We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Darlington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night at the Dusky Lodge in a private twin room (bunk beds) but shared loos. The reception staff were very helpful (provided an extra pillow and even put the heater on for us in our bedroom as it was a cold night). We used the main kitchen (near to the reception area) which was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeedeedee
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

My daughter stayed here previously and gave it a good rating. Alas this was not to be our experience at all as standards have dropped considerably... Dirty bathroom in need of up grading, the kitchen was a mess, cobwebs on the inside of our bedroom window, spa pool lukewarm at best! Will not be returning and certainly don't recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisatF8418GT
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and let us know your thoughts. I am sorry to hear the accommodation was not up to your standard compared to the previous visit which you did rate us so highly. We will be reviewing all that you have mentioned.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Currently staying at the backpackers and having a blast, really chill out the staff and other backpackers are great, a great stay for kaikoura! Close to the town and the hot tub is sweet. If I come back here on my travels I will stay here again, plus the wifi is really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Stayed couple of nights in Dusky Lodge in a private double room. The rooms were ok, but Wifi didn't work. There was a sauna and spa pool, but neither was in use and we were really hoping to use them. Staff was helpfull and people in the common areas very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mindei
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. So sorry about the spa it was broken but now up and running again. We do not have the sauna anymore and is not being advertised. Our wifi has been a bit patchy but we have now solved that issue with extra big routers. If you are ever back in Kaikoura I would like to offer...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

clean comfortable hostel in a good location with great views. Kaikoura is the sort of place where you want to stay longer and this is a good value hostel with plenty of extra features (fires, pool, hot tub, spacious communal areas) to allow you to do that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bpsophie2016
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, all the best with your trip.

Reviewed 19 September 2016

We booked a private double room, and the room was clean enough. Bed was terrible, very uncomfortable and squeaky and left us both with back aches. The shower head was terrible, with one direct stream of water and no temperature control. The common rooms were well furnished, but the staff were obnoxiously loud and rude, dominating the space and making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin P
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Your review is very important to us, we do appreciate your thoughts, I am sorry you did you not enjoy your stay, plumber booked to fix the shower and we will look at the bed. All the best with the rest of your trip.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night in this hostel, and didn't spend too much time there as we were out a lot, but it was a reasonable hostel. The double room was quite small and the window looked out onto a main road, but it was warm and the wifi was good. Bathrooms were standard hostel fare, nothing spectacular but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank efhap31
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review.

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Lots of WFAs and workers in this hostel but they are all very friendly and happy to chill out and chat with you. Hot tub is a nice addition Which I made use of. They are free tea and coffee and free wifi. My only concern is that is was rather far from town at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky_212013
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, we will get some umbrellas for anyone that wants to walk into town in the rain.

Saint Kilda, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

A really enjoyable and accomodating, quiet stay. The staff could not have been more accomodating and informative if they tried, plus were very flexible around the individuals staying at the time. Sadly, due to weather, the pool was not open, but the hot tub was warm, and large enough for a decent sized group! Very reasonably priced and spaciously laid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kittentravels
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, the team have worked hard for the past year since we took over to make everyone's stay an enjoyable one so its great to get reviews like yours.

Balmoral, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We always try to get the best deal, sometimes that is booking.com deals and sometimes it is a bbh hostel where we get a discount from our BBH membercard. This hostel was suppose to be a bbh hostel but we soon discovered it is not anymore because BBH is raising prices for their members. Still this hostel gave us the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeuw605
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. All our budget rooms have been upgraded so it is good to hear excellent feedback from our guests. All the best with the rest of your trip.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 km away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
1.9 km away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
1.1 km away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#6 of 36 in Kaikoura
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.0 km away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is situated on Beach road, Kaikoura. We are the largest hostel in Kaikoura catering for groups and budget travellers. We offer a clean homely environment with bunk rooms, doubles, twins, ensuite rooms and heating in all rooms. All bed linen and pillows are provided. There are 3 large kitchen's fully equipped as well as BBQ's on the decks free to use. We have a large heated salt water pool, spa and sauna to enjoy while staying with us. Guest computers are available and the wifi can be used throughout the building. The hostel is only 5 minute walk to the town centre, and across the road from Whale Watchers. The best bakery in town is situated right beside us and grocery stores only minutes away. The intercity bus can drop you off outside the hostel, ask the driver when you start your journey. We have plenty of parking space and it's free to use. Luggage storage short term is available, if needed ask at reception. Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is a great place to relax, unwind and take in the great views and spectacular sunsets from our extensive decks. Our friendly team can help book tours or give you advice on what to do while you are with us. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range: RM178 - RM280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dusky Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dusky Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dusky Lodge & Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not get the indoor facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles chchchr15, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles VascoItaly, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“go to the lodge across the street”
 of 5 bubbles sailawade, 26 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There are loads of cheap backpackers here try somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 76jaynew, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stay in the front rooms on the first floor away from the common areas, it is better.”
 of 5 bubbles fab992014, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay