin but road noise can be an issue”
stugross, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5