We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra

Save
Share
Lakeview Drive, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$124
View deal
Expedia.comUS$145
Hotels.comUS$145
TravelocityUS$145
PricelineUS$131
Agoda.comUS$131
eDreamsUS$124
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 15 Specialty lodging in Kununurra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
257Reviews2Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 127
  • 85
  • 24
  • 16
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Henry W wrote a review Jul 2022
Longreach, Australia105 contributions4 helpful votes
Amenities were great and even had a resident owl in the men's. Our site for our tent was grassed but shade was one tree that the bats then used to sit in at night and leave a mess on both the car and tent. Location on Lake Kununurra is fabulous although it does lead to to some additional early morning noise from the departing seaplanes. The park has catfish feeding and their is a friendly freshie George that regularly visits although we did not look for him LOL
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Book early to get a shady site if camping
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kununnurra Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Hi Henry, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra and taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re pleased to read you loved your time with us in the park and especially enjoyed our facilities and local wildlife! We're sorry to hear you had issues with flying foxes at night but unfortunately, where they forage is out of our control. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra team.
Read more
phillipa g wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions
Basic accommodation but great location. Stayed in cabin 1 right near the waters edge got to see crocodiles every day and night. Wildlife galore! Rooms are old but clean. Mattresses could probably do with replacing but has everything you need. Saturday night there’s a pop up food van at croc steps. Triple j boats picks up from here as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kununnurra Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Hi Phillipa, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra and providing your comments. We’re over the moon to read you loved your stay with us and the beautiful setting around us, especially getting up close and personal with some of the native wildlife abounding in the park. We're aware that some of our cabin stock is ageing and in need of upgrade, but I'm pleased to advised that this is planned to take place the near future. We can’t wait to welcome you back to do it all again soon! Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra team.
Read more
Jillsy53 wrote a review Jun 2022
Greater Melbourne, Australia80 contributions12 helpful votes
Magnificent setting on the shore of Lake Kununurra with amazing sunsets. But let down by little things. Lots of things in our “deluxe” cabin didn’t work - the hot plates, the gas barbecue (which they fixed), the television, the mixer tap in the kitchen came off in your hand when you turned it on, the slats in the vertical blinds fell off when you tried to shut them, half the machines in the laundry were out of order. Also they only gave you two knives, forks, glasses, plates etc for two people so you were constantly having to wash things during a meal
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kununnurra Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 30 Jun 2022
G’day Jillsy, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, and taking the time to provide your comments. We’re glad you liked your stay but are sorry to read there were some troubles with your cabin. Your feedback has been passed on to our maintenance team to follow up. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra team.
Read more
Cathy E wrote a review Jun 2022
Melbourne, Australia21 contributions24 helpful votes
Great park overlooking lake, great location and amenities for holiday makers. We had booked a cabin for 2 of us, but it actually slept 8 - not sure why we would be given that size room. Cabin was clean but in desperate need of refurb - needs painting, cupboard doors off hinges, covers on light fittings missing. Curtains separated each room and due to cathedral type ceilings there was a gap between ensuite and ceiling so no privacy whilst in toilet - you could look over top from bunk bed. We put a blanket over the couch as it was disgusting, can not believe management would allow themselves to be open to a bad review due to furniture. Previous reviews had mentioned the state of a couch as well. Not value for price of $200 per night. Beware cabin no. 2.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kununnurra Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Hi Cathy, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, and taking the time to provide your comments. We’re glad you liked your stay but are sorry to read there were some troubles with your cabin. We are aware that some of our cabins require some TLC and this is one scheduled for upgrade in the near future. Just for your information, when you book online, the booking automatically drops into the category of cabin you choose and bedding configurations can be found on the website against the different cabin types. Hope this clarifies the situation. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra team.
Read more
Peter S wrote a review May 2022
Perth, Australia9 contributions
My wife and I have spent 5 nights at this beautiful caravan park that hosts lake frontage sites for large vehicles we have a Motorhome the park is spotless and amentaties very well maintained with a swimming pool,excellent shady sites, and well kept gardens A very relaxing ambience awaits at the lake frontage ideal for bird watching,relaxing or just taking photos that would make any calendar especially the sunset pics We were met by 2 amazing staff Kath and Kim who couldn’t do enough for us we actually extended our stay because of them Congratulations to GDay a very enjoyable stay in Kununurra and yes we will be back on our return trip Peter and Bev
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kununnurra Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 25 May 2022
G’day Peter and Bev, thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review! We're over the moon to read that your stay with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra was 5/5. We're delighted that you loved our awesome location and that our friendly staff made for an even better stay. We'll make sure that your kind words are passed on to Kath and Kim. We can't wait to see you join us again on your return trip. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra team.
Read more
Geni7 wrote a review Nov 2021
Perth Western Australia280 contributions145 helpful votes
We stayed in the caravan park and were very impressed. The lily ponds near the park are beautiful and the park is right on the lakes edge. The water edge provided a great spot to position your chairs for sundowners and to watch the flocks of bats returning to roost each evening. We didn’t see any crocs. The ablutions are spotlessly clean – thanks Mr Cleaner who was also a font of friendly information on the surrounding area. The cabins were very nice and ranged from small to large. The gardens were well maintained as was the pool. Slightly out of town but fine if you have a car. My only complaint was that there was a snake display on the reception counter – n-o-t a good idea at all as it gives guests a shock and particularly if they are scared of snakes. The reception lady told us that it didn’t go down well with people and many guests commented negatively on this. Please consider snake phobic people. Apart from this I’d highly recommend this park.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Overlooking the lake or the lily ponds
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kununnurra Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 3 Dec 2021
G’day Geni7, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your kind words. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.
Read more
Erik S wrote a review Oct 2021
Darwin, Australia40 contributions7 helpful votes
The staff are friendly and the park amenities are clean and tidy. You can swim in the lake or the pool. The rates where cheap for a waterfront site and has many trees for shade. I would recommend this park for anyone visiting Kununurra
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kununnurra Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 28 Oct 2021
G’day P9670FOeriks, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra and taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re pleased to read you loved your time with us and especially enjoyed our facilities! We can’t wait to welcome you back to share them all over again. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.
Read more
niamh wrote a review Oct 2021
18 contributions1 helpful vote
This place was a welcome relief after travelling for a number of days. The lady at the reception was very friendly and welcoming. The room had everything we needed to make the stay enjoyable. Clean facilities, prime location. Maybe slightly overpriced but all things considered, I wouldn’t complain.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kununnurra Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 18 Oct 2021
G’day Excursion05489970197, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and staying with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra. We're happy to read you loved your time with us and found our staff friendly and welcoming on arrival. It's also pleasing to know that we provided everything you needed in your accommodation to make your stay comfortable. We're glad you had the opportunity to share our stunning location and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.
Read more
Donna G wrote a review Aug 2021
Perth, Australia371 contributions136 helpful votes
I thought the location was spectacular and the views of the lake are wonderful. The cabins are dated but well stocked. I believe they are slowly being renovated. We were not in one of the renovated cabins and it was adequate for our needs although not cheap. However the couch was awful - it was covered with a throw but that did nothing to hide how dilapidated it was. We had an opportunity to ask some workmen if they could do something about it and they very kindly got us a much better (not great but much better) couch. Given what we paid for the cabin I do not think it is unreasonable to have a couch that was not ripped and lacking in springs. Luckily we did not let it ruin our visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kununnurra Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 30 Aug 2021
G’day flickymicky, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra, and taking the time to provide your comments. We’re glad you liked your stay but are sorry to read there were some troubles with your cabin, particularly the sofa. Our maintenance schedule is under review and your comments will be taken into consideration during this process. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.
Read more
michelewhite1951 wrote a review Aug 2021
Brisbane, Australia19 contributions16 helpful votes
We have stayed here before and enjoyed it very much even though it's a bit cramped and dated, location made up for it. Unfortunately, greed has taken over. I can understand prices increasing because of a disastrous covid 2020 but $85 per night is disgusting, greedy and shamful. Management, you should be absolutely ashamed of yourselves.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Teagan White, Owner at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Hi michelewhite1951, thank you for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra and taking the time to provide your feedback. We're sorry to read you were disappointed in our pricing. Please know our pricing is dynamic and changes daily depending on demand. We have passed your feedback on directly to our management team to look further into. Thank you again for providing your comments. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$118 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaKimberley RegionKununurra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Which popular attractions are close to Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra?
Nearby attractions include Ord River (1.6 km), Mirima National Park (4.4 km), and Kelly's Knob Lookout (3.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wild Mango Cafe, Cornerside Cafe, and Kimberley Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.