We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Start your review of Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
 Click to rate
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. it's such a great relaxing place to stay as a family in such a picturesque town. We loved the peaceful atmosphere and the comfortable units. beds are very comfortable too. we will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek W
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your positive words about Arrowtown Viking Lodge, very happy you were comfortable, and found the peace and quiet to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again.

Balclutha, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the decor was a little dated and the pressure in the shower not quite as we'd like, it was a comfortable, clean and well appointed motel unit. The staff were welcoming and friendly. It was great to have a full size fridge with freezer as opposed to the usual "caravan" type fridge, and having a washing machine in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dacarson
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review we try hard to be welcoming and helpful in order to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks also for letting us know about the shower pressure we will endeavour to rectify this asap.

Oamaru
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We spent 3 nights here and found it spacious, comfortable and quiet. Great traditional motel with everything you need in the kitchen, clean bathroom and comfy bed. Handy to Four Square and short walk to Arrowtown centre. Would certainly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kakanui1371
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive words about our Motel, and very pleased you had everything you needed to make your stay enjoyable. Would love to see you here again.

Limpinwood
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We were so pleased to find this cosy motel after trying to get reasonable accommodation in Queenstown which is overpriced & unavailable. Arrowtown has such a relaxed, vibrant atmosphere without the hassles of Queenstown which is very close for a day visit to see its highlights. Sheelagh was very efficient, knowledgable & helpful. I gave it a 4 because the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenwaldo
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi, and thanks for your positive review of our motel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and Arrowtown in general. We hope you will return one day and in the meantime enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We booked this one nighter as we were travelling down to Queenstown. It was immaculately clean and very easy to find and check in. Sheelagh was very professional and friendly. Really recommend the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whittakb
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feed back, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We were two couples who stayed here in November 2016 for three nights - we had an A frame cottage (No. 2) - this was a two storey unit - upstairs consisted of three beds - one double and two singles. Downstairs had a separate bedroom with a queen sized bedroom. We also had a complete kitchen - fridge, microwave,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks George, your positive comments are really appreciated, and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again some time.

Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I have seen in an article that this motel has four and a half stars. It either needs a complete refurbishment or demolish and start again. I have been told the units are privately owned and a Manager is on site. She appears to work hard but owners do not want to spend money. A lingering smell, holes on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PMR1
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts on Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, the fact you were undoubtedly disappointed is to say the least, upsetting for us. We have never pretended to be a 4.5 star motel and are qualmark rated "3.5 stars", yes the carpet on the stairs is worn but hardly in holes and is due for replacement during the off...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Quite a quaint little place with separate freestanding units.Heating was great and facilities good however the lounges in the room were a bit ancient and sagging and water pressure very poor but overall we would stay there again. Access from street was very narrow caused by cars in other units parking and partially blocking access to our unit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sullo1937
shorty27, Owner at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

I am pleased you will come and stay again, and apologise for the of lack water pressure, now it has been brought to our attention we will endeavour to fix it. The lounge suite is starting to lose its firmness and is due to be replaced. Visitors to other guests and units is a problem that is difficult to address...

South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Staff were friendly and accommodating but we were quite disappointed with our stay. There is not much room for parking and at one time our rental car brushed a hedge completely down one side so we could get past another patrons parked and unattended car. The shower is very small and being 6 foot tall and broad shouldered it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff, but sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. Sometimes we have guests who have visitors, and the extra cars can be a problem especially as they usually haven't been asked to take other guest vehicles into consideration when parking. Arrowtown has had a very busy summer and there has...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 March 2016

The place itself is not super flash but if you are wanting a comfortable place this is it we loved it spent 7 days there and the lady running the place was massively helpful and went out of her way with extra things we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yukich1962

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.7 km away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#5 of 5 in Arrowtown
113 reviews
11.5 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
2.3 km away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
917 reviews
0.3 km away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel,situated on the sunny side of Arrowtown with its spacious family friendly one and two bedroom chalets,all with fully equipped kitchens,Sky Guest select and own washing machine. The large grassy section, with swimming pool,trampoline and guest BBQ's is perfect for those travel weary folk to just relax and enjoy. Restaurants,Cafe bars and Retail outlets along with the many cycle or walking trails provide something for everyone,while Queenstown and surrounding Ski fields are just a short drive for those looking for more excitement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel

Address: 21 Inverness Crescent | Otago, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Price Range: RM508 - RM1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the units are reasonably quiet”
  • Laundry area
  • Kitchen
  • seperate shower and toilet
  • Lounge room
  • downstairs bedroom
  • Lounge room
  • Upstairs bedrrom
 of 5 bubbles gbaias, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nearest to the Pool is the best during summer”
 of 5 bubbles Kitson1351, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Our room in the middle had a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles f16addict, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Motel not hotel, centrally located”
 of 5 bubbles joana248, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All in cute, individual chalets, so I think they are all the same.”
 of 5 bubbles LadyMol, 26 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5