We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Start your review of Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed today NEW

Hospitality from Karl and his partner was great but the noise from people going up the stairs was a pain. Room was very warm and bed was a dream. Wet rooms may be easy for cleaning but leaves water everywhere in the bathroom.

Thank postmanpat39
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The motel located about 10 minutes walking distance from the town area. We like the view of beautiful snow cover mountain from motel. The owners are friendly and helpful. The room in good condition and clean with comfortable bed. stable wifi and strong shower water pressure. Many parking space on site. The room with full kitchen but not allow to...

1Thank sheacer
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lodge is situated a short walk from Town and has ample parking. Bedding and towels were good quality and clean. The kitchenette was clean and well equipped. The kitchen blind was dirty. The main issue for me was the smell of stale urine which seemed to be embedded in the fabric of the room. I did mention this and...

Thank Rowever15
IBH, Owner at Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We as owners and three of our cleaning staff checked twice for the odour in the room you had mentioned to us. None of us could detect any unpleasant smells.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We finally arrived at this lodge 7.5 hours after leaving Picton, due to the diversions still in force after the November 2016 earthquake. It was a welcoming sight! Lovely big room, spotless kitchenette and bathroom, and a welcome pack of tea, coffee etc. Clean bed linen, comfy beds, what more can you want. Parking right outside our room was a...

Thank 653AnnFrank
Vantaa, Finland
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Modern, tidy and nice place. Enough room for 3 people (deluxe twin or triple studio with spa bath). Nice and big spa bath. I would gladly stay there again! Check-out time 10 is way too early. But this seems to be standard in NZ. The pool is smaller than what you would think of watching the photos, but yet big...

Thank JohannaVantaalta
tel aviv
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I read good reviews here and on Booking. Have no idea why. Dated, unpleasant, basic. The pool is a freezing puddle - the photo is very misleading. Bedrooms too small to open a suitcase. Uncomfortable beds and chairs, no view but other people's cars in front. Window can hardly be opened in one room, the other with no windows. Price...

Thank sharon_avi
IBH, Owner at Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review

This response and the other on 3rd of March were expected from you. We must mention the extra cleaning charge was imposed because the unit was left in a very messy state and was un-rentable for 48 hours after your departure due to the lingering & offensive cooking odours. To retaliate with negative reviews is a shame.

Tamworth England
Reviewed 26 March 2017

The room was small and tired very dusty cleaning of this room was not a priority. It looked like builders or road workers had been using it. It was supposed to be a disabled access room but fell far short for the money and had we have known we would not have stayed there. Caution the patio window had not...

Thank Sunbeam8
Deloraine, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here while in Kaikoura and really enjoyed it, we had a really nice and really big room. Very fast internet and a spa bath in our room. The room was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Thank HLE-94
Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed at Kaikoura to do the Whale Watching experience. These motel/units were great to stay at. Spotlessly clean. Great location, just a couple of blocks from town. The owners were lovely and have a great sense of humour. Would definitely stay here again with no hesitation whatsoever.

Thank Philip C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We had a few logistical challenges getting to Kaikoura given road closures and delays with a bush fire, but the hosts were incredibly accommodating, helpful and understanding. Once there the rooms were very spacious and very clean. Highly recommended!

Thank rivermush

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (35)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Bathroom (5)
Room/Suite (9)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
View from Room (1)
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.7 km away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.0 km away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.7 km away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
109 reviews
1.6 km away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.9 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 16-18 Churchill Street, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range: RM420 - RM523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaikoura Gateway Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#6 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a unit away from the stairs”
postmanpat39, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at the back.”
Rowever15, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Notice that your room might be upstairs.”
JohannaVantaalta, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask what your getting or view the room before staying. Road side can be noisy.”
Sunbeam8, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms would be good.”
KarinC586, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$90* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates