We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Orongo Bay Homestead

Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (4)
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4.5 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
17
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
17
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house birdsong chris homestay suite hosts
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stayed here for three nights and couldn't fault anything. We had a ground floor room with two decks. The room was immaculate, Michael and Chris were the perfect hosts and the garden and wildlife within fascinating. Breakfast was a delight. Thank you so much.More

Thank Judith59_10
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you Judith and Harry. it was a pleasure to look after you; I was pleased you enjoyed the Greywacke Sauvignon Blanc! Thank you so much also for the kind comments in the guest book.Have a lovely spring - we are just getting the big...More

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

The Orongo Homestead is an elegant but comfortable slice of paradise close to the historic community and tourist amenities of Russell. We stayed in the upstairs suite and enjoyed looking out over the trees and pond. The suite is spacious and light with a small...More

Thank katharinep3
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you Katharine, we are delighted that you and Tom enjoyed the peace, and that our little town was also a hit! Late summer is lovely here but the last figs have fallen (into my apron!) and today's descent to 10 degrees has us piling...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017

We booked this B&B on the last leg of our two week New Zealand trip. It was a bit pricey but booked it based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were disappointed from the minute we drove up to the place to the minute we left after...More

Thank Texan1977
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Lissa, We are genuinely sorry you were disappointed and did not feel the same as other Trip Advisor guests at our historic Homestead. Your visit was at the end of winter and, with our organic focus, there is only so much of nature that...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Michael & Chris are perfect hosts & go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The beds & pillows are so comfortable with sheets that are a blend of cotton & wool & surprising in winter, no need for an electric blanket! Underfloor...More

Thank LesH400
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you Les for your shining review. You and Judy were a real joy to look after, even more special because it was such a lovely time of celebration for you. We look forward to seeing you back with friends. The first glass will be...More

Reviewed 26 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are looking to return in summer. Chris and Michael are fantastic hosts who have a high attention to detail. We were made very welcome in the main house and nothing was a problem. The breakfasts were great,...More

Thank allycat3030
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 14 February 2018

It was a pleasure to look after you both, and with summer not really ending until April we do hope to see you again.

View more reviews
About
Description
Known as the historic-listed First American Consulate in New Zealand, dating to the 1860's, this fully-restored, two-storey coastal Homestead is a peaceful, exclusive country residence with fine wine, More renowned cuisine. Sequestered in fifteen acres of lawns, native bush and certified organic gardens, it looks across the sub-tropical Bay of Islands. Guests are accommodated in three distinctive, wood-paneled rooms all with separate entrance, ensuite bathroom, DVD, flat screen TV, wireless internet. Historic Russell is just 5 minutes drive around the bay. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Sauna
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Room types
Suites, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$186 - US$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$186 - US$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Motel Russell
129 reviews
3.38 km away
Hananui Lodge and Apartments
328 reviews
3.77 km away
Opua Motel
22 reviews
3.84 km away
Russell Cottages
235 reviews
3.85 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 28 nearby restaurants
Omata Estate Vineyard
130 reviews
1.42 km away
Marina Cafe and Bar
69 reviews
3.66 km away
The Gables Restaurant
903 reviews
3.81 km away
Opua Cruising Club Bistro
33 reviews
3.88 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 37 nearby attractions
Great Escape
94 reviews
3.59 km away
Pompallier Mission and Printery
488 reviews
3.60 km away
Christ Church
313 reviews
3.80 km away
Oneroa Bay
84 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Orongo Bay Homestead staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All rooms lovely, but higher floors provided a nice view of the grounds"
mrobinsson
30 Mar 2016
Read review
"All three rooms are wonderful - probably not the right place for kids because it is so restful, tranquil..."
desmondv66
30 Mar 2016
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing