We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 Explorers Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
3 Explorers Motel
3 Explorers Motel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 3 Explorers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2014

My husband and I stayed there over two nights. We found the manager most helpful. He gave us great advice on how to use our time and avoid the crowds. We arrived early but our room was ready and he put the heater on for us to warm up the room. We had a double room and it was fine....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dora P
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Reviewed 1 October 2014

We are a family of 4 we all had to cold showers very disappointing after spending $200. Left a small shopping bag of children clothes still with tags. We were informed by owner that he would not post it. We live 800 klm away. The only way we could get is post and go couriers costing us $68. I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Vanessa N
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we did contact you to advise that you had left a bag of clothes which you had totally forgotten about, we advised that you use Pack & Send for all items left by Guests, there was no rudeness on our part, even after your threatening comments relating to what would happen if you had to...

Singleton, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2014

Stayed at 3 Explorers Motel in a "family" room for $275/night which was just an average motel room with small bunk beds in the passage way to the original tiny bathroom. For the amount we paid we were expecting the room to reflect this price point but were extremely disappointed. No bath, dated bathroom with just a toilet and shower....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sheree V
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

We replied to each of your emails, each time you were advised that all your emails & comments had been forwarded for the Owner’s attention & duly noted. The Managers are permanent & not Relief, thank for your comment “You were very informative on checkin with advise etc but isn't that expected at any hotel/motel reception”. We did advise you...

Singapore
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Booked the Luxurious Spa for 2 Nights. The room is decorated with chinese painting and overall is spacious and clean. The bed is comfortable except for pillow which is rather flat for our liking. (But seems that most of the pillow in Australia accommodation is flat). Each bed comes with heater matt but the only complain I have is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DracoLam
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2014

This is a small / modest motel, with a great location and staff that are eager to please. Our room was very clean and comfortable - with a nice touch of having the heater on as we checked in (it was 8C outside). The free WiFi was reliable and of adequate speed. There was no fuss in resetting our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Waikerie, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Let's just say it was cosy, clean,close location but very dated. Given we had just came from a 4 1/2 star apartment we felt it was way over priced compared to other motels in the Blue Mountains. We felt the rating was far to generous which left us disappointed. Would we stay again? NO

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YoungSAFamily
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very sorry you did not enjoy your 1 night stay with us, all rooms were refurbished not so long ago & the majority of our Guests have been very pleased with the results & accommodation, Guests tend to be well aware...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2014

We booked a couple of months in advance to stay for 4 nights. Although there was just the two of us we were given a room with an extra bed which made the room feel noticeably smaller, but aside from that everything else was great. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean when we arrived and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daynaa2000
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again, when you booked online, the request was for a Twin Share Room with a Queen & Single...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Beds a little worn but very clean, new decor, reverse cycle with a timer (loved it), electric blankets worked a treat, very quiet area, very little noise, too far to walk to the main strip but a short stroll to the bus stop which can take you to the main shopping area on Lurline st in no time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, although we would like to point out that the Motel installed new beds (in the last 18 months) in all rooms, pleasure having you & hope...

Melbourne AU
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It's hard to find a decent motel in the Blue Mountains. It's not the coolest of locations and in past years, there's been little interest in developing anything funky or interesting. So, here's a hotel that's neither funky or interesting, but it is good. It's very clean, well run and in an excellent location - so well done! Sometimes you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreqFlyerAU
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Perfect for our family of 5! Just what we needed.... Really good advice about where to go, fridge very useful to store breakfast, great motel. Really recommend it for no fuss, clean rooms and perfect for kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joannacroberts
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you all & hope to see you again

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Family Deluxe Room (28)
Viewed
Queen Spa Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Twin - Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxurious Spa Suite (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
791 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
505 reviews
1.1 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
444 reviews
2.4 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: RM368 - RM607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains, Australia
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground level out the back.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are upstairs so may want to specify ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahnorris99, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early if staying on weekends”
 of 5 bubbles 716MikeF716, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only two floors. Not much difference all rooms looked similar.”
 of 5 bubbles thegurudave, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Above ground floo”
 of 5 bubbles KiraBeauty, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay