We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harbourside Motor Lodge

Show Prices
#9 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harbourside Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 114: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for over 2 weeks. The owners are awesome looked after me really well wonderful Hospitality. Loved the views from the rooms of the Marina. Nice and comfortable rooms. A wonderful treat for breakfast where you choose from the menu and they cook it fresh none of this buffet meals. The staff are lovely too. It was a home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jewelz72
Hirwaun
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This motel is right by the harbour in Port Nelson. At first sight I thought it was in the middle of an industrial area, and was a little disappointed. My opinion soon changed when we arrived at the motel. The room was immaculate and had all amenities necessary to have an enjoyable stay. The moteliers were absolutely fantastic and could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErylAnn
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed our stay at the Harbourside Motor Lodge. Staff friendly, room's were very clean and tidy, bed comfortable and good selection of channels on the TV. Only issue was that we did not get any milk in our room.Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littleflamer
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Harbourside Lodge. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with the best stay possible. I am sorry to hear you were not offered a complimentary bottle of milk upon check in. We hope to see you again on your next stay in Nelson. Regards, Cathy and David

cheshire uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked a courtyard room here for one night before and after walking the Abel Tasman track. The owners kindly upgraded us to a harbour view room on our return and on the ground floor to save our legs! Both rooms were very comfortable and pleasant and we did appreciate the view from the second room. Breakfast was included,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane f
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of Harbourside. It is always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their time with us. The Abel Tasman tracks certainly are a draw card for many travelers and we often have guests stay before and after their hikes. We hope to see you again someday if you are ever in Nelson. regards, Cathy...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This motel is so nice! The room was big and tidy, the bed really comfortable. The included breakfast was large and really tasty. Would maybe have liked to have a small kitchenette to cook something small in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah U
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, all of our beds have quality latex toppers to ensure you get a good nights sleep. Unfortunately the rooms were not designed to have more than the microwave for cooking. Luckily for us we have a great restaurant next door that offers room service all day with no delivery charge. So pleased you enjoyed...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely motel, rooms are spacious and comfy, great harbour view and a fantastic breakfast. Excellent value for money, we stayed at another hotel in Nelson that was the same per night, but was just not as good regarding the customer service, the decor and the in-room facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cait_M_S
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always nice to read about a guests positive experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Regards, Cathy and David

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is clean, well designed and the rooms have a balcony looking over the harbour. They also have everything you might reasonably need. It is not luxury but it is appealing and the new management, since 10/2016, are clearly intent on doing their best. There is a pleasant walk from the premises to the centre of Nelson. Worthwhile in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jtwoodfield
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. The location of the property is ideal for those who want a good nights sleep and still be close enough to town to enjoy all that Nelson has to offer. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the complimentary breakfast we had to offer. We...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was quite large, parking was easy, breakfast was simple but ample. We could have walked into town for dinner but decided on taking out Chinese food one night and eating at the the Anchor restaurant next door the second night. Good heating controls, small shower but full bathtub for a change.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DubsterThe
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Harbourside. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Nelson. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ and hope to see you again if you are ever to visit Nelson in the future. Cathy and David

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Let's keep this simple. I travel to Nelson once a month for work and I'm really fussy about my accomodation. I can stay anywhere I like and someone else is paying for it. My requirements are simple. Large room, comfy bed, quiet and walking distance from a meal. What I get here is all that plus a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandysviews
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of Harbourside. We do appreciate hearing our guests thoughts on their stay with us. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again. Cathy and David.

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Having read previous reviews before booking I wasn't concerned driving through an industrial estate to reach this motel, although it could be off-putting to the unaware! Don't worry, the location is beautiful with stunning views across the marina once you get there. Unfortunately 'sunny Nelson' went awol the day we arrived but we still had a pleasant walk into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LonelyBlade
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a great review. We strive to give guests the best stay possible and are pleased to read that your stay with us did not disappoint. The views of the marina are certainly a draw card for the majority of travelers that choose to stay with us. If only we had a dial to turn on...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.8 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
623 reviews
1.6 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.8 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 42 in Nelson
437 reviews
6.9 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Harbourside Motor Lodge

Address: 4 Duncan Street | Port Nelson, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: RM428 - RM535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbourside Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Harbourside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harbourside Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles ErylAnn, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to get a room facing the marina”
 of 5 bubbles jtwoodfield, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles sandysviews, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have private balcony looking over marina”
 of 5 bubbles LonelyBlade, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book a harbour view room”
 of 5 bubbles Magnetyx, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5