We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Show Prices
#8 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 751: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. The little studio apartments are well fitted out but very cold. We arrived early evening and had to wait for a few hours before the studio warmed up with the 2 heaters there. On our second night there after dinner out we returned hoping to watch a movie only to find that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelkerry
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Travelkerry Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor feedback of your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We appreciate all your constructive feedback. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for both the Sky TV signal not working along with the midnight fire alarm. We have since had the sky technician...

Nelson
Reviewed 9 June 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EtravelMotueka
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

New Zealand
Reviewed 7 June 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elsthorpe
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The studio room was lovely, with elegant décor, a big, comfortable bed and a great bathroom. The only real let-down was the sound-proofing - we could hear the TV in the room next door and a screaming child (also next door) woke us up in the middle of the night. If you have a car, the location is handy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fussyflossie
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear fussyflosie Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and providing feedback on the design of the hotel room. We are terribly sorry that you were disturbed by other guests. In regard to dinning we have...

Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We rented an apartment for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. It does a motorway on one side but the soundproofing was excellent . The apartment was spacious,the kitchenette very useable, the bed large and soft. The bathroom was large and the were no problems with hot water. The only problem was the apartments need more lights as they are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert L
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Robert L Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor feedback of your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to return. We appreciate your comments and will pass on your kind remarks to our front office team. Thank you for...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed two nights over a weekend in one of the one bedroom cottages, backing onto the stream behind. Nice concept, more space than an average hotel room, very quaint from the outside. When inside, we found the interior, tired and not very well lit. The Mediterranean styled tiled floor looked filthy, especially the wide grouting between them, quite off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angef261
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear angef261 Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your detailed feedback in regards to lighting and repainting. As the property is now 10 years old a full maintenance plan is underway so your comments are timely. It was disappointing to read about the less than acceptable presentation of the...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had two nights in this hotel, which is located a bit out of the way from Nelson town centre. It was a great little find, but don't let the quaint decor put you off! While it's a little bit dated at first glance, the overall look of the rooms and public spaces adds to the cottage-type feel of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T J
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear T J Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on our Tripadvisor page. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards

Glen Waverley
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We'd booked for 4 days, but there was lots to do in the Nelson region, and the accommodation was very good value for money so we stayed 4 more. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment, and were updated to a 1 bedroom spa suite for the first 4 days. This is in the summer cottages, with a living area downstairs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin D
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Colin D Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a trip advisor review. We really appreciate the detail of your review and I am sure it will be very helpful for future guests to read of the variety of quality accommodation on offer. We look forward to you staying with us again when you next visit...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great accommodation but units could be better lit. Very good beds and a beautiful bathroom but water not hot enough. Biggest issue with this place is location, a motorway on one side, and airport on the other, some aircraft landed at 3am but most started at 6am. Disappointed will not return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick943
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Dick943 Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on our tripadvisor page. We appreciate your comments and are sorry that had a disturbed stay. It is most unusual for aircraft to be landing at 3.00am so may have been the air ambulance an dor the postal services as all commercial flights...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were welcomed by very friendly staff and given a free upgrade to a cottage room. Location is close to the airport but a little way from the town centre. The room was very nice and very large with the bedrooms and bathroom up stairs with a lounge and kitchen downstairs. The only thing missing was there was no TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russdi
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Russdi, Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our Tripadvisor feedback form. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and providing feedback on the design of the hotel room. We are constantly striving to provide excellent service and your comments are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand...

245 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.9 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
600 reviews
5.9 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
6.7 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 42 in Nelson
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
6.0 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
511 reviews
6.1 km away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#11 of 42 in Nelson
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A quaint handcrafted resort village with a charming hotel & fully furnished one and two bedroom cottages overlooking colorful cottage gardens and a spacious village green. The hotel was voted best in the country by HANZ in 2008. Enjoy the resort's award winning restaurant, health spa, gymnasium and solar heated pool. Monaco has a range of conference & function facilities. Located just 5 minutes from Nelson Airport and 15 from central city on the pretty Waimea Estuary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: RM399 - RM875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
11 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On the inside row on the Village Green is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles F4987WBkarenj, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cottages are fabulous”
 of 5 bubbles susiek486, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lake facing rooms can see a beautiful sunset”
 of 5 bubbles davidlS3592QB, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“select a lagoon view room”
 of 5 bubbles MaxFernando, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Every Cottage is marvelleous”
 of 5 bubbles 66Claire, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay