We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Save
Share
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good37%
  • Average21%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
70
84
50
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
70
84
50
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive studiobuffet mealcomfortable roomseparate roomsa king size bedstay there againan upgradecentral locationgood sizeroad noiseclose to townaccommodationstairwellkettlebasinmotelbay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

he photos sure are deceiving.the rooms are small.not particularly clean and need some TLC. No valances on the beds which looked yucky.the sheets were nice but the coverlet was yuck.no electric blankets and the room was freezing.could not have the wall heater going as it...More

Thank bossyb43
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Although the rooms are good the overall experience was very poor. Specifically the restaurant/bar service. I went to get dinner at 20:10 in the evening and the restaurant and bar were both shut. When inquiring the next day I was informed as there were no...More

Thank William S
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Stayed here for one night over the weekend. Nice location as its got plenty parking and not too far from the town or the road out the coast . The room was ok a little chilly as there was a crack in the window but...More

Thank niamhs456
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We had a short overnight stay whilst travelling further north, and were happy with the quality and furnishings in our room, and enjoyed our morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the trees. Bed was very comfortable.

Thank Jaya1460
Response from DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Jaya1460, Thanks for your comments and we hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 1 April 2018

First and last time i will stay here , no air con in the room and the shower pressure was very weak , cockroaches , well too many too count! I travel for work often and this has to be the worst hotel ive stayed...More

Thank Blairnz36
Response from DiscoverySettlers61, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Blair, After you were refused service at the bar because of your behavior and asked to leave the restaurant and go back to your room that night, we never heard about any issue with the room that night or the day after. Your Travel...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Meeting Rooms
Conference Facilities
Room Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (7)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pandmg
2 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DiscoverySettlers61 | Property representative |
Hi, Sorry we do not have AC in the rooms. Rgds Chris
1
Vote
Room Tips
"make sure to ask not to be next door to workers which obviously have permanent residence"
Read review
"Rooms away from the road are quieter"
Read review
"Upstairs and at the back is the quitest"
Read review
"We were in room 4. This was nice and tidy inside."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing