We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Mountain Jade Backpackers

    41 Weld Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$39
    View Deal
    Traveller (37)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Dining (6)
    Rainforest Retreat
    1,366 reviews
    #8 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
    613 reviews
    #1 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
     
    Annabelle Motel
    263 reviews
    #2 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
     
    Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
    236 reviews
    #4 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
     
    Overview
    • Excellent45%
    • Very good40%
    • Average9%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible3%
    Travellers talk about
    Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Family Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Accessible rooms
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Breakfast included
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Rainforest Retreat
    1,366 reviews
    #8 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
    613 reviews
    #1 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
     
    Annabelle Motel
    263 reviews
    #2 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
     
    Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
    236 reviews
    #4 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (76)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 69 reviews

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Really good location, a walking distance from everything including the beach, and 1 minute from the main road as well. The owner is really nice, welcomed me with a smile and gave me a long tour at the hostel. There is a DVD library so...More

    Thank Gal Z
    Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

    Hi Thank you for your great review. We are very happy that you had a great stay with us. Yes we do have a very large DVD selection for those days when it is a bit Rainy(we get them sometimes). We hope the rest of...More

    Reviewed 6 June 2017

    I booked a single room at Mountain Jade – when I got there sun was streaming in through the windows and there was a great view of Hokitika's main street. Host was helpful, facilities were clean, and the free wi-fi was appreciated. Thanks!More

    Thank mrspidernz
    Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 7 June 2017

    Hi Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased that you had a great stay with us here. Yes we have had some fantastic weather here in Hokitika winter is a great time to see this part of new Zealand. We hope to...More

    Reviewed 9 May 2017

    We stayed in a lovely self contained apartment on Feb 23. Reached there just before 9pm as we had been driving from Christchurch and had a couple of hikes at Arthur's pass. If we had been further delayed checkin may have become difficult as the...More

    Thank IndFamTraveler
    Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 16 May 2017

    Hi Thank you for your great review of us. We are very happy that you had a great time on the west coast. We hope that the rest of your travels around New Zealand are as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

    Reviewed 1 May 2017

    We stayed here for two nights in mid April. The hostel is kept very clean and tidy by the owner/manager, who seemed always to be busy folding towels and sheets, making up beds etc. We stayed in a double room which was pretty small but...More

    Thank P W
    Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 16 May 2017

    Hi Thank you for your comments on us here. We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us here and hope the rest of your time in New Zealand is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

    Reviewed 27 April 2017

    Too many Bed bugs there, Avoid! I got biten Whole body, Face ,arms,back, Most Itchy Ever Never!!!!!!!!!! Everywhere swolen ,No efect medicine, Storong Bed bugs!!!!!! I got spend monay for madicine, Dr. fee, Extra accomodation e.t.c. cleaner staff "Jhon" was no appolozize, moreover he was...More

    Thank Pppoo
    Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 16 May 2017

    Hi Thank you for your review. We did go over the entire room as you did see us starting with the Commercial steam vacum, The beds were stripped completely. Every time a bed is used all of the sheets etc are changed and fresh sheets...More

    Rainforest Retreat
    1,366 reviews
    #8 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
    613 reviews
    #1 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
     
    Annabelle Motel
    263 reviews
    #2 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
     
    Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
    236 reviews
    #4 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$19 - US$38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 36
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mountain Jade Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • West Coast Region >
    • Hokitika
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (37)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Dining (6)
    Hotel & Grounds (21)
    Bathroom (4)
    Nearby
    Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
    236 reviews
    .21 km away
     
    Rainforest Retreat
    1,366 reviews
    97.72 km away
     
    Annabelle Motel
    263 reviews
    1.04 km away
     
    Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
    613 reviews
    1.42 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Fat Pipi Pizzas
    544 reviews
    .25 km away
    Stella Cafe Hokitika
    365 reviews
    .23 km away
    Stumpers Bar and Cafe
    608 reviews
    .21 km away
    Clocktower Cafe
    110 reviews
    .02 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Wilderness Gallery
    187 reviews
    .16 km away
    Hokitika Beach
    342 reviews
    .33 km away
    Hokitika Museum
    142 reviews
    .22 km away
    National Kiwi Centre
    166 reviews
    .13 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Mountain Jade Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Avoid!!!!!!!!Too many Bed bugs there!!! Dadly Worst Back packer!!!!"
    Read review
    "6 bed dorm is huge no feeling of being crampt, so generally a good sign for the rest of the rooms."
    Read review
    "Try to get a room which the window is not facing the bar on the other side of the road."
    Read review
    "If you're looking for a double - book in advance. There wasn't many people there when we stopped, so..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing