We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Save
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (2)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good25%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pudding”(38 reviews)
“every evening”(17 reviews)
“free breakfast”(22 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
145
53
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
145
53
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspuddingevery eveningfree breakfastfree chocsocial hourthe kitchenhot water bottlesice cream every nighthostel offerscommon roomfree bikesherb gardenfavourite hostelnew zealandcommon areastwin roomclean facilities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Such a wonderful hostel So homely The chocolate pudding is delicious and served with a warm smile Was able to leave our luggage for 3 days as we went to abel tasman, all for free Lovely and friendly people All very clean Only 4 beds...More

Thank Mikaela B
Response from TasmanBayBP, Owner at Tasman Bay BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

Hi Mikaela B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. So happy to hear you loved it & all we have to offer especially that you found us friendly - that is so important to us. We really appreciate too that you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are an active retired couple, and we mostly do day hiking. We loved the Tasman Bay Backpackers. The property and our room was clean and attractive. We had everything we needed. The kitchen was clean and well stocked, and there were many indoor and...More

1  Thank Janet_D_11_11
Reviewed 9 March 2018

I only stayed here for one night. Adding one person to the double room so everyone had a bed to sleep on was no problem at all. The hostel has a nice, spacious sitting room and kitchen. Everything is nice and clean and there is...More

Thank myrnanikita
Response from TasmanBayBP, Owner at Tasman Bay BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

Hi there myrnanikita, Thxs for your review. We're very gald you found us accommodating re your sleeping arrangements and enjoyed most others things about our hostel. Re the number of showers/toilets downstairs I'm not sure I've ever heard this so I'm sorry to hear that...More

Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

This hostel is very clean & well-run with nice rooms & good facilities. The lounges & patios are spacious & encourage mingling amongst guests! The guy at the front desk was friendly & knowledgeable & the hostel is located in a quiet neighbourhood.

Thank Deep1122
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here about 2 weeks ago and the hostel is in an okay location and the staff were very nice, but unfortunately it was way to hot and we had to go to the local shop to buy ourselves some fans as the hostel...More

Thank JRamsey0
Response from TasmanBayBP, Manager at Tasman Bay BackpackersResponded 12 February 2018

Hi there JRamsey, Thank you for the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay. As you might have heard, Nelson has had the hottest January ever since records started. That has led to many...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Laundry Service
Details
Price range
US$38 - US$56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$38 - US$56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
0MillieMae0
20 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TasmanBayBP | Property representative |
Hi there, the Double room has shared facilities. The bathrooms/showers are in the hallway away from the rooms. This time of the year the full price applies. Reduced rates apply only in the Winter season. We hope this info... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The room which has the furthest location from the common room"
Read review
"Better stay in the first floor"
Read review
"I only saw the triple room, which was great to me. I'd say upstairs, rooms 14-18 would be a little less..."
Read review
"Don't book a twin ensuite room as there is no such thing"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing