We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

CancelonUS$119
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
See the most recent reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Reef Retreat for a week in July. It is run by very friendly people who keep everything very clean. It is very conveniently located near restaurants and the beach. The room was adequate although a little dark as we were on the ground floor. This was probably exacerbated by the unseasonal rain we experienced as it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris W
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It is a shame that your stay was marred by some unseasonably poor weather. We do appreciate you taking the time to make favorable observations about the cleanliness of our facilities, the friendliness of our staff and the convenience and appeal of our location relative to the destination of Palm Cove. Many thanks again!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We had two adjoining rooms on the top floor with our older teenage two sons for a week. Room had everything we needed. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we were there but hosts were very helpful about what to do and trips to go on. Nice and close to the beach front and restaurants on the main drag but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenjen61
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

It was unfortunate that you experienced some un-seasonal weather. We are pleased however that you were able to have an enjoyable holiday with your family and that you enjoyed Palm Cove and our facilities.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This resort has really lovely rooms, beautiful pool, bbq and spa area with lots of melaleuca and palm trees. Very close to all the restaurants and beaches. I would stay here again but only in a different room. Our room was on the corner of the two streets and the truck and bus noise was constant. I would suggest choosing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 231DebB
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

We regret the inconvenience caused by the service vehicles but thanks for leaving a review and highlighting the positives of Reef Retreat as well!!

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Spent 5 nights here recently with my partner and 16 year old son. I was attracted by the fact it was small, the style of the building (balinese treehouse) and the location, being close to the beach. We were all blown away by the place and would happily return. We usually holiday in 4-5 star larger hotels, booked as part...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annette B
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review of The Reef Retreat and Palm Cove as a Holiday destination that you would recommend to a variety of prospective guests. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again one day!

Reviewed 13 July 2016

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Reef Retreat! The staff was very accommodating for our late check-in, and the room was fantastic! I loved the fact that we could open the windows and listen to the birds sing in the morning, and the pool area was absolutely amazing! The hotel was right by the beach and all of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy W
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Sincere thanks for your review and your indication of having experienced a relaxing stay at The Reef Retreat. The pool area is unique and somewhat akin to a Billabong setting. The trees also attract the birds that you enjoyed. Many thanks again.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The accommodation and facilities here are excellent, spacious, clean and very well located; we accommodated a family of six comfortably into our villa. Couple of small issues were the car cleaning/detailing service next door deciding to vacuum clean a car at 7am with a wailing cleaner - really? And the units have unusual louvre windows that have an open-air view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TippOz
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the feedback regarding the car rental business and the louvers. We will be taking these issues up with the business and with the owners of the Unit. Thank you for commenting and your observations regarding the cleanliness of the Unit. Our House Keepers do work hard to maintain a high standard!

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We have just returned from 8 nights staying in the 3 bedroom townhouses which are located across the road from the resort. We are still able to use all the facilities and there is a smaller pool there as well. The location, space is perfect for a larger family and the closeness to the shops and beach was fantastic. To...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanV1437SC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a generous review. Ordinarily Town House guests do not have access to the facilities of the main resort but was was discussed with you, as you were traveling and holidaying with guests who were staying in the main resort you were able to come over as guests of guests. Thank you for your...

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This property has everything that you could want for a relaxing holiday. From the large spa bath to the kitchenette. There is also a laundry onsite and it it a short stroll to the beach and assorted shops on the esplanade. Friendly staff and a quiet location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank strawbwood
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Location of this hotel is excellent, it is basically on the beachfront and really quick walk to all the restaurants. We had a nice stay here, staff were really friendly. Probably the only downfall was that the pool isn't overly inviting. Too many leaves fall from the surrounding trees which would make it impossible to keep clean. Room was a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Glenn P
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The trees do create a challenge with the pool but they also create a wonderful garden setting which we are most often complimented on. Thanks for mentioning the cleanliness of the rooms. Our House Keepers work hard and merit a compliment for their efforts.

Nowra, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Excellent location, close to restaurants and convenience store. We had the spa suite wich overlooked the pool. The room had lovely open spaces, bringing the outdoors in. Anything you needed Jim was happy to help ie. Transfers to the airport, car and bike hire and numerous other activities. Would highly recommend this resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargoNowra
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review and recommendation we appreciate your feedback.

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 km away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,058 reviews
0.2 km away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
307 reviews
0.3 km away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.4 km away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Price Range: RM437 - RM848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove Queensland
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef Retreat Palm Cove staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef Retreat Palm Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher corner rooms have better views”
acmc96, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Really liked our ground floor location”
142aliciaw, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room on the 1st level overlooking the pool/bbq area was the best spot”
hillba, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all good locations”
colinv397, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the second floor above the car park but it was very quiet with lovely views of the rainforest trees.”
526trishab, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$119* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates