We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
50 Casuarina Way Casuarina Way, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Hotels.com
US$182
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Agoda.com
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/08/22
PricelineUS$165
eDreamsUS$165
Orbitz.comUS$182
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (5)

About

#6 of 10 hotels in Kununurra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Lakeside Resort offers a unique location on the banks of Lily Creek Lagoon. Enjoy watching the sunset over the Lagoon before heading to our poolside restaurant for dinner.Our newly renovated premier King Rooms offer a 4 star city corporate style including King Bedding, full size fridge and a 36 inch TV with DVD. Continental Breakfast is included in majority of room rates. We are "Kununurra with a view"
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
212Reviews6Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 87
  • 29
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
olthomas44 wrote a review Sep 2021
Perth482 contributions175 helpful votes
We booked late through a 3rd party seller, just needing a single night and hadn't realised that the resort is currently being refurbished and several of its facilities are closed but we got a friendly phone call to point this out and offer us the option of changing our minds. It wasn't needed - we were happy to stay. Chose the premium room and we found it to be clean, spacious and to our requirements. Linens and pillows were good. Mugs were tiny but we can forgive that. The reception staff were more than accommodating at our request for a late check out and for that we are very grateful. We would usually chose to stay somewhere much more individual but for the single night we were happy with the Kununurra Lake Resort
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
exhausted10 wrote a review Aug 2021
perth australia414 contributions103 helpful votes
Confusing when I phoned to confirm reservation. They could find no record of my reservation and said I must have the wrong hotel and to phone them. I drove from airport to hotel and on further checking found my reservation. Having said that, the room was lovely. Big king size bed, full size fridge, lovely modern room and bathroom with a comfortable lounge chair. The room smelt so fresh. Good size TV and aircon worked well. The resort is undergoing renervation, so there is no pool, however, if the rooms are anything to go by the renervation will be lovely. Also plenty of parking which has a secure gate overnight.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lesley H wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
I had booked 6 nights at Lakeside resort via Booking .com 1st-6th August 2021 ..fortunately I rang the resort to confirm airport pickup ! A very rude French receptionist informed me of the refurbishment.I was travelling alone and no transport ! However the MANAGER found me alternative accommodation at the Kimberley Croc Motel which turned out to be to my advantage and where I had a wonderful stay .I was appalled at the attitude of Lakeside Resort .if I had not checked prior to my arrival in Kununurra I would be still standing alone on the tarmac !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: No comment !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakeside Resort, General Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Responded 14 Aug 2021
We are glad your alternative accommodation option suited well your stay in Kununurra. Since we have taken management over 2 months ago, facilities have gotten worse at the resort and since then we went through every single booking to let our future customers know about the lack of facilities. We never tried to ruin anyone's holiday, it is quite the opposite actually. It took us over 2 weeks to be able to give people a decent notice to cancel/ look for alternative options. We had not forgotten about your booking and we certainly wouldn't have left you on the tarmac! The receptionist was not that rude, she was just trying to explain everything was fixable and we were doing our best to offer suitable options. Fortunately everything worked out well. All the best in your future travels
Read more
Clareymacagram wrote a review Aug 2021
Perth, Australia145 contributions46 helpful votes
This place is under new ownership so I struggled with whether to post this review or not, particularly during these covid times where a lot of small businesses are doing it tough. However, while the new owners may have inherited a run down business (no bar, no restaurant and no pool), there were a few easy wins they missed, so I'm going to focus on these: they didn't respond to emails; reception was only manned from 8am to 4pm, so we never saw them as we were on full-day tours each day; rooms only "cleaned" every second day and the verandahs outside the rooms were not cleaned at all (covered in droppings with no door mat to wipe your feet). It's just the little things but there wasn't even a box of tissues in the room. On arrival on the Sunday, the receptionist also told us that everything was closed for lunch/dinner except the pub, which we found out later was not actually the case. Not a bad location being next to the lagoon/lake, but not really close walking distance to town centre, so you'll definitely need a car. Wifi didn't work at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakeside Resort, General Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Thank you for your constructive feedback, we really appreciated it. Since we have taken over 2 months ago, facilities have gotten worse and we are trying to do our best with what we got. We have someone on duty 7 days a week from 8 to 4pm but we also live on site, so any problems/ concerns could be fixed calling the emergency number on the door. Little things like box of tissues/ mat at the door could have been fixed in no time during your stay. Dining options are definitely limited on Sunday in Kununurra, especially for dinner but a couple of cafes are actually open for lunch. Sorry if you were given the wrong information. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Kununurra despite the circumstances and we wish you all the best in your future travels. Lakeside Resort team
Read more
Karina R wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Originally booked here, but after reading website and restaurant was closed, my friend travelling with me had the common sense to email them about amenities, airport pick up and shuttle to town as advised on their advert. Reply was if you aren't self sufficient we recommend not staying there. We changed accommodation. When we arrived in Kununurra, a couple and a lady were left stranded at the airport who were booked here. Our driver kindly dropped them off. We later met up with the couple on a tour. TV in there room was not working properly, pool was empty and no hot food. They should be honest about what they can offer. Have heard from the locals their renovations when finished will make the place great but purely on principle for the people's holiday's they ruined I would not stay there
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakeside Resort, General Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Hello and thank you for your feedback. The 2 ladies that were left at the airport were upgraded at the resort and we made it up to them as we missed on that transfer. They seem to be quite happy after they stay. The restaurant was closed at the end of last year, due to Covid/ lack of staff and each booking receives a confirmation letter that notifies no food at the resort since then. We have inherited of a run down business to look after and the swimming pool was put out of action a few weeks after we took over. Unfortunately things have gotten worse with the pool closure but we NEVER try to ruin anyone's holiday, it is quite the opposite actually. We are extremely honest in term of letting people know the lack of facilities we are experiencing at the resort. We went through every single booking to let people know; We accommodate the customers who decide to stay with us the best we can and we arrange them with lifts in town whenever they need it. We are only doing our best at Lakeside Resort and we are happy when we meet customers who enjoy the amazing spot we have despite the circumstances. We wish you all the best Lakeside Resort Team
Read more
Pauline W wrote a review Aug 2021
23 contributions4 helpful votes
Although it was explained that refurbishment of this run down property was being done and they organised a microwave and toaster for our king premier room a lot was left to be desired such as when room was cleaned every second day cleaner didn't check and empty all bins verandah surrounding rooms wasn't cleaned at all. When dropping off key to room no one was to be seen
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakeside Resort, General Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at the resort. Unfortunately being very often understaffed, we can not check every room services. We trust our housekeepers to do a good job but it rarely happens that things are not done properly. Should we have known during your stay, we would have fixed it straight away. Around midday the receptionist on duty is doing a rooms check to ensure that we handle rooms to a respectable standard, that might be why no one was there while you checked out. We apologized for not providing the service you expected and wish you all the best in your future travels King regards Lakeside Resort team
Read more
Mel Radcliffe wrote a review Apr 2021
Darwin, Australia142 contributions16 helpful votes
The receptionist was as glum as they come, no smile, monotone, sorry for arriving so you could do your job. Good Friday smile for penalty rates mate! You work in the air conditioning, not exactly busy either. Weren't give directions to our room. Advised that the bar would be open later "because it is usually open on public holidays". Incorrect. Not a sign a other staff member or even a murmur that something was going to happen. It's your business to know these things! The beautiful big pool was not clean, water was cloudy and there were bugs and debris floating in it. (There was pool cleaning equipment right next to the pool!) Sunbeds dated. No evening lighting around the pool area, only blue ones I'm the actual pool. Screams safety hazard! Rooms were ok, a few holes in the drapes, comfortable bed, hot shower (a screen or at least a curtain might have been a nice idea for the corner floor shower...), quiet location, comfy bed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakeside Resort, General Manager at Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Responded 6 Apr 2021
Good Afternoon Mel, Please accept our apologies for your check in experience. We have policy in place on explaining to each guest on how to get to your room and the current closures within the property due to an upcoming refurbishment. I am sorry that your experience was not positive. Our pool had a filter breakdown that was not picked up until Monday so again we apologise for this. As mentioned we are about to undergo a property upgrade and at the completion we do hope that you would return and give us a chance to correct your experience and create a fantastic memory. Warm Regards Nicole Pengilly General Manager
Read more
Vixta wrote a review Jan 2021
16 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here for two nights at the end of December 2020 and loved the location, surrounds and room near the pool. Staff were lovely and helpful. Just a shame that the restaurant bar and grill wasn't open during that time of the year. It looked like a beaut spot to enjoy a meal.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marilynn F wrote a review Sep 2020
Perth, Australia5 contributions
Not quite what we were expecting, more of a caravan park, no transport available to town or airport, no breakfast, not close to town or shops in 40 degree heatni microwave or bowls or plates to use. The pool was a great asset. A bit disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dovile Anderson wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Very friendly customer service, lakeside views, amazing pool and tasty dinners at the restaurant. We stayed at a family room which was very comfortable. It was more of a hotel type of accommodation than self-sustained cabin (cabins with kitchen are available at other parks in Kununurra). Although there are no kitchen in the rooms, one could use the available bbq facilities if had their own dishes. Recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$132 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaKimberley RegionKununurra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Which popular attractions are close to Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
Nearby attractions include El Questro Wilderness Park (1.1 km), Mitchell River National Park (0.9 km), and Artlandish Aboriginal Art Gallery (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wild Mango Cafe, Cornerside Cafe, and Kimberley Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lakeside Resort Kununurra?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.