We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castles Motel

Booking.comUS$59*
View Deal
#26 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$59*
Great Deal
US$60*
US$60*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Castles Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Castles Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 15 May 2015

This motel was a very good choice... for a road trip... right on SH 6 but not in main Nelson... its a 15 Minute drive to main Nelson town. But its very convenient... had a kitchenette and McDonalds right there. Close to Tahunanui Beach and lots of eating places around. Big Spacious rooms with lovely pullout Leather chairs. Shower is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monalisa777
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Loved this affordable place!!! Highly recommend it! The room was very clean and several restaurants and a few bars were within a short walking distance as well as the best beach!!! Nice staff and they were very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stepmel
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Well positioned for eateries nearby. All in short walking distance. Thai to McDonalds. Very tidy and well presented. Good parking with security lighting. Beach nearby. Good kitchen facilities. Staff efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in a one bedroom downstairs unit for 10 nights and booked this motel as it has a full kitchen with a practical size fridge. The lounge/dining area was separate from the kitchen and there were brand new recliners in the lounge area. The couple who run the motel were very helpful and professional. Loved the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken_and_Brooke
Sebastopol
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Castles Motel is well located in the Tahunanui section of Nelson. It is close to a great beach playground where our nine year-old daughter played with several friendly and inclusive Kiwi kids. There are a number of restaurants to choose from in the surrounding area. We found the staff to be professional and attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buju L
Reviewed 25 January 2015 via mobile

I Will never ever come back or recommend! we called in the night before, a bit of a last min booking to see Nelson for a couple of days, to see this amazing place that everyone has told us about. Less then 18 HOURS LATER We stopped in to check out our room and was hoping to drop off our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobiUSA
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review

This is another review from the same source of the previous negative reviews. Please read my response to those reviews below. Thank you.

Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

Firstly staff are very disrespectful and ignorant it is run by an elderly unpresentable couple and his daughter! Rooms are very dirty and its very unpredictable with what you get. What we saw on the Internet and what we saw in reality were worlds apart. Pictures show rooms with spas but after we enquired to our disappointment only 1 room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cj1375
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review

We have checked all our January bookings and can confirm this reviewer has never stayed at our motel. It is directly linked to the negative review below as it includes references to the discussion held over that cancelled booking. Please read our response to the review below.

Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

Don't know where to begin! I would never recommend this place to even an enemy. The rooms are dated and look nothing like the pictures which gave my family and I high expectations. The service was incredibly rude and was prejudice and naïve towards anyone not from New Zealand they told me America was '50 countries in one area' and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo-musser
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review

This person cancelled their booking by phone on the day they were due to arrive. While explaining the late cancellation policy and offering not to charge a fee if the room could be re-let she began threatening us with a negative review on Trip Advisor even though she admitted she had never been in any of our rooms or stayed...

Reviewed 21 December 2014

Wonderful friendly welcome on arrival, clean well presented rooms, comfy beds and great shower - this stay ticked all the boxes as far as I am concerned! Stayed here as part of a group and everyone was very happy with the accommodation. Will be booking here next time I need to stay in Nelson.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shellim15
Westport, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2014

I stayed here for business for three nights. I stayed in a unit that had bedroom and kitchen and spa bath. It was very clean. Close to some excellent restaurants in Tahunanui. I could cook my breakfast and plunger coffee was provided in my room. There was free wifi and I worked at night in my room on the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maz R

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.4 km away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#32 of 41 in Nelson
76 reviews
1.0 km away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
89 reviews
2.5 km away
Urban Apartments
Urban Apartments
#33 of 41 in Nelson
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
ASURE Fountain Resort Motel
5.3 km away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#10 of 41 in Nelson
117 reviews
0.5 km away
Abelia Motor Lodge
Abelia Motor Lodge
#19 of 41 in Nelson
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
11 Spacious Units, ranging from Studios to 1 Bedroom Units some with 2 person Spa Baths in the Bedrooms. All Units have Full Kitchen Facilities. Castles Motel is a 200m walk to Tahunanui Beach, 6 minute drive to the City Centre of Nelson and Close to Airport. We are surrounded by numerous Restaurants and Cafes. Try a stay at our Friendly family Run Motel, your Gateway to the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castles Motel

Address: 44 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: RM260 - RM455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castles Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castles Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nelson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castles Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All seem to be fine.”
578jeant, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs is best, away from the comings and goings.”
O8420WFbrianm, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor room better if you have lots of luggage”
RobHockleyUK, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the main road are quiter”
456zuhairs, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We gotta ground floor level room...convenient if you have lots of luggage”
  • Small Compact Shower
  • Bath Area
  • Kitchenette
  • Room
  • View of Room
Monalisa777, 15 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$59* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$60
Expedia.comUS$60
TravelocityUS$60
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates