We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

3 Explorers Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
3 Explorers Motel
3 Explorers Motel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 3 Explorers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 331: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 June 2015

What a fantastic find. Not only is this the cleanest, best presented motel we have stayed at, but the proprietor was by far the most friendly and accommodating business operator. In addition to a very warm welcome and tips on beating the tourist buses to some of the best local attractions, they had also turned on the heater in our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Alex O
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Maleny, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2015

My husband, daughter and I stayed two nights in this motel. The position is perfect, just a walk down to Echo Point to get the best view of the Three Sisters, a chocolate maker across the road and a walk in the other dircection for dinner. Management are so nice and helpful the room was very comfortable and warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sharon s
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Pakenham, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Great location just a short walk to the 3 sisters at eco point. Only a short drive into town but in a very quiet area. The manager was helpful and friendly. we had a ground floor spa suite. quiet nice in size. With a good heater for the colder nights.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank stephen b
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Reviewed 28 April 2015

Room very comfortable, great heating, very clean. For the price good value. Need a car if you want to go to town centre. Walking distance to main walking tracks, 3 sisters, echo point etc. stayed 2 nights. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Elizabeth H
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We stayed 3 nights in 3 Explorers. Room was a decent size for 4, a microwave meant that you could do some cooking in the room (proprietor can supply plates). It is a convenient walking distance from the Three Sisters, which we were lucky to see on a beautiful clear day. Free wifi, helpful proprietor. When it is raining there...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Baidun
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Good location and clean considering other hotel standards in Australia. People don't have many options to stay in Katoomba, unfortunately we picked this one out of the handful that was there. It was clean but that was about it. We paid for two rooms - three guests in one room and two in the other. The first room we paid...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank R O
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your friend has encouraged you to also review & agree with her comments, the story seems to be evolving as well, a member of the party did apologise for the individuals rude behaviour which we did accept, we also thanked the individuals first review & she did mention that she would be "encouraging" all members to...

Newcastle
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Stayed over with daughter and grandson. Clean and comfortable, great wifi, plenty of room. Owner provided maps and advice on best times for local activities - very useful! Close enough to attractions to be convenient, but far enough away to be quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank NannaFox
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We were travelling with our two children, so were looking for accomodation with two bedrooms. Upon researching this motel and then calling and speaking with Chris, the owner and on-site manager, he recommended the two bedroom spa suite. It was exactly as we had hoped for. Simple and clean motel style accomodation which was all we needed as our days...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Goldie05
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Berlin
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Average motel, service poor. The good: Clean Room was better than usual motel, in that only the bathroom was stuck in the 1970s The bad: Service: Booked 2 rooms, off season, on a Sunday night - you'd think they'd be glad of the business. Not so, on check-in got an earful regarding how two separate bookings had been made by...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Karl_10117
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your recent stay at the 3 Explorers Motel & visit to the Blue Mountains, we are very fortunate in the wonderful Guests that visit our Motel, they do appreciate all that the Motel & Blue Mountains offer, unfortunately we do also welcome those very few that have no intention...

Reviewed 9 April 2015

The room was spacious, clean and then bed was comfortable. Helpful information and within walking distance of the 3 Sisters. Great value, the manager was very informative. We didn't have breakfasts at the motel altho available as we like to try different cafes .would recommend this motel in the Blue Mountains

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jane N
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Family Deluxe Room (28)
Viewed
Queen Spa Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Twin - Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxurious Spa Suite (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
814 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
515 reviews
1.1 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#9 of 15 in Katoomba
453 reviews
2.4 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: RM370 - RM647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains, Australia
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were great, whether upstairs or downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles StephG34, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seem good”
 of 5 bubbles stephenb541, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground level out the back.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are upstairs so may want to specify ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahnorris99, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early if staying on weekends”
 of 5 bubbles 716MikeF716, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay