We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

John Pirie Motor Inn

Expedia.comUS$87*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
Great Deal
US$88*
US$88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
John Pirie Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 244: English reviews
Start your review of John Pirie Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

John Pirie Motor Inn was a great place to stay with a very comfortable King Size bed, quite a large room and excellent shower/toilet facilities. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was excellent. It was a very comfortable and reasonably priced stay. I would recommend this Motor Inn when visiting the Port Pirie area

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterbF1307AA
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again real soon. Sincerely, Andrew Spier.

Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, quiet, rather dated room but with a very good shower and reasonable other bathroom fitments. There were 6 lights in the room and only 2 worked and the wifi was hopeless, possibly a problem with Port Pirie rather than the hotel. However comms via mobile phone was OK. I'd stay again if passing PP.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bomoh
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please, if possible, please contact me regarding which room you stayed in so I can investigate and repair the problems you encountered. Very sorry for any inconvenience caused. Sincerely, Andrew Spier andrew@johnpiriemotorinn.com.au

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the Motel. Everything was great. Good service, buffet breakfast was great and the room was almist perfect. But the bed was terribly hard and uncomfortable to sleep in. Apparently the King sizes beds are better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G2920GZdianak
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our beds are all of the approximate age and are of a standard which suits the majority of people. I'm sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. When staying again I would suggest to try a room with a king size bed to see if suits your requirements. Sincerely, Andrew Spier.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We stayed in a spa suite. It was clean and comfortable. Excellent location in the heart of town. Plenty of food options close by including a restaurant onsite. Parking at the door of our room was great though access to this part of the motel could be difficult if you gave a larger vehicle. Staff were friendly and attentive but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We usually don't have problems with vehicles accessing our rooms at the rear of the property but however a car and trailer or commercial vehicles is not recommended. Over the years we have expanded to provide superior accommodation in quiet, convenient surroundings. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you shall return again....

A
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Free room upgrade to spa bath facilities. Seniors Discount offered and given which reduced the overall cost. Room clean, bed comfortable and all essential needs catered for - air conditioner, TV, iron, hairdryer and toiletries provided. Room service if required. Restaurant on premises - buffet breakfast provided for nominal cost if required.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ednas262
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again real soon. Sincerely Andrew Spier.

Bute
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Very professional staff and very enjoyable comfortable rooms. The spa was sensational and relaxing. All appliances were clean and working. The restaurant food top class. Secured car parking supplied for boat in tow.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrenp236
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our car-park is ideal for vehicles towing trailers etc. and usually can accommodate adjacent to you room. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Andrew Spier.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Booked accommodation by phone . We had a late arrival , but everything was ready for us. Good clean and comfortable with all amenities. So good in fact we overnighted on the way to Melbourne and on the way back home. Reception staff were excellent. Hope to stay again ( but longer ) next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMS787
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again real soon. Regards, Andrew Spier.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Room was OK and reasonably clean apart from the shower alcove which could have done with some more cleaning. But honestly, in 2017 is it really too much to ask for reliable WiFi that is faster than dial-up speed? If you're concerned about connectivity, look elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snowy666
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Disappointing to hear about the condition of your room and Wifi speed. Which room did you occupy please? Wifi here in PP can sometimes be determined on demand & time of the day etc. Soon the JPMI will be connecting via the NBN which could make it faster (hoping) and more reliable. I apologise for...

Happy Valley
Reviewed 12 April 2017

rooms a good size and clean. comfortable bed and tv with all the channels. great choice in bar fridge. friendly and easy check in and out and the price was very reasonable. has pool and bbq fascilities and rooms are quiet with no traffick noise

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G728ZHheatherp
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We hope to see you again real soon. Sincerely Andrew Spier.

Reviewed 9 April 2017

Getting tired as have been on the road all day. Getting late so can't make it to Adelaide. Port Pirie seems the go. Where to stay? Have tried the John Pirie a while ago and it wasn't too bad then. New renovated motel across the road but the John Pirie was good value last time. So called in to their...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
ajs2483, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Andrew Spier.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Pirie
0.2 km away
Flinders Motel on main
Flinders Motel on main
#2 of 5 in Port Pirie
88 reviews
1.7 km away
Travelway Motel
Travelway Motel
#3 of 5 in Port Pirie
50 reviews
1.8 km away
Ellen Hotel
Ellen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Pirie
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Stone Hut Cottages
Stone Hut Cottages
#1 of 1 in Stone Hut
25 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Colonial style property conveniently located on the main road (Warnertown Road) at the entrance to Port Pirie, arriving from Adelaide. When driving from the North (Port Augusta) on Port Germien Road we are located at the other side of T intersection with Warnertown Road. Our property is well lit, secure and surrounded by gardens and palms. Free wireless connection is available to all rooms. Featuring a paved courtyard and off-street car-parking adjacent to all guest rooms. Our in-ground swimming pool is the perfect place to relax after a long drive with BBQ facilities for you to enjoy. JP's licensed restaurant is open for breakfast & dinner serving a wide range of dishes for the discerning palette and a fine selection of wines from the Clare valley and other districts. Room service available during restaurant hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about John Pirie Motor Inn

Address: John Pirie Motor Inn 166 - 174 Warnertown Rd, Port Pirie, South Australia 5540, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Port Pirie
Price Range: RM348 - RM533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — John Pirie Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your John Pirie Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from John Pirie Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All units are good so no worries.”
LMS787, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“when booking ask for a back room by the pool”
russellc99, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Firstly, don't go past Port Pirie. Drop in and be surprised then top it off with a stay at the Port Pirie.”
77petunia, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had an end room close to the kitchen and it was very quiet”
1234Col, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had Room 39 (spa suite) which backs onto a side street that is rarely used & a paddock. Nice & quiet.”
Coolwaves70, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$87* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$88
Booking.comUS$88
Orbitz.comUS$88
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates